New Avid Control app is excellent!

Post general topics related to Nuendo 10 here.
Dog and Pony
Member
Posts: 447
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:33 pm
Contact:

New Avid Control app is excellent!

Post by Dog and Pony »

Hey all! The new Avid Control app is out and it is, so far, fantastic. I had been using the Cubase iC Pro app but there were some problems; since September 2017 I've been asking the devs to deal with the fact that the colors in the app don't match session colors, they never even responded. Guess what? Avid Control matches colors. We've also been asking for touch surround panning, no answer. It is available in Avid Control though! iC Pro costs $17, Avid Control is free. Finally, the previous version of this app used to crash Nuendo if I had more than 30 tracks but I'm running over 100 without a problem (although I've only tested my Mac machine so far). John
5 systems with N8, N10, Nuage, Artist Series, Faderport 16, Windows 10, MacOSX 10.12 and many more toys.

User avatar
chi_mike
Junior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:28 am
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Re: New Avid Control app is excellent!

Post by chi_mike »

Is a Eucon needed or just some software installation ? Do you know if the app connects through bonjour ?

Thanks!
Software developer for Apple platforms / Composer
2015 iMac w/ 32GB, 6700K | 2 x z440 Xeons as VSL servers
Nuendo 10.3 ( 3 copies!! ) / NI Komplete 12 / VSL Ensemble Pro 7
Presonus Quantum and Q4848
Saffire Liquid 56 ( backup )
Preamps from a 1968 Scully 280 and other cool gear.
I used to be dr_funk on the blue forum. now I code apps.
"Code Natively!"

Jean-Michel B
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 10:12 am
Contact:

Re: New Avid Control app is excellent!

Post by Jean-Michel B »

Eucon is needed, and I agree with Dog and Pony, the Avid Control App is far more efficient than iC Pro. And that is very strange as all Avid products users (as I am) knows that nothing is free in Avid's world.
Nuendo user since v1.5. All versions apart 6 & 7.
MacBook Pro 2019, 8 core I9 @ 2,3GHz, 32GB ram.
RME UFX

Dog and Pony
Member
Posts: 447
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: New Avid Control app is excellent!

Post by Dog and Pony »

I do believe the connection is through bonjour on my PC but it seems flawless. As stated, Eucon is required.
5 systems with N8, N10, Nuage, Artist Series, Faderport 16, Windows 10, MacOSX 10.12 and many more toys.

User avatar
Valerio Daniele
Junior Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 2:46 pm
Contact:

Re: New Avid Control app is excellent!

Post by Valerio Daniele »

...seems great.
Is it possible to control Cue sends also??
Nuendo 10.3 | WaveLab 9.5
RME Fireface800 / Prism Sound Orpheus |
Windows7 64bit SP1 |
Xeon E5-2620 v2 CPU, Gigabyte X79-UP4, 16GB RAM, Sapphire Nitro+ RX470 video |
UAD-2 Quad, Sonnox Plugins, SoundToys plugs, Kontakt4, Ivory II, FabFilter Pro-Q, Antares Auto-Tune, Izotope RX

User avatar
Dietz
Member
Posts: 384
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 5:40 pm
Location: Vienna / Europe
Contact:

Re: New Avid Control app is excellent!

Post by Dietz »

Thanks for the hint, @Dog and Pony !
/Dietz

| audio | engineering | music | production |
| soundware | development |

| Nuendo versions from 5.5.6 to 10.3 | on various systems and platforms |
| Steinberg user since the 80ies | Nuendo user and forum member since 2000 |

User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1499
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Re: New Avid Control app is excellent!

Post by fenderchris »

I'm interested in using this, but how do I get the Eucon software?

There is a EuconAdapter.dll file in the N10 components folder but when I try to add it in Device Setup I get the following message: No valid EuCon software can be found on the system.

What am I missing?

I have so far always been an avid avoid-er of anything Avid.
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

OS: Windows-10 Pro 64-bit v.2004.
PC: i7 Quad core 2.66GHz, 24GB ram, SSD drives.
Screens: LG 4K 3440x1440, AG-Neovo 1280x1024 (x2).
Hardware: RME FireFace UFX, MR816CSX (x2), SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Midi Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Roland V-Drums TD-20X, Nektar Panorama P1.
Software: Nuendo-8.1.10, Wavelab-Elements-9.5, Halion-6, Halion Sonic 3, Kontakt-5, Cubase iCPro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth), Omnisphere, Trillian.

hendrix97
Junior Member
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2016 3:27 pm
Contact:

Re: New Avid Control app is excellent!

Post by hendrix97 »

You need to get the EuControl Software directly from Avid. The .dll should just be the link between the EuControl Software and Nuendo.

You will need an Avid Account to download:
https://euphonix.avid.com/downloads.php

We are using a couple of Artist Mix and Transports this way and an S3.
Gonna try the Control App when I have time. Looks promising.

Dog and Pony
Member
Posts: 447
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: New Avid Control app is excellent!

Post by Dog and Pony »

Is it possible to control Cue sends also??
Good question, I don't use that functionality. The account and app are free so give it a try! john
5 systems with N8, N10, Nuage, Artist Series, Faderport 16, Windows 10, MacOSX 10.12 and many more toys.

Getalife2
Member
Posts: 677
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 3:32 pm
Contact:

Re: New Avid Control app is excellent!

Post by Getalife2 »

Thanks to the OP for posting. I'm going to give it a try. Already have Eucon for other controllers.
N10.3 - i7 5960X/32 GB at 4 GHz Win 7 Pro 64bit - 2x RME MADI - 3X UAD-2 Quad

miguelnunes
Junior Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 6:01 pm
Contact:

Re: New Avid Control app is excellent!

Post by miguelnunes »

Valerio Daniele wrote:
Thu Dec 12, 2019 9:00 am
...seems great.
Is it possible to control Cue sends also??
Yes, it is.

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 820
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Contact:

Re: New Avid Control app is excellent!

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos »

And I find myself in the humiliating position of being the one dumbass in this crowd who can't seem to make it work. Can't seem to make the EUCON connection-- just getting its icon dimmed out on the iPad with a "no connection" triangle.

Anybody feel like walking through the Mac/iPad Pro process? I have a feeling I MAY have downloaded the wrong eucon software...

Thanks,
Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

miguelnunes
Junior Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 6:01 pm
Contact:

Re: New Avid Control app is excellent!

Post by miguelnunes »

Chewy Papadopoulos wrote:
Thu Dec 12, 2019 9:01 pm
And I find myself in the humiliating position of being the one dumbass in this crowd who can't seem to make it work. Can't seem to make the EUCON connection-- just getting its icon dimmed out on the iPad with a "no connection" triangle.

Anybody feel like walking through the Mac/iPad Pro process? I have a feeling I MAY have downloaded the wrong eucon software...

Thanks,
Chewy
Download the 19.12 Eucon unified install for Mac, connect your iPad to your local network and add an Eucon device on Nuendo. Other than that, can’t spot another potential issue.

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 820
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Contact:

Re: New Avid Control app is excellent!

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos »

Something must have gone wacky with my installation. Gonna try again.

Thanks, Miguel.

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

Jean-Michel B
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 10:12 am
Contact:

Re: New Avid Control app is excellent!

Post by Jean-Michel B »

It's very important to have the same generation of Eucon software and Control App.
Nuendo user since v1.5. All versions apart 6 & 7.
MacBook Pro 2019, 8 core I9 @ 2,3GHz, 32GB ram.
RME UFX

Dog and Pony
Member
Posts: 447
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: New Avid Control app is excellent!

Post by Dog and Pony »

Yes, must be on the same software generation. Also, open the Eucontrol software (command + 1 on Mac) and ensure that under the Surfaces tab you have added your Avid Control (move from "All Surfaces" to "My Surfaces" if it didn't do it automatically). john
5 systems with N8, N10, Nuage, Artist Series, Faderport 16, Windows 10, MacOSX 10.12 and many more toys.

User avatar
Keyplayer
Senior Member
Posts: 1341
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:09 pm
Contact:

Re: New Avid Control app is excellent!

Post by Keyplayer »

Dog and Pony wrote:
Wed Dec 11, 2019 9:14 pm
Hey all! The new Avid Control app is out and it is, so far, fantastic. I had been using the Cubase iC Pro app but there were some problems; since September 2017 I've been asking the devs to deal with the fact that the colors in the app don't match session colors, they never even responded. Guess what? Avid Control matches colors. We've also been asking for touch surround panning, no answer. It is available in Avid Control though! iC Pro costs $17, Avid Control is free. Finally, the previous version of this app used to crash Nuendo if I had more than 30 tracks but I'm running over 100 without a problem (although I've only tested my Mac machine so far). John

Will Avid Control MIRROR ALL COMMANDS from Nuendo's mixer and project windows? If I hide a channel in Nuendo, will that channel become hidden on the Avid Control screen?
Nuendo 1.0 - 10 |VST Studio Connect Pro | Windows 10 Pro | Intel i9 - 9900K CPU @ 3.60 | 64-bit OS | 32GB of RAM |RME HDSPe RayDAT | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti Video Card | Euphonix MC Control, 2 Mix & Transport | Xkeys | iConnectivity mi10 MIDI Interface | UAD-2 Octo Core with UAD-1 Legacy Ultra Pak | Isotope RX4 | Melodyne 3.2 | Voxengo Plugins | Real Guitar | B4 II | EZ Drummer | Drumagog 4 | Virtual Guitarist 2 | Korg, Roland, Kurzweil Synths | Apogee Big Ben | 32 Channel Panasonic DA-7 desk | Equator D5 (5.1) & Mackie 824 (St.) monitors | VS-1680 & 880 HDR's |

User avatar
Keyplayer
Senior Member
Posts: 1341
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:09 pm
Contact:

Re: New Avid Control app is excellent!

Post by Keyplayer »

Dog and Pony wrote:
Wed Dec 11, 2019 9:14 pm
Hey all! The new Avid Control app is out and it is, so far, fantastic. I had been using the Cubase iC Pro app but there were some problems; since September 2017 I've been asking the devs to deal with the fact that the colors in the app don't match session colors, they never even responded. Guess what? Avid Control matches colors. We've also been asking for touch surround panning, no answer. It is available in Avid Control though! iC Pro costs $17, Avid Control is free. Finally, the previous version of this app used to crash Nuendo if I had more than 30 tracks but I'm running over 100 without a problem (although I've only tested my Mac machine so far). John

Hey John, you have Nuage!! What are you using the Avid Control for? 😮🤔
Nuendo 1.0 - 10 |VST Studio Connect Pro | Windows 10 Pro | Intel i9 - 9900K CPU @ 3.60 | 64-bit OS | 32GB of RAM |RME HDSPe RayDAT | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti Video Card | Euphonix MC Control, 2 Mix & Transport | Xkeys | iConnectivity mi10 MIDI Interface | UAD-2 Octo Core with UAD-1 Legacy Ultra Pak | Isotope RX4 | Melodyne 3.2 | Voxengo Plugins | Real Guitar | B4 II | EZ Drummer | Drumagog 4 | Virtual Guitarist 2 | Korg, Roland, Kurzweil Synths | Apogee Big Ben | 32 Channel Panasonic DA-7 desk | Equator D5 (5.1) & Mackie 824 (St.) monitors | VS-1680 & 880 HDR's |

Dog and Pony
Member
Posts: 447
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: New Avid Control app is excellent!

Post by Dog and Pony »

I use it in my home setup (Nuage is at the main studio) as well as to control my rig from the booth.

I just tried hiding a track in the Nuendo 8 mixer and it did not hide in Avid Control, I can try later on N10. john
5 systems with N8, N10, Nuage, Artist Series, Faderport 16, Windows 10, MacOSX 10.12 and many more toys.

User avatar
Keyplayer
Senior Member
Posts: 1341
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:09 pm
Contact:

Re: New Avid Control app is excellent!

Post by Keyplayer »

Dog and Pony wrote:
Fri Dec 13, 2019 11:40 pm
I use it in my home setup (Nuage is at the main studio) as well as to control my rig from the booth.

I just tried hiding a track in the Nuendo 8 mixer and it did not hide in Avid Control, I can try later on N10. john
Well, THAT'S really disappointing. They claimed to have fixed this on the Avid site. Then someone using Cubase said they didn't fix anything. They've set it up to work with S1, so if you try using it with Artist Control, you actually lose features that HAD worked with the PT App. I'm talking really basic stuff like BANKING! :o Avid says they'll fix this by 1st quarter 2020. We'll see.

Anyway, now you're saying that it's great. I'm really glad they fixed the crashing issue. But even that is suspect since you were on an all Mac system. All of the PC people have never been able to get that tracks page to work without crashing! :x So I don't really know what to think.

I've downloaded 19.12 onto my iPad. But I've been waiting to update my Artist Series hardware to 19.12 because it's SO STABLE ON 18.3. I'm not sure how much use I'll actually get out of it without the S1 hardware. What I do know, is that, without that Mixing Mirroring issue being resolved, I'm way more inclined to wait before firing mine up. :(
Nuendo 1.0 - 10 |VST Studio Connect Pro | Windows 10 Pro | Intel i9 - 9900K CPU @ 3.60 | 64-bit OS | 32GB of RAM |RME HDSPe RayDAT | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti Video Card | Euphonix MC Control, 2 Mix & Transport | Xkeys | iConnectivity mi10 MIDI Interface | UAD-2 Octo Core with UAD-1 Legacy Ultra Pak | Isotope RX4 | Melodyne 3.2 | Voxengo Plugins | Real Guitar | B4 II | EZ Drummer | Drumagog 4 | Virtual Guitarist 2 | Korg, Roland, Kurzweil Synths | Apogee Big Ben | 32 Channel Panasonic DA-7 desk | Equator D5 (5.1) & Mackie 824 (St.) monitors | VS-1680 & 880 HDR's |

Jean-Michel B
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 10:12 am
Contact:

Re: New Avid Control app is excellent!

Post by Jean-Michel B »

Keyplayer wrote:
Fri Dec 13, 2019 11:11 pm
Will Avid Control MIRROR ALL COMMANDS from Nuendo's mixer and project windows? If I hide a channel in Nuendo, will that channel become hidden on the Avid Control screen?
The channel is hidden when its desabled.
Nuendo user since v1.5. All versions apart 6 & 7.
MacBook Pro 2019, 8 core I9 @ 2,3GHz, 32GB ram.
RME UFX

Jean-Michel B
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 10:12 am
Contact:

Re: New Avid Control app is excellent!

Post by Jean-Michel B »

I have an iPad for my home setup. Cubase IC and PT Control are installed on it. But as I work on post stuff, and have an intensive use of automation. So I use the iPad as an third monitor to show the automation panel. I only use Cubase IC or PT Control when on location with the laptop.
Nuendo user since v1.5. All versions apart 6 & 7.
MacBook Pro 2019, 8 core I9 @ 2,3GHz, 32GB ram.
RME UFX

User avatar
Keyplayer
Senior Member
Posts: 1341
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:09 pm
Contact:

Re: New Avid Control app is excellent!

Post by Keyplayer »

Jean-Michel B wrote:
Sat Dec 14, 2019 9:56 am
Keyplayer wrote:
Fri Dec 13, 2019 11:11 pm
Will Avid Control MIRROR ALL COMMANDS from Nuendo's mixer and project windows? If I hide a channel in Nuendo, will that channel become hidden on the Avid Control screen?
The channel is hidden when its desabled.
I know that the channel will disappear when it is disabled. I have offered that discovery as a work around on the Avid forum. This suggestion was immediately shot down because you lose the audio output when it's disabled, as opposed to just hidden. That's a fair point. But I was trying to point out the one desired advantage. Bottom line, that's still a big problem. In fact, besides the tracks page crashing issue, I couldn't think of a more urgent concern.

The thing about improving something is that it assumes you're adding to something that works, not substituting it for something you had. They fixed the crashing problem. Great! But now I lose banking?

If they weren't going to make Avid Control backward compatible, they should have left the PT Control App as an option for all of us Artist Series Users.
Nuendo 1.0 - 10 |VST Studio Connect Pro | Windows 10 Pro | Intel i9 - 9900K CPU @ 3.60 | 64-bit OS | 32GB of RAM |RME HDSPe RayDAT | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti Video Card | Euphonix MC Control, 2 Mix & Transport | Xkeys | iConnectivity mi10 MIDI Interface | UAD-2 Octo Core with UAD-1 Legacy Ultra Pak | Isotope RX4 | Melodyne 3.2 | Voxengo Plugins | Real Guitar | B4 II | EZ Drummer | Drumagog 4 | Virtual Guitarist 2 | Korg, Roland, Kurzweil Synths | Apogee Big Ben | 32 Channel Panasonic DA-7 desk | Equator D5 (5.1) & Mackie 824 (St.) monitors | VS-1680 & 880 HDR's |

User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1499
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Re: New Avid Control app is excellent!

Post by fenderchris »

hendrix97 wrote:
Thu Dec 12, 2019 2:29 pm
You need to get the EuControl Software directly from Avid. The .dll should just be the link between the EuControl Software and Nuendo.

You will need an Avid Account to download:
https://euphonix.avid.com/downloads.php
I don't seem to be able to create an Avid account as I don't have any Artist hardware. Boo-hoo :evil:

Guess I'll have to stay with Steinberg's less-than-impressive iCPro.
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

OS: Windows-10 Pro 64-bit v.2004.
PC: i7 Quad core 2.66GHz, 24GB ram, SSD drives.
Screens: LG 4K 3440x1440, AG-Neovo 1280x1024 (x2).
Hardware: RME FireFace UFX, MR816CSX (x2), SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Midi Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Roland V-Drums TD-20X, Nektar Panorama P1.
Software: Nuendo-8.1.10, Wavelab-Elements-9.5, Halion-6, Halion Sonic 3, Kontakt-5, Cubase iCPro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth), Omnisphere, Trillian.

User avatar
Keyplayer
Senior Member
Posts: 1341
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 3:09 pm
Contact:

Re: New Avid Control app is excellent!

Post by Keyplayer »

fenderchris wrote:
Sun Dec 15, 2019 1:41 pm


I don't seem to be able to create an Avid account as I don't have any Artist hardware. Boo-hoo :evil:

Guess I'll have to stay with Steinberg's less-than-impressive iCPro.
I cannot believe they actually charged money for that! :shock:
Nuendo 1.0 - 10 |VST Studio Connect Pro | Windows 10 Pro | Intel i9 - 9900K CPU @ 3.60 | 64-bit OS | 32GB of RAM |RME HDSPe RayDAT | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti Video Card | Euphonix MC Control, 2 Mix & Transport | Xkeys | iConnectivity mi10 MIDI Interface | UAD-2 Octo Core with UAD-1 Legacy Ultra Pak | Isotope RX4 | Melodyne 3.2 | Voxengo Plugins | Real Guitar | B4 II | EZ Drummer | Drumagog 4 | Virtual Guitarist 2 | Korg, Roland, Kurzweil Synths | Apogee Big Ben | 32 Channel Panasonic DA-7 desk | Equator D5 (5.1) & Mackie 824 (St.) monitors | VS-1680 & 880 HDR's |

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest