VST Instruments issue

Use this forum for an overview of issues and to report new ones.
Post Reply
TaylorG
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2020 12:51 pm
Contact:

VST Instruments issue

Post by TaylorG »

Hello, i have Cubase 10 Pro and for 3-4 months, when i select ''VST Instruments'' on the right ''Media'' bar, the whole application freezes. So i have to close it, open it again and i can't select any Vst Instrument any more.

Please help me
Thank you

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23824
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Instruments issue

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

Are you on Mac or Windows, please?

If you are on Windows, use Microsoft ProcDump utility, please, to generate a DMP file. Then share it via Dropbox (or similar) here, please.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

TaylorG
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2020 12:51 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Instruments issue

Post by TaylorG »

Hello, thank you for your response. Yes i'm on windows and this is the link of the DMP file.
https://www.sendspace.com/file/8zjgze

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23824
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Instruments issue

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

I have resolved the DMP file, what leads me to some more questions.

- Did you make your custom pictures of some VST Instruments? Do you have some custom pictures in the VST Instruments Rack?
- How old is your USB-eLicenser? Do you have the latest one or some of the older one?
- How is your USB-eLicenser connected? Do you use USB-hub? Is it connected to USB3 port or USB2?

Could you try to start eLCC and trigger Maintenance?

Could you try in Cubase Safe Start Mode [Disable preferences], please?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

TaylorG
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2020 12:51 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Instruments issue

Post by TaylorG »

Thank you again.
I tried in ''Cubase Safe Start Mode'' (Disable preferences) and still i have the same problem.
- No i didn't make my own costum pictures or other costum pictures in the Vst instruments.
- I bought my USB-eLicenser 1 year ago, with Cubase 10 Pro and i don't know if it's the latest one.
- My USB-eLicenser is connected to a USB 3.0 port.

How can i start eLCC and trigger maintenance?

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23824
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Instruments issue

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

Thank you for the details.

Right-click to the eLCC application and choose Start as Administrator. While eLCC application start you are asked to trigger the Maintenance. Do so, please.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

TaylorG
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2020 12:51 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Instruments issue

Post by TaylorG »

Yes i did it. I still have the same issue.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23824
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Instruments issue

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

Reported to Steinberg CAN-30391
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Joerg
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 11:23 am
Contact:

Re: VST Instruments issue

Post by Joerg »

I looked at the dump file. Cubase got stuck reading a file from the vstsound container: "FCP_SMT_790_Padshop2_Presets.vstsound".

I have it installed here:
C:\ProgramData\Steinberg\Content\VST Sound\FCP_SMT_790_Padshop2_Presets.vstsound

Could you please temporarily remove it and check again?
Jörg Hoinkis, Senior Software Developer, Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH

Joerg
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 11:23 am
Contact:

Re: VST Instruments issue

Post by Joerg »

TaylorG wrote:
Sun Jul 12, 2020 2:42 pm
Yes i did it. I still have the same issue.
Hi! I sent you a pm, offering a beta installer to update the protection components. Please let us know if you still run into the issue and if you want to install the updated eLicenser, in case I will not read my forum mail, here is the link: https://download.steinberg.net/static_c ... lSetup.exe

Best regards,
Joerg
Jörg Hoinkis, Senior Software Developer, Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH

Joerg
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 11:23 am
Contact:

Re: VST Instruments issue

Post by Joerg »

We will close the investigations because of missing feedback.
Jörg Hoinkis, Senior Software Developer, Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH

Joerg
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 11:23 am
Contact:

Re: VST Instruments issue

Post by Joerg »

Private reply from TaylorG:
TaylorG wrote:
Wed Aug 05, 2020 9:26 pm
Hello, thank you for the link, but i still have the same problem
Still unclear if removal of the archive would change anything.

Internal reference: see CAN-30391
Jörg Hoinkis, Senior Software Developer, Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest