Lost Hours of works.. : (

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
leroo
Junior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 1:40 am
Contact:

Lost Hours of works.. : (

Post by leroo »

Hi

I've just lost hour of works..
I have a project that won't open anymore.
Last time I close Cubase, no crash, everythings seems to be fine

This morning, try to re-open the project... Imposible.

Since I save as I go, the .bak files where created a lot of hours before.

Did someone have a clue to what happened?

I would like to avoid it the next time.

Thank you
Late 2013 iMac i7 ssd
OSX 10.14.6
Presonus Quantum
Cubase 10.5.20

svennilenni
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5154
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Lost Hours of works.. : (

Post by svennilenni »

leroo wrote:Did someone have a clue to what happened?
Based on the exhaustive info you´re providing, I´d say your project has gone corrupt.

leroo
Junior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 1:40 am
Contact:

Re: Lost Hours of works.. : (

Post by leroo »

Yes, the project is corrupt for sure.
How did it get corrupted... hard to tell

I was recording Audio, componig track in Folder with sync mode.

couple of plugins.... but plugin sentinel should have take care of that.

Running Maschine 2.6.0
Massive 1.5.1

That's all the info I got really
Late 2013 iMac i7 ssd
OSX 10.14.6
Presonus Quantum
Cubase 10.5.20

hko
Junior Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 8:33 am
Contact:

Re: Lost Hours of works.. : (

Post by hko »

Open another project and then without closing the the project you opened try to open the project you cannot open directly. I tend to remember that something like this worked for me when I had a project which failed to open otherwise.
Specs:
  • Latest available versions of Wavelab 10 Pro and eLicenser sw
  • iMac 2019 / Catalina
  • Apogee element 24

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4603
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Lost Hours of works.. : (

Post by raino »

Try creating a new Project. Then import Tracks from the old corrupted Project into the new one. I'd do this one Track at a time, verify it works ok, then save, then import next Track.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, Groove Agent 5, WaveLab Pro 10, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

Latest: Bawdy Politik https://rodgerraino.bandcamp.com/releases

leroo
Junior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 1:40 am
Contact:

Re: Lost Hours of works.. : (

Post by leroo »

hko
It crash as soon as i try to open the project.

raino
Crash when I selected the project.

Thanks for your help
Late 2013 iMac i7 ssd
OSX 10.14.6
Presonus Quantum
Cubase 10.5.20

User avatar
silhouette
Senior Member
Posts: 1340
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: Lost Hours of works.. : (

Post by silhouette »

Did you add any effect or plugin that you don't often use?

Can you see where the loading gets to when Cubase stops working?

Try removing the VST folder and see if the project loads, then you will know if it is a plugin. I'm afraid that a little detective work is on the cards.
Intel core i7 5960X CPU 3.0 GHz 64bit 32 gig RAM - Windows 10 - AMD RadeonHD 7700 - RME Fireface UC - Cubase 10.5 - UAD Solo + Duo + Quad - Nektar Panorama P1 - Komplete 12 - All uhe - Adam AX7 + Adam Sub 8 - BFD3 - Alchemy - PSP - FabFilter - Fender Telecaster- Wudtone Strat - Gibson L4, 335x2,330L,175 -Ibanez PM100 - Musicman Silhouette x 3 - Warwick Thumb Bass - Kemper Profiling Amp -https://soundcloud.com/silhouette-17

leroo
Junior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 1:40 am
Contact:

Re: Lost Hours of works.. : (

Post by leroo »

Only plugin:
Maschine
Massive
FM8

I update the plug'n mix bundle yesterday after works.
They are not in use in this session, and not blacklisted by Sentinel.
Late 2013 iMac i7 ssd
OSX 10.14.6
Presonus Quantum
Cubase 10.5.20

ruffindajungle
Member
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 7:36 am
Contact:

Re: Lost Hours of works.. : (

Post by ruffindajungle »

It's insane how much hours autosave has saved me. Mine is set to every 3 min and wildly 20-30 backups. If crash/corrupt thing happens then worst case scenario 5-10 newest is corrupted, usually the freshest. Food for thought.
Hackintosh i7 4790k, Sierra, Cubase 10, Halion 6, Groove Agent 4, Erica synth Fusion box, Sh101, Ob-6, Rme UCX, E352 cloud terrarium

leroo
Junior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 1:40 am
Contact:

Re: Lost Hours of works.. : (

Post by leroo »

I just set autosave to more "agressive" and assingn Cmd-S to Save New Version.

Also, I got crash on other project using U-He Diva and Arturia's Prophet V3
New fresh Install from January 2017
Freshly rebuilt preferences

Seems like Plugin Sentinel doesn't do it's job
0 blacklisted plugins
Late 2013 iMac i7 ssd
OSX 10.14.6
Presonus Quantum
Cubase 10.5.20

Manike
Member
Posts: 912
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Lost Hours of works.. : (

Post by Manike »

Generally when a project won't open for me it's due to a plug in.


First thing to try is what has previously been said and try removing the plugs that you used in the project.

Michael
8-Core Trashcan Mac Pro : Catalina : Cubase10.5.20 : MOTU828x : Nektar P6 :
Macbook pro : Catalina
http://www.manikemusic.com

Chris Kessey
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 11:56 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Lost Hours of works.. : (

Post by Chris Kessey »

Diva VST3 can cause problems. And as far as I know it is not recommended to use by u-he yet.
i7 6850K, 32Gb, Windows 10 Pro, Cubase Pro 10

leroo
Junior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 1:40 am
Contact:

Re: Lost Hours of works.. : (

Post by leroo »

Hi

I'm not using Diva VSt3.

Ok now...
I've trash the pref folders
All plugins pass the scan at startup
Open plugin manager then update plug information.
Cubase Crash at the end of the process.
Remove all VST 2 from the VSt folder
Cubase scan VST3 with success
Put VST 2 in their folder one by one then update plugin information at each one
I finish to put them all and didn't find one that crash Cubase.

sorry, english is not my primary language

thankk you for your help
Late 2013 iMac i7 ssd
OSX 10.14.6
Presonus Quantum
Cubase 10.5.20

User avatar
greggybud
Senior Member
Posts: 1411
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: Lost Hours of works.. : (

Post by greggybud »

Apologies if you already tried this, but make sure you have moved absolutely every 3rd party VST...meaning all effect processors, all VST instruments to a temporary folder where Cubase can't see them including Maschine and Massive. This way when trashing preferences, Cubase will re-build and the ONLY VST's and VSTI's Cubase sees are the factory Cubase VST's. No 3rd party VST's. Then you don't even need to worry about the plug-in manager.

Once you have done that, can you re-start Cubase, open an empty project, then click on the corrupt project .cpr and attempt to import a track?

Your English is just fine.
The latest Cubase version, Wavelab 10, Intel Core i9 7920X @ 2.90GHz Windows 10 64bit, 64 gig all SSD drives (Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1050ti, 2 34" LG ultra wides and 1 28" all @2560x1080) iCon QconPro, Metagrid, 4 MidiTimePiece's = 32in/outs, UAD-2, SoundToys, NI, Waves, Arturia, and lots of hardware synthesizers most of them controlled by MidiQuest 11.

leroo
Junior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 1:40 am
Contact:

Re: Lost Hours of works.. : (

Post by leroo »

Already try that..
As soon as Cubase reach THE project, it crash

As of now, I move on re record all the part that I've done in the last couple of hours before before the big crash, so I can continue to work.
I just want that to not happened again.
Late 2013 iMac i7 ssd
OSX 10.14.6
Presonus Quantum
Cubase 10.5.20

User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1876
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Lost Hours of works.. : (

Post by Stephen57 »

First, I'm very sorry that you lost all the work. I know how that is and it really is terrible.

As you go forward, I'd suggest using the "Save as New Version" feature. When the project is developing, as it reaches a new stage of being completed, save it as a New Version. That way if it goes bad, you'll only be one step back. Yes, you'll wind up with perhaps many versions, but that's better than seeing a project go down the drain.
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 10 (Main), Cubase Pro 9.5 (Backup); PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converters, Scarlett 2I4, Zoom UCR-8; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST-Is: Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.5, Stylus RMX; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3, Tannoy PBM 6.5 II, Mics. Scheops, Sennheiser, Rode, Lectrosonics RF, etc.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

leroo
Junior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 1:40 am
Contact:

Re: Lost Hours of works.. : (

Post by leroo »

I contacted support about the problem.
They says : " look like the action of saving was disrupted"
Late 2013 iMac i7 ssd
OSX 10.14.6
Presonus Quantum
Cubase 10.5.20

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4603
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Lost Hours of works.. : (

Post by raino »

Not sure how this works on a Mac, but try running diagnostics on your disks. Could be some hardware starting to fail.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, Groove Agent 5, WaveLab Pro 10, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

Latest: Bawdy Politik https://rodgerraino.bandcamp.com/releases

leroo
Junior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 1:40 am
Contact:

Re: Lost Hours of works.. : (

Post by leroo »

The premier suspect:

"Enable App Nap" was checked in Energy Saver.

We will see..
Late 2013 iMac i7 ssd
OSX 10.14.6
Presonus Quantum
Cubase 10.5.20

User avatar
AP
Member
Posts: 691
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Lost Hours of works.. : (

Post by AP »

I had the exact same issue last week... I solved it by creating an empty project. Then I opened the project with issues/crashing without activating it. Then I selected all, copied and pasted to the empty project.

But before you do that, try activating the project with issues. If it still crashes try the first suggestion.

It worked. In my case I'm assuming the project was too big it was a live show project I had to create smaller projects. In all the years I worked with Cubase this was the first time. Anyway good luck.
Cubase Pro 10.5
Logic Pro X 10.5
Roland Zenbeats
15” MacBook Pro i7, 16 GB Ram, OS 10.15 UR28M, CMC.

Fredco1
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 9:47 am
Contact:

Re: Lost Hours of works.. : (

Post by Fredco1 »

Command + Option +S

It will create new versions. I do this as I go. If v14 is corrupt, v13 was saved 5 minutes before. Maybe lose a track or 2 but not the entire session.

ruffindajungle
Member
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 7:36 am
Contact:

Re: Lost Hours of works.. : (

Post by ruffindajungle »

Tried to search for this "app nap" could not find any. Are you sure you are on mac? :?
Hackintosh i7 4790k, Sierra, Cubase 10, Halion 6, Groove Agent 4, Erica synth Fusion box, Sh101, Ob-6, Rme UCX, E352 cloud terrarium

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1826
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: Lost Hours of works.. : (

Post by planarchist »

ruffindajungle wrote:Tried to search for this "app nap" could not find any. Are you sure you are on mac? :?
Really?

https://www.howtogeek.com/277414/what-i ... -mac-apps/
Nic

Cubase Pro 10.5, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, RME Digiface, Behringer ADA8200, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 10.5. Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit , Steinberg CI2+.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

My Cubase recorded songs here (also on most other streaming services).... https://open.spotify.com/artist/6rHmZY1IPskvtYL1Zzw6Vy

leroo
Junior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 1:40 am
Contact:

Re: Lost Hours of works.. : (

Post by leroo »

Yes I'm on Mac : )

It's "Enable Power Nap".... my mistake

After uncheck this... as of now, seems to be OK

process like NIhardwareAgent (for Maschine controler) can go to sleep.
Maybe it's this kind of thing that srew the saving process.
By disabling Power Nap, they don't sleep...
Late 2013 iMac i7 ssd
OSX 10.14.6
Presonus Quantum
Cubase 10.5.20

User avatar
silhouette
Senior Member
Posts: 1340
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: Lost Hours of works.. : (

Post by silhouette »

leroo wrote:I just set autosave to more "agressive" and assingn Cmd-S to Save New Version.

Also, I got crash on other project using U-He Diva and Arturia's Prophet V3
New fresh Install from January 2017
Freshly rebuilt preferences

Seems like Plugin Sentinel doesn't do it's job
0 blacklisted plugins
I nearly always have crashes with any u-he vst3. Luckily not with vst2.4. They seem to have had a lot of issues implementing vst3. Maybe that is an issue for you?
Intel core i7 5960X CPU 3.0 GHz 64bit 32 gig RAM - Windows 10 - AMD RadeonHD 7700 - RME Fireface UC - Cubase 10.5 - UAD Solo + Duo + Quad - Nektar Panorama P1 - Komplete 12 - All uhe - Adam AX7 + Adam Sub 8 - BFD3 - Alchemy - PSP - FabFilter - Fender Telecaster- Wudtone Strat - Gibson L4, 335x2,330L,175 -Ibanez PM100 - Musicman Silhouette x 3 - Warwick Thumb Bass - Kemper Profiling Amp -https://soundcloud.com/silhouette-17

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest