Stagger on two alternating tracks - Bug?

Post questions and find answers on our latest WaveLab releases here.
bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2572
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Stagger on two alternating tracks - Bug?

Post by bob99 »

necromorbus wrote:
Sat Jul 11, 2020 12:09 pm

Further experimentation:
"ar.wav" = 4 tracks
"rd.wav" = 2 tracks
"de.wav" = 2 tracks
"ea.wav" = 2 tracks
"al.wav" = 4 tracks
"at.wav" = 2 tracks
"el.wav" = 5 tracks
"et.wav" = 2 tracks
"e.wav" = 2 tracks
"r.wav" = 4 tracks (shoutout to Justin)
"er.wav" = 5 tracks
"erer.wav" = 5
l. and r. consistently fail in your list (left and right?), but it doesn't necessarily carry over into longer words ending in l and r.

User avatar
necromorbus
Junior Member
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 3:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Stagger on two alternating tracks - Bug?

Post by necromorbus »

bob99 wrote:
Thu Jul 16, 2020 11:07 am
l. and r. consistently fail in your list (left and right?), but it doesn't necessarily carry over into longer words ending in l and r.
It does (check the examples in the paragraph before what you quoted) but I didn't figure out the pattern for it. But since you now mentioned it, I looked at the files that I was experimenting with. The only one that ends with l or r is "Wolves of Ardeal.wav", the very one I had problems with. So, a bit more experimentation:

* Still excluding "Wolves of Ardeal" for now.
* I have one file called "Bleak Prismatic World.wav". Changed it to "Bleak Prismatic Worldl.wav" et voila! Now I get four tracks. Changed it to "Bleak Prismatic Worldr.wav". Same thing, four tracks. Change it back to the original name=back to the correct 2 tracks.
* Including "Wolves of Ardeal.wav" again but changed the name to "Wolves of Ardea.wav". There it is, 2 tracks. Changed it to "Wolves of Arear.wav" and I get 3 tracks.

So "l" or "r" at the end makes the difference.

About the naming and copying text in, I actually encountered something like that the other day where a band had an "Ê" in their band name, which I copied into the meta-data and got something else in the actual mp3 files. I didn't try to actually type it in rather than copy, I should try that.
Cubase 10.5.20 | Wavelab 10 | Win10 64 bit | Intel Core i5 4670K | 8Gb RAM | SSL MadiXtreme64 | SSL Alphalink AX

http://www.nbs.audio

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2572
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Stagger on two alternating tracks - Bug?

Post by bob99 »

necromorbus wrote:
Thu Jul 16, 2020 11:24 am

* I have one file called "Bleak Prismatic World.wav". Changed it to "Bleak Prismatic Worldl.wav" et voila! Now I get four tracks. Changed it to "Bleak Prismatic Worldr.wav". Same thing, four tracks. Change it back to the original name=back to the correct 2 tracks.
* Including "Wolves of Ardeal.wav" again but changed the name to "Wolves of Ardea.wav". There it is, 2 tracks. Changed it to "Wolves of Arear.wav" and I get 3 tracks.

So "l" or "r" at the end makes the difference.
Right, in those cases and some other cases, but I'm pretty sure I tried it with some other longer titles ending in l or r (sorry can't remember them offhand), and they came out ok, so I thought it was more complicated than just any title ending in l or r. Besides, it probably would have happened much more often if it was just a case of all titles ending in l or r.

User avatar
necromorbus
Junior Member
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 3:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Stagger on two alternating tracks - Bug?

Post by necromorbus »

Putting it to the test now. Using different sets of files, randomly changing names and adding in r or l as the last letter. In every case so far, the result is multiple extra tracks.

EDIT: Also, in file sets that have one or more files ending with l and/or r, I get extra tracks, and renaming the files removing the l and/or r consistently makes it work as it should.
Cubase 10.5.20 | Wavelab 10 | Win10 64 bit | Intel Core i5 4670K | 8Gb RAM | SSL MadiXtreme64 | SSL Alphalink AX

http://www.nbs.audio

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2572
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Stagger on two alternating tracks - Bug?

Post by bob99 »

necromorbus wrote:
Thu Jul 16, 2020 8:57 pm
Putting it to the test now. Using different sets of files, randomly changing names and adding in r or l as the last letter. In every case so far, the result is multiple extra tracks.
What if you find another project that has a filename that already ends in l or r, so you're not changing names to add or remove l and r?

User avatar
necromorbus
Junior Member
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 3:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Stagger on two alternating tracks - Bug?

Post by necromorbus »

bob99 wrote:
Thu Jul 16, 2020 9:02 pm
necromorbus wrote:
Thu Jul 16, 2020 8:57 pm
Putting it to the test now. Using different sets of files, randomly changing names and adding in r or l as the last letter. In every case so far, the result is multiple extra tracks.
What if you find another project that has a filename that already ends in l or r, so you're not changing names to add or remove l and r?
That's what I did. They come up on multiple tracks.
Cubase 10.5.20 | Wavelab 10 | Win10 64 bit | Intel Core i5 4670K | 8Gb RAM | SSL MadiXtreme64 | SSL Alphalink AX

http://www.nbs.audio

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2572
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Stagger on two alternating tracks - Bug?

Post by bob99 »

necromorbus wrote:
Thu Jul 16, 2020 10:14 pm
That's what I did. They come up on multiple tracks.
I guess you're right. I can't reproduce what I was talking about, so I guess the problem is any filenames that end in l or r, unless somebody finds otherwise.

User avatar
Justin P
Senior Member
Posts: 2785
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:49 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Contact:

Re: Stagger on two alternating tracks - Bug?

Post by Justin P »

So crazy that in my 10 years of using WaveLab, this only happened once and it was not long after the original post. Either it's a new bug, or necromorbus found a needle in a haystack.

My takeaway here is that if it ever happens again, play with the file naming, or deal with reorganizing the files on two tracks as intended.

Hopefully when PG has time he can look into the true cause of it.
https://www.mysteryroommastering.com/https://www.justincarlperkins.com/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/WaveLab/

iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6
Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core i7 (6-Core) • 32GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6

RME AES HDSPe, MUTEC MC-3+ Smart Clock USB, Grace m905, Grace m900

User avatar
avviano
Junior Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 8:57 pm
Contact:

Stagger on two alternating tracks - Definetly a Bug?

Post by avviano »

Hi Everyone,

I had the same issue. I had 18 wave files I was trying to import, but Wavelab [10.0.40 - build 127] just keeps scattering the files on multiple tracks (10 in all). No matter what I tried, I couldn't get it to stagger the files on two tracks as advertised.

Here's the link to the video: https://streamable.com/8p2z7e

After playing around with the filenames I got it to work. I also found out what the problem was: I've tried multiple file naming conventions and it seems that Wavelab doesn't like a dash in combination with L, R, C and S at the end of the filename (no space). So anything like Master-C.wav or Master-L.wav will not work. Master_C.wav (with underscore) will work and Master - C (dash with space) will also work. Also, L and R work neither with dash nor underscore.

The rule for C, which doesn't work with - (dash) but works with _ (underscore)

-C at the end of filename, does not work (dash, no space)
_C at the end of filename, works (underscore, no space)
_ C at the end of filename, works (underscore with space)
- C at the end of filename, works (dash with space)
C at the end of filename, works (space, no dash, no underscore)

The rule for S, which doesn't work with - (dash) but works with _ (underscore)

-S at the end of filename, does not work (dash, no space)
_S at the end of filename, works (underscore, no space)
_ S at the end of filename, works (underscore with space)
- S at the end of filename, works (dash with space)
S at the end of filename, works (space, no dash, no underscore)

Special exception for L, which works neither with - (dash) nor _ (underscore)

-L at the end of filename, does not work (dash, no space)
_L at the end of filename, doesn't work either (underscore, no space)
_ L at the end of filename, works (underscore with space)
- L at the end of filename, works (dash with space)
L at the end of filename, works (space, no dash, no underscore)

Special exception for R, which works neither with - or _

-R at the end of filename, does not work (dash, no space)
_R at the end of filename, doesn't work either (underscore, no space)
_ R at the end of filename, works (underscore with space)
- R at the end of filename, works (dash with space)
R at the end of filename, works (space, no dash, no underscore)

I actually went through the whole alphabet to see which letters work and which once will not work.

To avoid the bug: When using a dash with a letter at the end of your filename, either add a space between the dash and the letter or use "underscore" instead of a dash. Using a dash with either the letter C, L, R or S (caps or small) without a space (between dash and letter) at the end of a filename will cause the "stagger on two tracks" feature in WaveLab to fail. Also, L and R don't work with dash or underscore. All of the four letters will work when a space is added.

The easiest way to avoid problems, is to use dash or underscore in combination with numbers instead of letters (to designate filename version at the end of filenames). So ending your filename with "master-1" or "master_01" or "master 01" will always work.

Cheers!
Last edited by avviano on Sat Sep 19, 2020 1:47 pm, edited 5 times in total.
Nuendo 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Absolute Collection 4 (Halion 6). UR-824, Yamaha HS7 W, Yamaha Subwoofer, Lorenz Acoustic Studio F1-80 (1979!), Cubase Midi / Key Command Controller: Stream Deck XL. Programmable studio mouse: Roccat Tyon.

Win 10, i7-4790 CPU, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX 970.

Website: https://www.avviano.com
Songs: https://soundcloud.com/avviano/tracks

User avatar
necromorbus
Junior Member
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 3:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Stagger on two alternating tracks - Definetly a Bug?

Post by necromorbus »

avviano wrote:
Sat Sep 19, 2020 4:28 am
Hi Everyone,

I have the same issue. I have 18 wave files I am trying to import, but Wavelab [10.0.40 - build 127] just keeps scattering the files on multiple tracks (10 in all). No matter what I try, I cant get it to stagger the files on two tracks as advertised.

I cannot re-create the filename behavior btw.

Here's the link to the video: https://streamable.com/8p2z7e

Cheers!
I can see at least one of your files is ending with "L"
Cubase 10.5.20 | Wavelab 10 | Win10 64 bit | Intel Core i5 4670K | 8Gb RAM | SSL MadiXtreme64 | SSL Alphalink AX

http://www.nbs.audio

User avatar
avviano
Junior Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 8:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Stagger on two alternating tracks - Bug?

Post by avviano »

Please re-read my post, just updated it. I was able to narrow the issue down to 4 letters in combo with dash and underscore.
Nuendo 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Absolute Collection 4 (Halion 6). UR-824, Yamaha HS7 W, Yamaha Subwoofer, Lorenz Acoustic Studio F1-80 (1979!), Cubase Midi / Key Command Controller: Stream Deck XL. Programmable studio mouse: Roccat Tyon.

Win 10, i7-4790 CPU, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX 970.

Website: https://www.avviano.com
Songs: https://soundcloud.com/avviano/tracks

JimP
Junior Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Stagger on two alternating tracks - Bug?

Post by JimP »

It is too much of a coincidence that the dashed letters at the end of the file names that do not work are?:
(-R)ight
(-L)eft
(-C)entre
(-S)urround

User avatar
avviano
Junior Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 8:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Stagger on two alternating tracks - Bug?

Post by avviano »

Definetly not a coincidence. These are probably reserved by Wavelab...
Nuendo 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Absolute Collection 4 (Halion 6). UR-824, Yamaha HS7 W, Yamaha Subwoofer, Lorenz Acoustic Studio F1-80 (1979!), Cubase Midi / Key Command Controller: Stream Deck XL. Programmable studio mouse: Roccat Tyon.

Win 10, i7-4790 CPU, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX 970.

Website: https://www.avviano.com
Songs: https://soundcloud.com/avviano/tracks

User avatar
necromorbus
Junior Member
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 3:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Stagger on two alternating tracks - Bug?

Post by necromorbus »

I'm getting it regardless of dashes or not, always when an "l" or "r" is at the end. Strange that you are not seeing the same.
Cubase 10.5.20 | Wavelab 10 | Win10 64 bit | Intel Core i5 4670K | 8Gb RAM | SSL MadiXtreme64 | SSL Alphalink AX

http://www.nbs.audio

User avatar
avviano
Junior Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 8:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Stagger on two alternating tracks - Bug?

Post by avviano »

@necromorbus: I tried l and r at the end with and without space and it works absolutely normal. Only when using L and R or l and r with dash or underscore preceding it at the end of the filename does the staggering feature fail. And for C, S it fails only with a dash. And as JimP has remarked, this is most likely connected to some internal Wavelab filename flags for Left, Right, Center and Surround. I'm certain for the Wavelab Dev team it's no issue to fix, now that we have narrowed it down. A moderator just needs to make a bug report or CAN entry...

If you want me to recreate your issue with l and r, please post a video in which I can see your filenames. My guess is, you have a dash or underscore somewhere preceding the letter r or l (or a dash before c or s). If you have a filename with dash-r and one r without, it will still fail. But it will fail because of the former not the latter. Wavelab will stagger correctly until the file name with above criteria comes up, then it fails and starts staggering on multiple tracks. So its pretty simple to narrow it down.
Nuendo 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Absolute Collection 4 (Halion 6). UR-824, Yamaha HS7 W, Yamaha Subwoofer, Lorenz Acoustic Studio F1-80 (1979!), Cubase Midi / Key Command Controller: Stream Deck XL. Programmable studio mouse: Roccat Tyon.

Win 10, i7-4790 CPU, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX 970.

Website: https://www.avviano.com
Songs: https://soundcloud.com/avviano/tracks

User avatar
necromorbus
Junior Member
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 3:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Stagger on two alternating tracks - Bug?

Post by necromorbus »

avviano wrote:
Sat Sep 19, 2020 5:32 pm
@necromorbus: I tried l and r at the end with and without space and it works absolutely normal. Only when using L and R or l and r with dash or underscore preceding it at the end of the filename does the staggering feature fail. And for C, S it fails only with a dash. And as JimP has remarked, this is most likely connected to some internal Wavelab filename flags for Left, Right, Center and Surround. I'm certain for the Wavelab Dev team it's no issue to fix, now that we have narrowed it down. A moderator just needs to make a bug report or CAN entry...

If you want me to recreate your issue with l and r, please post a video in which I can see your filenames. My guess is, you have a dash or underscore somewhere preceding the letter r or l (or a dash before c or s). If you have a filename with dash-r and one r without, it will still fail. But it will fail because of the former not the latter. Wavelab will stagger correctly until the file name with above criteria comes up, then it fails and starts staggering on multiple tracks. So its pretty simple to narrow it down.
See my previous posts for examples of file names that have caused issues. No dashes or underscores or spaces before the last letter.
Cubase 10.5.20 | Wavelab 10 | Win10 64 bit | Intel Core i5 4670K | 8Gb RAM | SSL MadiXtreme64 | SSL Alphalink AX

http://www.nbs.audio

User avatar
avviano
Junior Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 8:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Stagger on two alternating tracks - Bug?

Post by avviano »

I tried the filename "Wolves of Ardeal.wav" and it worked as it should for me. So I wasnt able to recreate that.

You could try to clear any xml chunk tags in your wavs, in case you are using broadcast WAV that have tags. Not sure if that can be an issue. I was able to rule it out as an issue in my tests, but it might be worth a try. You could also post your wav that is causing issues, and I can take a closer look at it.

You could also try importing the wavs from a different folder or hard drive (just to rule out any "external factors").
Nuendo 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Absolute Collection 4 (Halion 6). UR-824, Yamaha HS7 W, Yamaha Subwoofer, Lorenz Acoustic Studio F1-80 (1979!), Cubase Midi / Key Command Controller: Stream Deck XL. Programmable studio mouse: Roccat Tyon.

Win 10, i7-4790 CPU, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX 970.

Website: https://www.avviano.com
Songs: https://soundcloud.com/avviano/tracks

User avatar
avviano
Junior Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 8:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Stagger on two alternating tracks - Bug?

Post by avviano »

@necromorbus: Here is a video of your import issue I was trying to recreate using exactly the filenames in your video. As you can see below, it worked fine for me, which leads me to suspect that you are dealing with another issue here (not the filename issue which I described above).

Recreating your Video: https://streamable.com/d85kh1 - WORKS!

Using same filenames but add -r (dash r): https://streamable.com/iaoh0y - FAILS!

Cheers
Nuendo 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Absolute Collection 4 (Halion 6). UR-824, Yamaha HS7 W, Yamaha Subwoofer, Lorenz Acoustic Studio F1-80 (1979!), Cubase Midi / Key Command Controller: Stream Deck XL. Programmable studio mouse: Roccat Tyon.

Win 10, i7-4790 CPU, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX 970.

Website: https://www.avviano.com
Songs: https://soundcloud.com/avviano/tracks

User avatar
necromorbus
Junior Member
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 3:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Stagger on two alternating tracks - Bug?

Post by necromorbus »

I don't work with broadcast wav but I do include XML from Cubase, which is where I do my processing. I tried now to strip all Metadata from the files hoping that it would fix it but still the same result.

I think you're definitely onto something with that it involves L, R, C and S. I tried now with another set of files that funnily enough contains files ending in all these four letters. The result is that I'm getting 6x tracks: first track is with a file ending with L, second track a file ending in S, third track with a file ending in C, fourth track with a file ending in R, and the last two tracks (5-6) containing all the other files. So it definitely seems like Wavelab is splitting up the files in belief that it's multi-channel file sets.

I can't post any of the wavs I'm afraid, don't think the labels would be very happy about that. ;)

EDIT: I think I found it! It seems to be dependent on the settings for how Wavelab handles dual mono files. In Preferences>Audio Files, in the "Dual Mono File Identification", I recently changed what I THINK might be the default setting in "Name Interpretation #1" from "-L" and "-R" to simply "L" and "R" when I was messing around a bit with dual mono files. I now changed these back to "-L" and "-R" and now my files are working as expected. If I now change the name of any of the files to include for example "-R", it ends up on its own track. Note that this happens regardless of if the "Allow Opening of Dual Mono Files" box is ticked or not.

As a side note: Selecting any of the "Name Interpretation #5" or #6 or #7 crashes the application for me.
Cubase 10.5.20 | Wavelab 10 | Win10 64 bit | Intel Core i5 4670K | 8Gb RAM | SSL MadiXtreme64 | SSL Alphalink AX

http://www.nbs.audio

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7903
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Stagger on two alternating tracks - Bug?

Post by PG »

Sorry for the late answer on the topic.
Indeed, file suffixes used for surrounded files cause the problem.
This will be fixed in the upcoming 10.0.50 update.
Philippe

User avatar
necromorbus
Junior Member
Posts: 150
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 3:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Stagger on two alternating tracks - Bug?

Post by necromorbus »

PG wrote:
Mon Sep 21, 2020 9:18 am
Sorry for the late answer on the topic.
Indeed, file suffixes used for surrounded files causes the problem.
This will be fixed in upcoming 10.0.50 update.
Very good to hear, thank you for the update PG.
Cubase 10.5.20 | Wavelab 10 | Win10 64 bit | Intel Core i5 4670K | 8Gb RAM | SSL MadiXtreme64 | SSL Alphalink AX

http://www.nbs.audio

User avatar
avviano
Junior Member
Posts: 164
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2016 8:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Stagger on two alternating tracks - Bug?

Post by avviano »

Yes, thank you. Good to hear it will be fixed soon...
Nuendo 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Absolute Collection 4 (Halion 6). UR-824, Yamaha HS7 W, Yamaha Subwoofer, Lorenz Acoustic Studio F1-80 (1979!), Cubase Midi / Key Command Controller: Stream Deck XL. Programmable studio mouse: Roccat Tyon.

Win 10, i7-4790 CPU, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX 970.

Website: https://www.avviano.com
Songs: https://soundcloud.com/avviano/tracks

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab Pro 10 | WaveLab Elements 10”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest