Macbook Pro Ultimo 2011 lacks performance

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
jayadams
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:51 am
Contact:

Macbook Pro Ultimo 2011 lacks performance

Post by jayadams »

Hi,

This is probably the same old story, but just wanted to see if anyone have EXACTLY the same problem as me.


- I experience CPU peaks with few tracks in the arrangement
- High VST performance where it shouldn't be THAT high
- Lacking in graphics when scrolling on "G" and "H"

A typical project for me (because of the limitations) are around 40 tracks:
typical:
- 20 VST Instruments
- 20 Audio tracks
- 3-4 busses with C7s Console Strips

My machine is, as I see it quite quick, and almost the same as when I used PC, but here I didnt experience any of this...

Any solutions or anyone who can tell me WHY it is as it is??

Thank you!
Macbook Pro Retina 2.3 Ghz i9
Mac OS Catalina 10.15.3
64 GB RAM
Apollo Twin MK2
Cubase 10.5.12

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4723
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: Macbook Pro Ultimo 2011 lacks performance

Post by curteye »

jayadams wrote:Any solutions
Aloha j,

One approach would be to install 'Windows' (the operating system)
on your laptop and then try running your Mac/Cubase
as a 64 bit PC in 'BootCamp' mode.

IMHO
Cubase runs 'zippyer' when used on PC 'puters.

HTH (hope this helps)
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac 5K 4.2Gz 16GB
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

ufoqbase
Junior Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 7:55 am
Contact:

Re: Macbook Pro Ultimo 2011 lacks performance

Post by ufoqbase »

Yes Right, unfortunately Cubase 7 running terrible under Apple system... :D Im still using Cubase 6.5.5 with extreme satisfation under OSX 10.8 and 10.7 in 64bit mode. I don't understand why there are so much problems with 7 :cry: I'm using Cubase Artist for comparing but I think it's the same with the full version of 7.
Macbook pro 3.3ghz, 16Gb ram, Native Instruments Komplete Ultimate, Addictive Drums, IK Sampletank, Amplitube.

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4723
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: Macbook Pro Ultimo 2011 lacks performance

Post by curteye »

ufoqbase wrote:Yes Right, unfortunately Cubase 7 running terrible under Apple system.
Not here.

I use C7 in a 'live' situation every weekend
on a core 2 duo (see sig) with minor graphics probs only.

No performance issues at all. Running as many as 40 VSTi's.
(SampleTank/NI/Steinberg)
(And I have been doing this with Cubase this since SX3).

While performance in the studio on the iMac is slightly less than C6.5.
IMHO the workflo benefits more than make up for it
and I have yet to have a client failure/crash. (touch wood)

{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac 5K 4.2Gz 16GB
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

jayadams
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:51 am
Contact:

Re: Macbook Pro Ultimo 2011 lacks performance

Post by jayadams »

ufoqbase wrote:Yes Right, unfortunately Cubase 7 running terrible under Apple system... :D Im still using Cubase 6.5.5 with extreme satisfation under OSX 10.8 and 10.7 in 64bit mode. I don't understand why there are so much problems with 7 :cry: I'm using Cubase Artist for comparing but I think it's the same with the full version of 7.
So its more of a Cubase 7 problem than OS X/Mac problem?

My last solution at all would be to run it from Windows :/

I just don't understand that this can be a problem with the system that I run it on. It should be able to run smoothly.
Macbook Pro Retina 2.3 Ghz i9
Mac OS Catalina 10.15.3
64 GB RAM
Apollo Twin MK2
Cubase 10.5.12

jayadams
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:51 am
Contact:

Re: Macbook Pro Ultimo 2011 lacks performance

Post by jayadams »

curteye wrote:
ufoqbase wrote:Yes Right, unfortunately Cubase 7 running terrible under Apple system.
Not here.

I use C7 in a 'live' situation every weekend
on a core 2 duo (see sig) with minor graphics probs only.

No performance issues at all. Running as many as 40 VSTi's.
(SampleTank/NI/Steinberg)
(And I have been doing this with Cubase this since SX3).



{'-'}

Thats my point! Why are you (and others) able to have a smooth experience with C7 when others are troubled by lack of performance etc.
I seriously don't get it.
Macbook Pro Retina 2.3 Ghz i9
Mac OS Catalina 10.15.3
64 GB RAM
Apollo Twin MK2
Cubase 10.5.12

jayadams
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:51 am
Contact:

Re: Macbook Pro Ultimo 2011 lacks performance

Post by jayadams »

CURRENT EXAMPLE OF A PROJECT (SEE ATTACHEMENT PHOTO)

I currently run around 25% of CPU load?!

I have 13 tracks right now where 5 of them are busses with Console Strip on them..

So my limit for a project is 52 tracks?!

Come on, Steinberg :/ solve this... This can't be right.
Attachments
Skærmbillede 2013-08-07 kl. 11.28.32 1.png
Plugins in use - Cubase 7
(143.02 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Macbook Pro Retina 2.3 Ghz i9
Mac OS Catalina 10.15.3
64 GB RAM
Apollo Twin MK2
Cubase 10.5.12

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Macbook Pro Ultimo 2011 lacks performance

Post by Strophoid »

You mean actual cpu load you find in the mac equivalent of task manager?
Or are you reading the ASIO buffer meter in Cubase? They're not the same thing.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

jayadams
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:51 am
Contact:

Re: Macbook Pro Ultimo 2011 lacks performance

Post by jayadams »

Strophoid wrote:You mean actual cpu load you find in the mac equivalent of task manager?
Or are you reading the ASIO buffer meter in Cubase? They're not the same thing.
Ahh sorry, yeah mean the ASIO Load.

But the CPU does also seems to be struck by it... Reacting a bit slower etc.
Macbook Pro Retina 2.3 Ghz i9
Mac OS Catalina 10.15.3
64 GB RAM
Apollo Twin MK2
Cubase 10.5.12

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Macbook Pro Ultimo 2011 lacks performance

Post by Strophoid »

What buffersize are you using?
Just for completeness, what audio interface?
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

jayadams
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:51 am
Contact:

Re: Macbook Pro Ultimo 2011 lacks performance

Post by jayadams »

Strophoid wrote:What buffersize are you using?
Just for completeness, what audio interface?
Apogee Duet 1 (Firewire)

256 Sample Buffer

I have also tried 512 without the big difference really..


I know that it might be better to go up in buffer size but honestly it shouldnt be an issue with so small arrangements :/
Macbook Pro Retina 2.3 Ghz i9
Mac OS Catalina 10.15.3
64 GB RAM
Apollo Twin MK2
Cubase 10.5.12

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Macbook Pro Ultimo 2011 lacks performance

Post by Strophoid »

I agree that 512 should be high enough for most scenarios, although it depends on which plugins you have.

If you open an empty project and start adding tracks, is there a particular plugin that when added gives a big increase in ASIO load? If a plugin uses 16x oversampling for example, it will eat your ASIO buffer alive 8-)
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

jayadams
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:51 am
Contact:

Re: Macbook Pro Ultimo 2011 lacks performance

Post by jayadams »

Strophoid wrote:I agree that 512 should be high enough for most scenarios, although it depends on which plugins you have.

If you open an empty project and start adding tracks, is there a particular plugin that when added gives a big increase in ASIO load? If a plugin uses 16x oversampling for example, it will eat your ASIO buffer alive 8-)

can you elaborate on "16x Oversampling" ? Don't know what that means :/


My current/last project looks like this which use around 30% ASIO:
Skærmbillede 2013-08-07 kl. 18.00.37.png
Current project
(158.24 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Macbook Pro Retina 2.3 Ghz i9
Mac OS Catalina 10.15.3
64 GB RAM
Apollo Twin MK2
Cubase 10.5.12

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9660
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Macbook Pro Ultimo 2011 lacks performance

Post by -steve- »

@OP You should be getting better performance from that machine. Sorry of you know and already did this stuff.

Have you done the Steinberg troubleshooting (see knowledgebase) steps, are you running 7.0.5? If 7.0.4 did you install the .txt file for the VST spike fix?

Have you deleted or moved all the Cubase 5, 6, 7 prefs folders?

Have you restarted your Mac in safe mode? This, among other things deletes the kext cache, this is rarely necessary, but cannot hurt.

Have you created a new user and run Cubase in it?

Disk maintenance?
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

jayadams
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:51 am
Contact:

Re: Macbook Pro Ultimo 2011 lacks performance

Post by jayadams »

SteveInChicago wrote:@OP You should be getting better performance from that machine. Sorry of you know and already did this stuff.

Have you done the Steinberg troubleshooting (see knowledgebase) steps, are you running 7.0.5? If 7.0.4 did you install the .txt file for the VST spike fix?

Have you deleted or moved all the Cubase 5, 6, 7 prefs folders?

Have you restarted your Mac in safe mode? This, among other things deletes the kext cache, this is rarely necessary, but cannot hurt.

Have you created a new user and run Cubase in it?

Disk maintenance?
havent done the troubleshooting! Will try that!

Yes, Running 7.0.5!

Havent moved or deleted pref folders.!

Yes tried Safe Mode!

have a clean mac install and also done disk maintenance!
Macbook Pro Retina 2.3 Ghz i9
Mac OS Catalina 10.15.3
64 GB RAM
Apollo Twin MK2
Cubase 10.5.12

gmmccurdy
Junior Member
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 6:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Macbook Pro Ultimo 2011 lacks performance

Post by gmmccurdy »

If you are running any other version than 7.05 then you WILL have CPU spikes. It was a noted bug in 7.0 - 7.04. They fixed it in 7.05 so make sure you are running the most current version. I had to stay on 6.5 until 7.05 finally fixed the CPU spikes. I use my setup for live use as well and the spikes were killing me. Since 7.05 I've been running it live every weekend with now issues. Hope that helps.
Mark
================================
Macbook Pro - OSX 10.11.3 - 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
16GB 1600 MHz DDR3
500 Gig SSD Hard Drive
Presonus Firestudio Project I/O
Cubase 9
================================

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9660
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Macbook Pro Ultimo 2011 lacks performance

Post by -steve- »

jayadams wrote:Havent moved or deleted pref folders.!
You should do that, especially if there is a Cubase 6 prefs folder in there.
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

jayadams
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:51 am
Contact:

Re: Macbook Pro Ultimo 2011 lacks performance

Post by jayadams »

SteveInChicago wrote:
jayadams wrote:Havent moved or deleted pref folders.!
You should do that, especially if there is a Cubase 6 prefs folder in there.
How do I do that??
Macbook Pro Retina 2.3 Ghz i9
Mac OS Catalina 10.15.3
64 GB RAM
Apollo Twin MK2
Cubase 10.5.12

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9660
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Macbook Pro Ultimo 2011 lacks performance

Post by -steve- »

In the finder Hit shift-command-g and type in:

/Users/<your username>/Library/Preferences/

Change the name of all folders beginning with "Cubase"
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

ufoqbase
Junior Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 7:55 am
Contact:

Re: Macbook Pro Ultimo 2011 lacks performance

Post by ufoqbase »

curteye wrote:
ufoqbase wrote: No performance issues at all. Running as many as 40 VSTi's.
(SampleTank/NI/Steinberg)
(And I have been doing this with Cubase this since SX3).

{'-'}
I Would shere some projects because I can't use 40 VSTi such a Sampletank, or NI without any issues. There are all sinths? Because I use to load Strings libraries, huge stuff for film composing, Izotope plugs, and PSP. Write me in pm.... thanks :D
Macbook pro 3.3ghz, 16Gb ram, Native Instruments Komplete Ultimate, Addictive Drums, IK Sampletank, Amplitube.

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Hanzchen mit Z and 6 guests