HALion6/HS3/HS3SE - but not on WIN7 (64bit)

Post general topics related to HALion 6 and HALion Sonic 3 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
StefK
Junior Member
Posts: 156
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 2:49 pm
Contact:

HALion6/HS3/HS3SE - but not on WIN7 (64bit)

Post by StefK »

I am re posting this, on its own topic,
see ref : from the other "HALion 64 bit ONLY" page)
here-> viewtopic.php?f=262&t=111192#p615097

I feel it is important enough to have its own topic/thread, and would like to get an idea
from other members/consumers that maybe (like me), were expecting H6 to be also available on WIN7 - 64bit

SB have mentioned that this is not tested, nor supported - see link above.

I am perplexed by a few points.

- WIN7 SP1 64bit : has an extended End Of Life (EOL) == Jan 14 2020

- SB, recently released Cubase 9, and DO list Win7-64bit as one of the operating Systems supported in their System Requrements : https://www.steinberg.net/en/products/c ... urces.html


I recall the media announcement to only support 64bit OS : https://www.steinberg.net/en/newsandeve ... -3778.html

HOWEVER ?!?
Q) When did SB do a media/announcement to stop supporting Win7 - 64bit ?


thanks in advance, for any information and/or support that others can add.

/Stef
Last edited by StefK on Fri Feb 10, 2017 12:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase 9.x|Reason 10.x|Halion6,HSO]|NI Komplete 9|VI-Labs Ravenscroft275
WIN10|GA-Z370-G7|8086K|64Gb|SAMSUNG-970|Thunderbolt3|UAD-Apollo.X6
Win 7 |GA-X58|W3680|12Gb|SAMSUNG 850|ECHO-MIA
MacBook Pro|MR816:CSX| Maudio:FW410 | Line6:KB37

User avatar
The Sarge
Member
Posts: 324
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 7:35 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: HALion6 - but not on WIN7 (64bit)

Post by The Sarge »

I totally agree!
Ryzen7 3700X, Cubase Pro10, UR22C, 2x Midisport2x4, Roland M-VS1 + JV1010 inkl.Asia + MC303,
E-MU Orbit + PlanetEarth + Orbit3 + Mo´Phatt + Proteus1-3, Yamaha QS300 + RM1x, Nubert nuPro A-200,
NI KOMPLETE12UCE + MASCHINE Mk2, Korg Legacy+Analog Collection inkl. MS-20Controller, Omnisphere2,
Arturia V-Collection6, Absolute VST Sound Collection4, u-he Diva & Zebra & HiVE2 & Bazille & ACE & Repro1+5, Reveal Sound Spire, air AIEP3complete, Carbon Electra, VirtualCZ
how horny is that then ^^

vespesian
Member
Posts: 358
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 1:58 am
Contact:

Re: HALion6 - but not on WIN7 (64bit)

Post by vespesian »

Wtf? What major music software doesn't support win7? Who cares how old it is...if it's good enough for Cubase and Wavelab, it ought to be good enough for Halion. Guess I'm buying something else today.

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3496
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion6 - but not on WIN7 (64bit)

Post by jaslan »

vespesian wrote:Guess I'm buying something else today.
I recommend Windows 10. :lol:
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1504
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Re: HALion6 - but not on WIN7 (64bit)

Post by fenderchris »

No Win-7 = no money from me :(
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

OS: Windows-10 Pro 64-bit v.2004.
PC: i7 Quad core 2.66GHz, 24GB ram, SSD drives.
Screens: LG 4K 3440x1440, AG-Neovo 1280x1024 (x2).
Hardware: RME FireFace UFX, MR816CSX (x2), SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Midi Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Roland V-Drums TD-20X, Nektar Panorama P1.
Software: Nuendo-8.1.10, Wavelab-Elements-9.5, Halion-6, Halion Sonic 3, Kontakt-5, Cubase iCPro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth), Omnisphere, Trillian.

Niles
Member
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 9:41 am

Re: HALion6 - but not on WIN7 (64bit)

Post by Niles »

Thanks for the heads-up.

marshallsplace
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 7:03 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion6 - but not on WIN7 (64bit)

Post by marshallsplace »

Does any one know if it will actually run on Win 7 64bit?

I think it's short sighted of steinberg not to support win 7 64bit as there are many of us using it because of it's stability the ability to switch off updates.

AposMus
Member
Posts: 230
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 11:41 am
Contact:

Re: HALion6 - but not on WIN7 (64bit)

Post by AposMus »

marshallsplace wrote:Does any one know if it will actually run on Win 7 64bit?

I think it's short sighted of steinberg not to support win 7 64bit as there are many of us using it because of it's stability the ability to switch off updates.
I was wondering the same thing. If it's simply a question of SB not supporting Win7, then fine.

Seems strange that the host DAW would work in Win7 and not a plugin.

I would understand this if it was a backward compatibility issues with a plugin, but not this.
Cubase Pro 8.5.2
Halion 6
HSO
Padshop Pro
Dark Planet

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2877
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion6 - but not on WIN7 (64bit)

Post by Romantique Tp »

This just means that the plugin wont be tested on Windows 7, but pretty much everything that works with Windows 8 also runs on Windows 7 flawlessly.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

User avatar
The Sarge
Member
Posts: 324
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 7:35 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: HALion6 - but not on WIN7 (64bit)

Post by The Sarge »

Romantique Tp wrote:This just means that the plugin wont be tested on Windows 7, but pretty much everything that works with Windows 8 also runs on Windows 7 flawlessly.
that nearly for sure
but the problem is: support-ticket and when SB sees "Win7" they only will help in the way "please update your OS" :(
Ryzen7 3700X, Cubase Pro10, UR22C, 2x Midisport2x4, Roland M-VS1 + JV1010 inkl.Asia + MC303,
E-MU Orbit + PlanetEarth + Orbit3 + Mo´Phatt + Proteus1-3, Yamaha QS300 + RM1x, Nubert nuPro A-200,
NI KOMPLETE12UCE + MASCHINE Mk2, Korg Legacy+Analog Collection inkl. MS-20Controller, Omnisphere2,
Arturia V-Collection6, Absolute VST Sound Collection4, u-he Diva & Zebra & HiVE2 & Bazille & ACE & Repro1+5, Reveal Sound Spire, air AIEP3complete, Carbon Electra, VirtualCZ
how horny is that then ^^

vespesian
Member
Posts: 358
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 1:58 am
Contact:

Re: HALion6 - but not on WIN7 (64bit)

Post by vespesian »

Romantique Tp wrote:This just means that the plugin wont be tested on Windows 7, but pretty much everything that works with Windows 8 also runs on Windows 7 flawlessly.
Perhaps - except we're talking Steinberg. Perquisites are taken seriously here.

msy
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:37 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: HALion6 - but not on WIN7 (64bit)

Post by msy »

Even though I don't like this since I am running Windows 7 myself and I actually have to buy a whole new audio interface if I want to run Windows 10, I still understand Steinbergs position.

The trial version of HALion 6 will be released in March so we'll have to wait and see.
Cubase Pro 10.5.20
HALion 6.3.1
OS: Windows 10 (1903)
Soundcard: RME Digiface USB with ADA8200 + ARC USB
DAW: AMD Ryzen 3950x | ASUS Prime x570-P | 32GB DDR4 3600MHz | Intel p660 NVMe M.2 2TB | Samsung EVO SSD 250GB SATA | Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX 5700 XT (set to PCIE 3.0 in BIOS w/drivers Adrenaline v19.11.3)
Screen: Philips 439P9H (Curved SuperWide 32:10) @ 3840x1200
Computer related hardware: 2xUAD-2 Duo PCIE, BCF2000 (MCU), Nord Wave, Eurorack via ES3/ADAT
Other DAWs: Bitwig 3.2

Itron
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 26, 2013 5:07 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion6 - but not on WIN7 (64bit)

Post by Itron »

Didn't even think to check that Windows 7 is supported, as it is still a valid O/S, before purchasing!! :oops:

With the recent release of Cubase 9 supporting Windows 7 it just didn't occur to me that Steinberg would drop support with out some fairly major warnings on the purchasing pages. (OK, I can now see that Windows 8/10 are listed after the O/S logo, but it doesn't stand out until you are looking for the information!)

I would be happy to keep the purchase if it will run on Windows 7, otherwise I will have to see if I can get a refund.

I can understand the 64 bit choice and saw the information about this, but surely dropping Windows 7 support should havebeen highlighted as well?

Steinberg any chance that this decision might be re-appraised?

marshallsplace
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 7:03 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion6 - but not on WIN7 (64bit)

Post by marshallsplace »

Trying to get H6 working on W7-64 I previously posted:


"OK - the lowdown:

Halion 6 installs onto Win7 64bit BUT will not run - gets stuck in initialisation, both stand-alone and within Cubase 9 Pro. Resart required to get the PC back running.

At least Halion 6 is blacklisted in VST plugins :D

Come on Steinberg, we need H6 to work on W764 in C9P :!:"

But someone has installed it on W7-64 :)
Last edited by marshallsplace on Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:08 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Niles
Member
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 9:41 am

Re: HALion6 - but not on WIN7 (64bit)

Post by Niles »

The Sarge wrote:but the problem is: support-ticket and when SB sees "Win7" they only will help in the way "please update your OS" :(
Exactly. My intention was just to buy the update blind since it's only €99,-. However even a €99,- price tag is too much for a product without official support. I can wait until my DAW moves to Win 10. :)

AposMus
Member
Posts: 230
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 11:41 am
Contact:

Re: HALion6 - but not on WIN7 (64bit)

Post by AposMus »

This being the internet, finding solid, matching statistics is quite hard.

The long and the short is that Win7 is still the most popular operating system by far. It has more market share than Win 10 and all Mac OS versions combined.

Anyone who's been doing this for a while and has clients, knows that if you have a stable system, you hang on for dear life. Thinking of my early days, if formatting a hard drive was an Olympic sport, I would be a gold medallist.

Win 8 wasn't great so I never upgraded. With Win 10 I just didn't see the point because everything was running fine as is. (see previous paragraph)

When I dabbled in website design as a hobby, I remember reading how developers complained having to ensure compatibility with IE 6 in some cases, because it still had +- 13% market share at the time. Depending on the source Win 7 has anywhere from 40% - 48%. With Steinberg's obvious move for Halion as a truly viable alternative to Kontakt, ignoring this section of the market seems truly short sighted.

The world is a big place, many DAWs many OSs. To be competitive compatibility should be taken into account.
Cubase Pro 8.5.2
Halion 6
HSO
Padshop Pro
Dark Planet

User avatar
StefK
Junior Member
Posts: 156
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 2:49 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion6 - but not on WIN7 (64bit)

Post by StefK »

AposMus wrote:This being the internet, finding solid, matching statistics is quite hard.

The long and the short is that Win7 is still the most popular operating system by far. It has more market share than Win 10 and all Mac OS versions combined.
....
Anyone who's been doing this for a while and has clients, knows that if you have a stable system, you hang on for dear life. Thinking of my early days, if formatting a hard drive was an Olympic sport, I would be a gold medallist.
...
The world is a big place, many DAWs many OSs. To be competitive compatibility should be taken into account.
++1 agree.


SB have released their flagship sampler H6, and touted that one of the new amazing features, a toolkit to create, 'our own content libraries'. ref : viewtopic.php?t=110992&p=611765#p611463

.. I then interpret the non-support of WIN7 as :
For content developers, this also infers that the target demographics that SUPPORTED content (and by inference installations of HS3-SE ) can be created for, is also now limited and restricted to the supported OS platforms by SB and the (H6/HS3/HS3-SE) matrix.

In other words, you will not be able to create (supported) content for Win7-64bit for (StudioOne, Abletone_Live, Protools, DigitalPerformer, Logic,CakeWalk.Sonar)

I have attached a couple of pics, to summarize and give a view re
> DAW/Sampler support matrix
DAW_OS_SUPPORT_Matrix_.PNG
(83.49 KiB) Not downloaded yet

> ref pic of Desktop OS Market share : https://www.statista.com/statistics/218 ... windows-7/
global_market_share_win7.PNG
(41.97 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Of course this is not gospel, and the metrics and results will vary, depending on may factors,
I tend to agree with the Desktop OS market share metrics, that WIN7-64bit has in excess of 40% share.

..Maybe we need to setup a page in this forum, to take a poll, survey as to what Windows OS version users are running.

/Stef
Cubase 9.x|Reason 10.x|Halion6,HSO]|NI Komplete 9|VI-Labs Ravenscroft275
WIN10|GA-Z370-G7|8086K|64Gb|SAMSUNG-970|Thunderbolt3|UAD-Apollo.X6
Win 7 |GA-X58|W3680|12Gb|SAMSUNG 850|ECHO-MIA
MacBook Pro|MR816:CSX| Maudio:FW410 | Line6:KB37

AposMus
Member
Posts: 230
Joined: Fri Nov 14, 2014 11:41 am
Contact:

Re: HALion6 - but not on WIN7 (64bit)

Post by AposMus »

StefK wrote: .. I then interpret the non-support of WIN7 as :
For content developers, this also infers that the target demographics that SUPPORTED content (and by inference installations of HS3-SE ) can be created for, is also now limited and restricted to the supported OS platforms by SB and the (H6/HS3/HS3-SE) matrix.

In other words, you will not be able to create (supported) content for Win7-64bit for (StudioOne, Abletone_Live, Protools, DigitalPerformer, Logic,CakeWalk.Sonar)
/Stef
This is a very important point.

Seeing as there are companies that purely function on creating content for Kontakt, it wouldn't be a stretch to think that this is Steinberg's hope for Halion. I personally have an idea or 2 for "niche" instruments to create for Halion, but now my potential user base is being severely limited.

I think I was being too subtle with my previous statement of Steinberg being short sighted.
Cubase Pro 8.5.2
Halion 6
HSO
Padshop Pro
Dark Planet

funkycornwall
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 12:48 am
Contact:

Re: HALion6/HS3/HS3SE - but not on WIN7 (64bit)

Post by funkycornwall »

I've just installed HALion 6 under Windows 7 64bit and I must admit not to have read the requirements stating that Windows 7 was not supported. I have not done extensive testing yet but HALion 6 and Sonic 3 appear to be working fine in my REAPER recording setup. I am surprised thst Steinberg have not included Windows 7 as their minimum requirement bearing in mind the obvious market share of this operating system. Let's face it we all have to ensure that our complex hardware and software installations operate OK which is never a straightforward process. Speaking personally to upgrade to Windows 10 for my recording system would be a major upheaval since I still use FireWire for my audio recording which is not fully supported under Windows 10. Anyway let's all hope that HALion 6 (which looks very promising by the way) will operate fine with Windows 7.

msy
Member
Posts: 379
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:37 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: HALion6/HS3/HS3SE - but not on WIN7 (64bit)

Post by msy »

funkycornwall wrote:still use FireWire for my audio recording which is not fully supported under Windows 10
Are you sure? Isn't that up to the specific hardware developer to update drivers to be compatible with Win10?
Cubase Pro 10.5.20
HALion 6.3.1
OS: Windows 10 (1903)
Soundcard: RME Digiface USB with ADA8200 + ARC USB
DAW: AMD Ryzen 3950x | ASUS Prime x570-P | 32GB DDR4 3600MHz | Intel p660 NVMe M.2 2TB | Samsung EVO SSD 250GB SATA | Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX 5700 XT (set to PCIE 3.0 in BIOS w/drivers Adrenaline v19.11.3)
Screen: Philips 439P9H (Curved SuperWide 32:10) @ 3840x1200
Computer related hardware: 2xUAD-2 Duo PCIE, BCF2000 (MCU), Nord Wave, Eurorack via ES3/ADAT
Other DAWs: Bitwig 3.2

User avatar
neglorpf
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2013 9:30 am
Contact:

Re: HALion6/HS3/HS3SE - but not on WIN7 (64bit)

Post by neglorpf »

Anyone who suggests that all we have to do is upgrade to Win10 obviously hasn't run into the difficulties some of us have experienced when Microsoft began to upgrade us automatically a little over a year and a half ago.

I figured that it couldn't hurt to give it a shot, since at the time it was a freebie. At first it wasn't too bad, but once the Anniversary update was installed, that's when my system began to treat me to frequent and random BSODs, sometimes before I had a chance to save my work. It claimed that my memory was "corrupt", yet even when I replaced that memory and the diagnostic gave it a clean bill of health, I couldn't go but a few minutes before another BSOD would appear. That was the last straw.

What was worse is that Microsoft decided, without any fanfare, that users had 10 days to keep or revert back to their previous OS - by the time I decided that Win10 was a dog, it was too late for such a reversion. I knew I would hate to do what had to be done: format the drive and reload Win7, as well as all of the associated software, which was a royal pain.

With tens of thousands of instruments made available to me by Steinberg, as well as by other third-party suppliers, I'm thinking this is where I'll save my money for once.
Roland St.Germain
ELEMENT25 Studio

Intel i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40 GHz, 32GB RAM, MSI MS-7751 Motherboard, Windows 10 Professional, NVIDIA GeForce 710, Steinberg UR242, Cubase Pro 10, WaveLab Elements 9.5.

marshallsplace
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 7:03 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion6/HS3/HS3SE - but not on WIN7 (64bit)

Post by marshallsplace »

Well, I've tried now 3 times to install and get running H6 on W7-64.

H6 hangs/dissapears after initialisation. HS3 also hangs/dissapears.

With no support I guess that's me done.



NOW WORKING! - with the help of Matthias!

viewtopic.php?f=262&t=110992&p=615746#p615746

hkr1734
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2017 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: HALion6/HS3/HS3SE - but not on WIN7 (64bit)

Post by hkr1734 »

Thanks for the warning!

Windows 8 and 10 are no option.

=> Waiting for Supported Win7 (or in distant future: Linux - that would be a dream!)

@Steinberg: Such a great release with scripting and macro pages - dont ruin your success with forcing us to use win8/10 - i wont. And anybody who has read a bit about Microsofts new behavior on data privacy will never even consider the new version. You are not even allowed to install the normal versions of Win10 for your employees here, because microsoft will send out too much private information about them.

hkr1734
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2017 9:43 am
Contact:

Re: HALion6/HS3/HS3SE - but not on WIN7 (64bit)

Post by hkr1734 »

Someone started a poll: viewtopic.php?f=262&t=112609

User avatar
Outsounder
Member
Posts: 474
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 8:36 pm
Contact:

Re: HALion6/HS3/HS3SE - but not on WIN7 (64bit)

Post by Outsounder »

Bad move. Silly scenario. Steinberg shoring up the Komepitions Krown!

Won't be long before Kontakt has real time record for sure, hundreds of thousands of users will be so pleased to already have Kontakt running so sweetly on Win 7 and surely stay with it.

Despite its features, Halion has always been an expensive "underdog enigma" with little support from third party sound library developers, this ridiculous statement and direction from Steinberg only makes it more of one.

There again, real time record been bog standard on the Scope STS samplers for the last 15 years...and still runs on every version of Windows from 98 through to W10 if that's what the users want. What company motto states "Give the people what they want and they will buy it"...?

Not Steinberg for sure! If they think that untold numbers of users (possibly hundreds of thousands in numbers) with solid, stable installs (with C9) running on Win 7 will rush to scrap the stability, that many would have to also buy new audio interfaces for to run an unproven, very expensive luxury "do it all" plugin that won't run in thier own latest release world leading flagship DAW without such substantial extra expense and downtime, then they should seriously consider the posts and implications of thier decisions voiced in this thread and, for once, really listen to what thier users want.
Main-Intel i7/Asus mobo/Gforce GPU/32gig ram. Secondary-Intel Q9950/Asus mobo/Radeon GPU/8gig ram.Win7 pro/Win10 pro, Cubase 9.5 Pro/Cubase 10.5 pro, Studio One 4 Pro, ACID, Ableton Live, SonicCore/Scope DSP Audio System, Presonus Sceptre S6 monitors. Avid Artist Mix/Control and Transport. Software includes NI Komplete 10, Halion 6, East West Play Libraries, Heavyocity Libraries, Sample Logic Libraries Best Service Libraries, Sonokinetic Libraries, 8Dio Libraries,Project Sam Libaries, Sound Iron Libraries,Melodyne Pro, Uberschall Elastic & Liquid Libraries etc etc.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests