Two flows on one page

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Mnatseah
Member
Posts: 310
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 2:13 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Two flows on one page

Post by Mnatseah »

Hello Dorico users, I'm trying to get two flows and their respective titles on to one page. I've been to Dorico help "Allowing Multiple Flows" and I've trawled thru Daniel's tutorial on Preces and Responses. But I'm not getting there. The second flow is Tacet, and there should be plenty of room for it. I can even get the Flow 2 Tacet text to move, but it leaves the Flow 2 heading behind.
Any ideas how I can move the whole of Flow 2 (inc. heading) on to page 1. Here's a pic...
2019-03-20.png
(187.26 KiB) Not downloaded yet
David Mitchell, Director of Music, Holy Trinity Pro-Cathedral, Brussels
Windows 10. Running Cubase Pro 10.5 and Dorico Pro 3.5.

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5929
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Two flows on one page

Post by dankreider »

Your flows should all be in the same frame. You'd need to expand that frame to fill the page. Or draw a new MA music frame at the bottom of the page, and set Flow 2 to populate it.
Dan Kreider
hymnworks.com
Dorico training: dankreider.com/dorico
Dorico 3.5.11, Windows 10

fratveno
Senior Member
Posts: 1605
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 1:53 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Two flows on one page

Post by fratveno »

First, remove the page overrides (rightclick the page icons upper right) ...
[edit] then, if necessary, set new flows to allow starting on existing pages (layout options/page setup/flows...at the top)
(re-tired)

Mnatseah
Member
Posts: 310
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 2:13 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Two flows on one page

Post by Mnatseah »

Thanks to you both. When I remove the page overrides, then Flow 2 jumps on to p.1. But my project title disappears on p.1. Why is that?
David Mitchell, Director of Music, Holy Trinity Pro-Cathedral, Brussels
Windows 10. Running Cubase Pro 10.5 and Dorico Pro 3.5.

Mnatseah
Member
Posts: 310
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 2:13 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Two flows on one page

Post by Mnatseah »

...and if I change the current set to Default Full score, then remove page overrides, I keep the project title, but lose the instrument name at top left.
David Mitchell, Director of Music, Holy Trinity Pro-Cathedral, Brussels
Windows 10. Running Cubase Pro 10.5 and Dorico Pro 3.5.

fratveno
Senior Member
Posts: 1605
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 1:53 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Two flows on one page

Post by fratveno »

Hmmm... the settings are separate for score and parts... check that first...
(re-tired)

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5929
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Two flows on one page

Post by dankreider »

Mnatseah wrote:
Wed Mar 20, 2019 6:24 pm
...and if I change the current set to Default Full score, then remove page overrides, I keep the project title, but lose the instrument name at top left.
As F says, your part and full score master pages are different.

If you want to make layout changes, make them to the master page, not the score itself! https://www.scoringnotes.com/tips/worki ... co-part-1/
Dan Kreider
hymnworks.com
Dorico training: dankreider.com/dorico
Dorico 3.5.11, Windows 10

Mnatseah
Member
Posts: 310
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 2:13 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Two flows on one page

Post by Mnatseah »

Thanks to Fratveno and Dan. Dan's web tips are very useful. Another question, pls.
When I use the Default Full Score Master, everything is perfect. But this is a tpt part, so I feel I should be using Default Part Master. But when I do, the Project Title and copyright line disappear. Any ideas?
David Mitchell, Director of Music, Holy Trinity Pro-Cathedral, Brussels
Windows 10. Running Cubase Pro 10.5 and Dorico Pro 3.5.

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5929
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Two flows on one page

Post by dankreider »

You need to double-click on the part master page to edit it, and add those text frames as desired (using tokens). Then apply and close, and make sure overrides are removed. Those text items will be added to the layout page.
Dan Kreider
hymnworks.com
Dorico training: dankreider.com/dorico
Dorico 3.5.11, Windows 10

Mnatseah
Member
Posts: 310
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 2:13 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Two flows on one page

Post by Mnatseah »

Dear Dan, Thanks. Well I've reverted to the Part Master. When I look at it, it has tokens for Layout Name, Project Title, and Copyright (but not the Flow Title, strangely enough). Here's a pic.
2019-03-21.png
(111.98 KiB) Not downloaded yet
But when I open the part, only the Flow Title shows, and nothing else. Pic...
2019-03-21 (1).png
(166.82 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Any ideas?
David Mitchell, Director of Music, Holy Trinity Pro-Cathedral, Brussels
Windows 10. Running Cubase Pro 10.5 and Dorico Pro 3.5.

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5929
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Two flows on one page

Post by dankreider »

Well, the flow title is showing up because you have flow headers set to display. Layout Options--Page Setup--Flows.

I'm not sure about the other bit. Perhaps you have no values entered for those fields?
Dan Kreider
hymnworks.com
Dorico training: dankreider.com/dorico
Dorico 3.5.11, Windows 10

Mnatseah
Member
Posts: 310
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 2:13 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Two flows on one page

Post by Mnatseah »

Yes, I do have values entered for these fields (Layout Name, Project Title, and Copyright), but they're still not showing. I've now noticed that when I click on the p.1 icon at the RH side of Engrave Mode, then it's not the First Default Part that illuminates, but the Default Default Part. I imagine that may be significant.
2019-03-21 (2).png
(178.43 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Any ideas anyone?
David Mitchell, Director of Music, Holy Trinity Pro-Cathedral, Brussels
Windows 10. Running Cubase Pro 10.5 and Dorico Pro 3.5.

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Master
Posts: 8376
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Two flows on one page

Post by pianoleo »

Check your Layout Options for the part layouts. My guess is that they’re using Flow Headers throughout, including page 1, and so the First Master Page isn’t coming into it at all.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5929
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Two flows on one page

Post by dankreider »

Mnatseah wrote:
Thu Mar 21, 2019 5:22 pm
Yes, I do have values entered for these fields (Layout Name, Project Title, and Copyright), but they're still not showing. I've now noticed that when I click on the p.1 icon at the RH side of Engrave Mode, then it's not the First Default Part that illuminates, but the Default Default Part. I imagine that may be significant.
2019-03-21 (2).png
Any ideas anyone?
Yep, you need to assign the First master page to page 1.

Leo - I didn't know that flow headers changed the way that pages were assigned master pages.... do they?

On occasion I've had to manually assign a master page change to a particular page. You can right-click on the page in the top right panel and force it to use the First master page.
Dan Kreider
hymnworks.com
Dorico training: dankreider.com/dorico
Dorico 3.5.11, Windows 10

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Master
Posts: 8376
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Two flows on one page

Post by pianoleo »

Dan, take a look at Layout Options. There are options for where the First master page should be used.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

Derrek
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4049
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 6:23 pm
Location: East Coast, USA
Contact:

Re: Two flows on one page

Post by Derrek »

Also make sure that the Parts Master Pages are using the tokens that correspond to the place(s) on the File Info pages where you have entered the Title, Copyright, etc.
Dorico Pro 3.5.10.1045, Finale (v26), GPO, JABB3, GWI, NotePerformer 3.3.1, CuBase Pro 10.5 newbie
Windows 10 (also Mac Catalina as alternate)
US English Keyboard

Mnatseah
Member
Posts: 310
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 2:13 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Two flows on one page

Post by Mnatseah »

Thanks to you all for your helpful advice. But I got it in the end. In Layout > Page Setup > Master Page, it was set to Default Part, and the selection button at the bottom L of the page was set to Full score. I changed the first setting to Default Full Score and everything on my page displayed perfectly.
Frankly I don't know why everything had to be set to Full Score for the Part to display properly. In fact, I don't find Dorico master pages at all user friendly.
Btw, can someone explain what it means when the page icon in top right has a green border, as in this pic.
2019-03-22 (1).png
(162.37 KiB) Not downloaded yet
I'm guessing it means the First page is selected....?
David Mitchell, Director of Music, Holy Trinity Pro-Cathedral, Brussels
Windows 10. Running Cubase Pro 10.5 and Dorico Pro 3.5.

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5929
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Two flows on one page

Post by dankreider »

It means you have a master page change set for that page, and all pages after it.
Dan Kreider
hymnworks.com
Dorico training: dankreider.com/dorico
Dorico 3.5.11, Windows 10

musicmaven
Member
Posts: 635
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 6:11 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Two flows on one page

Post by musicmaven »

Mnatseah wrote:
Fri Mar 22, 2019 1:22 pm
... and the selection button at the bottom L of the page was set to Full score. I changed the first setting to Default Full Score and everything on my page displayed perfectly.
Frankly I don't know why everything had to be set to Full Score for the Part to display properly.
I believe that this drop down selection is used so that you can set the type of Layout used for a particular Master Page set, in essence a 2nd way of making choices as opposed to doing this in Engrave Mode on the right side of the screen. I'll agree that the terminology can get a little confusing and it takes time to wrap your head around all of this conceptually.
Dorico Pro 3.5.10.1045, NotePerformer 3.3.1, Notation Express XL, Finale 1.0 through Finale 97, Sibelius 2-7.5, Notion 5.2, Composer's Mosaic, MuseScore 2, Digital Performer 5, iMac, MacBook Air, Oxygen 61, OS X High Sierra 10.13.6

Mnatseah
Member
Posts: 310
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 2:13 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Two flows on one page

Post by Mnatseah »

Actually, everything isn't rosy just yet. I've just noticed that all the parts lack the instrumental part name in the top left corner. Which is to say, by changing to Full Score, as noted in my previous post, I made all the parts display as Full Score (without the instrument part name). But the Default Part Layout is just as corrupted as before. Does anyone have any ideas? I've attached a copy of the score, having stripped it down and set playback to silence. (Why do Dorico files have to be so huge?) The issue is that I cannot see (a) Project Title (b) Flow Title (c) instrument name (d) copyright line, in the Parts.
By the way, Dan, what is a "Master page change set"?
Project Test.zip
(649.39 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
David Mitchell, Director of Music, Holy Trinity Pro-Cathedral, Brussels
Windows 10. Running Cubase Pro 10.5 and Dorico Pro 3.5.

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Master
Posts: 8376
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Two flows on one page

Post by pianoleo »

You've deleted the music frame from the First Master Page in the "Default Part" master page set - there is no music frame present on that page at all. That means that, if your part layouts are set to use the "Default Part" master page set, Dorico cannot use the "First" master page, regardless of what's set in Layout Options.

The fix is to double-click on the First master page in Engrave mode, add a music frame, double-check that it's using the MA Frame Chain (from the dropdown in the top left corner of the frame) - make sure you’ve done this on both the right page and the left page - hit Apply, then Close.
Last edited by pianoleo on Fri Mar 22, 2019 3:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

musicmaven
Member
Posts: 635
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 6:11 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Two flows on one page

Post by musicmaven »

I believe Dan meant a "Master page change" set (applied to those pages). I'll let him correct me if I am wrong.
Dorico Pro 3.5.10.1045, NotePerformer 3.3.1, Notation Express XL, Finale 1.0 through Finale 97, Sibelius 2-7.5, Notion 5.2, Composer's Mosaic, MuseScore 2, Digital Performer 5, iMac, MacBook Air, Oxygen 61, OS X High Sierra 10.13.6

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5929
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Two flows on one page

Post by dankreider »

musicmaven wrote:
Fri Mar 22, 2019 3:01 pm
I believe Dan meant a "Master page change" set (applied to those pages). I'll let him correct me if I am wrong.
Correct, I should have left out “set.” Just a “master page change.”
Dan Kreider
hymnworks.com
Dorico training: dankreider.com/dorico
Dorico 3.5.11, Windows 10

Mnatseah
Member
Posts: 310
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 2:13 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Two flows on one page

Post by Mnatseah »

Thanks to you all. Leo, you've solved my problem. Thanks. After reading your comments, I could see immediately that the Parts Master Page music frame was missing. I should have noticed that. Everything is now displaying fine.

Btw, there is no Flow heading on the Default Part First Page. So how come the Flow Title shows up in the actual part itself? And is there a way to change the spacing between Project and Flow title except by dragging them up and down.

Dan, I realize now that you were using "set" as a verb.

Thanks
David Mitchell, Director of Music, Holy Trinity Pro-Cathedral, Brussels
Windows 10. Running Cubase Pro 10.5 and Dorico Pro 3.5.

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 18929
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Two flows on one page

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

Flow titles are inserted dynamically as needed, so they don't appear in the master page pair when you edit it in the master page editor.

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: damonsink, Derrek, pianoleo, rkrentzman, Romanos401, wcreed and 11 guests