Primary beams

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
dclose88
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2018 11:20 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Primary beams

Post by dclose88 »

Hi -

Is there a way to set the number of primary beams? I've attached a jpg of what I want to accomplish. I've set Notation Options to "Allow rests within beams, maintain secondary beams, but it doesn't change anything, or affect notes entered after I made the change.

Thank you.
Attachments
Riisager Etudes 13.jpg
(547.81 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Rob Tuley
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3903
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 12:41 am

Re: Primary beams

Post by Rob Tuley »

You want "Preserve secondary beams over rests where possible" in Notation Options.
Attachments
secondary beam groups.png
(114.24 KiB) Not downloaded yet

dclose88
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2018 11:20 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: Primary beams

Post by dclose88 »

Thanks for your response. I can't find that option anywhere. I'm using v3.1. Is there a later version of Dorico that might have this option?

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5514
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Primary beams

Post by dankreider »

Yes, it was added in 3.5.
Dan Kreider
hymnworks.com
dankreider.com/dorico-resources
Dorico 3.5.11, Windows 10

dclose88
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2018 11:20 pm
Location: Seattle, WA
Contact:

Re: Primary beams

Post by dclose88 »

Thanks for the quick response. Is there any way to do it in v3.1, maybe with a time signature?

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5514
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Primary beams

Post by dankreider »

dclose88 wrote:
Wed Jul 15, 2020 3:19 am
Thanks for the quick response. Is there any way to do it in v3.1, maybe with a time signature?
Not as I recall. It was a niche, but a real problem for those who needed it.
Dan Kreider
hymnworks.com
dankreider.com/dorico-resources
Dorico 3.5.11, Windows 10

Rob Tuley
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3903
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 12:41 am

Re: Primary beams

Post by Rob Tuley »

IIRC there was a messy work round. Add stemlets, and then change their length in engrave mode so they are invisible.

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Québ and 11 guests