Help from someone with "Altiverb"

Post general topics related to Nuendo 7 here.
Post Reply
drorh4
Member
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:31 pm
Contact:

Help from someone with "Altiverb"

Post by drorh4 »

I use Altiverb 7 with snapshots.
on the Automation lane of the snapshots Im limited to only 10 shots. Why?

I have another FX track with Revernce - I have 100 shots...

Any explanation for that?

thnx
Last edited by drorh4 on Sun Mar 20, 2016 10:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
OSX sierra 10.12.6 (MacBook pro mid12)
Win10 (desktop studio PC)
Nuendo 10 - Wavelab 9.5
Lynx Aurora 8
Motu Ultralite AVB
Waves/plugin Alliance/Soundtoys/Sonarworks

drorh4
Member
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:31 pm
Contact:

Re: A weird problem with Altiverb Snapshots Auto.

Post by drorh4 »

Help?
OSX sierra 10.12.6 (MacBook pro mid12)
Win10 (desktop studio PC)
Nuendo 10 - Wavelab 9.5
Lynx Aurora 8
Motu Ultralite AVB
Waves/plugin Alliance/Soundtoys/Sonarworks

drorh4
Member
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Help from someone with "Altiverb"

Post by drorh4 »

At least is there anyone here with Altiverb can approve snapshots works at his Projects?
OSX sierra 10.12.6 (MacBook pro mid12)
Win10 (desktop studio PC)
Nuendo 10 - Wavelab 9.5
Lynx Aurora 8
Motu Ultralite AVB
Waves/plugin Alliance/Soundtoys/Sonarworks

AlexBell
Junior Member
Posts: 157
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2011 8:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Help from someone with "Altiverb"

Post by AlexBell »

Hello.

Yes they work, don't know why they're limited to 10...

As computer power increases I find it's more convenient to make a separate FX track for each reverb scene, the preset automation can be a bit of a pain sometimes.
Windows 7, Nuendo 10.3, 10.2 and 8 on several machines.

Nuage x 2, 32 and 16 channels.

drorh4
Member
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Help from someone with "Altiverb"

Post by drorh4 »

So for every scene you have a seperate Altiverb "unit"?
OSX sierra 10.12.6 (MacBook pro mid12)
Win10 (desktop studio PC)
Nuendo 10 - Wavelab 9.5
Lynx Aurora 8
Motu Ultralite AVB
Waves/plugin Alliance/Soundtoys/Sonarworks

drorh4
Member
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Help from someone with "Altiverb"

Post by drorh4 »

I try to figure out what happend to the "snapshots" automation track.
OSX sierra 10.12.6 (MacBook pro mid12)
Win10 (desktop studio PC)
Nuendo 10 - Wavelab 9.5
Lynx Aurora 8
Motu Ultralite AVB
Waves/plugin Alliance/Soundtoys/Sonarworks

drorh4
Member
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Help from someone with "Altiverb"

Post by drorh4 »

If it gives any clue to someone, for some odd reason, on the Snapshot automation track instead of snapshot "Number" I have values 10.00
20.00
30.00
till
100.00 (=10 snapshots)
OSX sierra 10.12.6 (MacBook pro mid12)
Win10 (desktop studio PC)
Nuendo 10 - Wavelab 9.5
Lynx Aurora 8
Motu Ultralite AVB
Waves/plugin Alliance/Soundtoys/Sonarworks

drorh4
Member
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Help from someone with "Altiverb"

Post by drorh4 »

solved
OSX sierra 10.12.6 (MacBook pro mid12)
Win10 (desktop studio PC)
Nuendo 10 - Wavelab 9.5
Lynx Aurora 8
Motu Ultralite AVB
Waves/plugin Alliance/Soundtoys/Sonarworks

Oliver.Lucas
Senior Member
Posts: 1429
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Help from someone with "Altiverb"

Post by Oliver.Lucas »

drorh4 wrote:solved
how?
Main machine: Fireface UFX+ 64GB, 2TB Hecacore macmini 10.14.x, egpu
Avid ProTools Ulitimate and S3. A gazillion plugings
https://aufnahme.myds.me

drorh4
Member
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Help from someone with "Altiverb"

Post by drorh4 »

The Problem is with the Altiverb. The "snapshot" is a dead technology in Altiverb and this is why its so limited.
The new thing is "Automation Lane index".
OSX sierra 10.12.6 (MacBook pro mid12)
Win10 (desktop studio PC)
Nuendo 10 - Wavelab 9.5
Lynx Aurora 8
Motu Ultralite AVB
Waves/plugin Alliance/Soundtoys/Sonarworks

psvennevig
Member
Posts: 344
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Help from someone with "Altiverb"

Post by psvennevig »

drorh4 wrote:The Problem is with the Altiverb. The "snapshot" is a dead technology in Altiverb and this is why its so limited.
The new thing is "Automation Lane index".
Correct!

But as Alex pointed out. It can also be fairly easy to just alter between say two instances of Altiverb also. Or more.
I often do like this:

Scene A - Alti X
Scene B - Alti Y
Scene C- Alti X
etc.

Then it is also very easy to volume automate the returns from the X and the Y smoothly or harshly between scenes.
But, I'm getting old and like to mix old… :-)

Pål
Nuendo 7.0.x, nMP 8-core with 2xD700, 64GB, Macbook Pro Retina15" i7, RME UFX, RME Babyface, Artist Mix, Control and Transport, CC121.

drorh4
Member
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Help from someone with "Altiverb"

Post by drorh4 »

sounds like a good technique but I dont have 8core 64g as you :)
OSX sierra 10.12.6 (MacBook pro mid12)
Win10 (desktop studio PC)
Nuendo 10 - Wavelab 9.5
Lynx Aurora 8
Motu Ultralite AVB
Waves/plugin Alliance/Soundtoys/Sonarworks

psvennevig
Member
Posts: 344
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Help from someone with "Altiverb"

Post by psvennevig »

You don't need much CPU for that. Altiverb is light.
Alternative is to use REVerence. I know of several that has switched from Alti to it.

P
Nuendo 7.0.x, nMP 8-core with 2xD700, 64GB, Macbook Pro Retina15" i7, RME UFX, RME Babyface, Artist Mix, Control and Transport, CC121.

drorh4
Member
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Help from someone with "Altiverb"

Post by drorh4 »

But why using XY is better than just make 20 snapshot on one Altiverb?
OSX sierra 10.12.6 (MacBook pro mid12)
Win10 (desktop studio PC)
Nuendo 10 - Wavelab 9.5
Lynx Aurora 8
Motu Ultralite AVB
Waves/plugin Alliance/Soundtoys/Sonarworks

Oliver.Lucas
Senior Member
Posts: 1429
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Help from someone with "Altiverb"

Post by Oliver.Lucas »

drorh4 wrote:sounds like a good technique but I dont have 8core 64g as you :)
CPU with reverb plugs really isn't the problem it used to be.
In my current comedy series I use 24 reverbs (most mono) all the time on a hexacore. No problem at all even at small buffer settings. Not all impulse response.
Main machine: Fireface UFX+ 64GB, 2TB Hecacore macmini 10.14.x, egpu
Avid ProTools Ulitimate and S3. A gazillion plugings
https://aufnahme.myds.me

drorh4
Member
Posts: 350
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Help from someone with "Altiverb"

Post by drorh4 »

Just from curiosity. When do you decided btween mono and stro reverbs?
OSX sierra 10.12.6 (MacBook pro mid12)
Win10 (desktop studio PC)
Nuendo 10 - Wavelab 9.5
Lynx Aurora 8
Motu Ultralite AVB
Waves/plugin Alliance/Soundtoys/Sonarworks

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest