Staff with no instrument

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
Dave111
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2020 3:58 pm
Contact:

Staff with no instrument

Post by Dave111 »

Hi,

How do people approach writing simple exercises for one clef or grand staff?

Do you just pick an instrument written for that clef and then hide the instrument name? Or is there an option for a staff somewhere with just a clef and no associated instrument?

Just getting started with Dorico.

Thanks.

Dave

Rob Tuley
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3923
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 12:41 am

Re: Staff with no instrument

Post by Rob Tuley »

Hide the staff labels using Layout Options. See the attachment.

You can't have a staff with "no associated instrument", because if you had that, Dorico wouldn't know how to play it - and telling Dorico how to play it would be the same as associating an instrument with it.
Attachments
staff labels.png
(98.18 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Dave111
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2020 3:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Staff with no instrument

Post by Dave111 »

thanks

Dave111
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2020 3:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Staff with no instrument

Post by Dave111 »

I guess I will just use piano, voice, or strings and then hide them.

User avatar
Romanos401
Senior Member
Posts: 1680
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:18 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Staff with no instrument

Post by Romanos401 »

You technically *can* have plain staves if you go into engrave mode and drag out a frame and choose to populate it with blank staves from the little drop down selector at the top of the music frame box. That said, it wouldn't have a clef assigned to it. So depending on the context, it may be more useful to use the music frame option in engraving mode rather than the assign and hide approach. I'd guess for some worksheets it will end up being a combination of both.
🎵 Director of Sacred Music, Organist, Choral Conductor, Composer; Adjunct Organ Instructor at Goshen College
💾 Dorico 3.5 pro, Noteperformer, Hauptwerk 5 Advanced, StudioOne pro 4.6, On1 2020, FinalCut Pro, Camtasia, Wavelab Elements
🖥 iMac w/32gb ram, MacMini w/16gb ram, Stream Deck (& SDXL), SaffirePro40, NuForce uDAC
🎹 Alesis VI 61, 3m Organ Console

Dave111
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2020 3:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Staff with no instrument

Post by Dave111 »

thanks for the info. I'm trying that now. It seems like I need to have a player first to drag a frame out?

Dave111
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2020 3:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Staff with no instrument

Post by Dave111 »

It keeps crashing when I try to add empty kit :(

Rob Tuley
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3923
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 12:41 am

Re: Staff with no instrument

Post by Rob Tuley »


Dave111
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2020 3:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Staff with no instrument

Post by Dave111 »

thanks

Dave111
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2020 3:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Staff with no instrument

Post by Dave111 »

ok so seems like with blank staves you can't add any notes or cleffs or anything?

Rob Tuley
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3923
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 12:41 am

Re: Staff with no instrument

Post by Rob Tuley »

Yes, that is what the option is for. See the version 3.5 release notes, "Hollywood style parts" and "Blank staves," pages 35-37.

Dave111
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2020 3:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Staff with no instrument

Post by Dave111 »

thanks

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: hamhm3, lafin and 10 guests