VST Connect Pro setup sucks

All topics on the VST Connect products and Studio Pass
Post Reply
mpeets
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 22, 2015 4:09 pm
Contact:

VST Connect Pro setup sucks

Post by mpeets »

We’ve been trying for years to get VST Connect to work. What VST Connect Pro, Cubase 10.5, and the Performer app together can do sounds good, but getting things to actually work is a real challenge even carefully following the setup instructions and trouble shooting guide. As an app developer, I have to say the setup is overly complicated and not worth the effort, especially if you use Cubase principally for non-VST Connect projects. It is based on eight year old technology presented and sold as the latest technology. It’s lipstick on a pig, I conclude. With today’s technology, connecting up a “performer” with a Cubase “studio” needs to be a lot simpler and reliable.

We’ve been using Cubase for more than fifteen years. It is a great product. At the moment for most of our projects we have Cubase 10.5 on a beefed up iMac, with a UR44, and various instruments/mics flowing through a Yamaha TF5. We get quality recordings and have for years. But adding VST Connect Pro into a project requires you to abandon your usual inputs/outputs configuration. If you do manage to get VST Connect Pro to work, or should I say almost work, and then save the project, it seems you have to do major configuration surgery to get back to a regular project. Steinberg needs to make the configuration save with the project. And, yes, I know you can use individual presets for Inputs/Outputs/Studio, but I think that is not only stupid, but it doesn’t work well. What would be better is a template for a VST Connect project and a template for a non-VST Connect project, with the Inputs/Outputs/Studio configurations saved in the template, thus making it real easy to switch project types. The “Repair” menu button was a good idea, but it does not work for anything other than some simple Cubase-on-a-laptop setup in your bedroom.

Support for VST Connect Pro, at least here in Canada, is very poor. The Yamaha tech in Toronto does not have sufficient knowledge to provide support for VST Connect Pro. After much frustration, I have requested the tech remote to my iMac and do whatever is necessary to make VST Connect work with my remote performers. The answer to the request was to go to the forum. So, here I am. If these folks don’t get this product to work real soon, I suppose my next step will be small claims court.

dr
Member
Posts: 940
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: VST Connect Pro setup sucks

Post by dr »

Instead of just whining about how YOU can't get it to work and, even though you don't understand it, posting a lots of incorrect information..... why not post your problems and people on this forum will try to help you getting up and running

alanharvey
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 12:53 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Connect Pro setup sucks

Post by alanharvey »

@ mpeets:
I know from personal experience that spending hours trying to get this thing working is frustrating and often anger-inducing. However I found that if you take the time to calmly set out on here the specific problems you are encountering then you will find the development team and the community will be willing and able to help you. After a lot of frustration In the early days I am now productively using this system daily, not completely without issues, but productively. WithIn the context of lockdown it’s a game-changer.

Alan

User avatar
musicullum
Senior Member
Posts: 1119
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Connect Pro setup sucks

Post by musicullum »

I do understand that when you dive into it, it's not so simple. This is due to the fact that VST Connect has to install some 'quirks' in order to work entirely with plugins, as we cannot integrate it deeper into Cubase/Nuendo yet. But we keep working on that and on making it as transparent as possible, such that it feels as much as a regular Studio recording as can be acheived.
We are here to help directly and we can tell from the data that the vast majority is using it at least for longer periods time which indicates that it works for them. The "Create VST Connect" function helps to make it a one-stop setup as long as you don't mess with it.
Most problems are related to network quality; people accept continuous hiccups with zoom or Skype and the likes, but not with VST connect. Also again and again they use other network tools like those mentioned, or teamspeak, or "remote to my iMac"...not a good idea along with VST Connect. If you haven't been there yet, we suggest to have a closer look at this collection of recommendations and troubleshooting (also latest versions): https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... 0012899079
Another problematic area is that most users are not familiar with the Control Room. They have been recording themselves for years, but since the early days of broadcast, the Control Room system with cue, talkback, dim etc has been mandatory for recording somebody "next room". Once you get the hang of it, it's actually quite easy to set up and use.
So, "connecting up a “performer” with a Cubase “studio” needs to be a lot simpler and reliable."...here, I create an empty project, apply "Create VST Connect (PRO)", Performer starts VST Connect Performer and we connect by double-clicking friends name after login on either side (or use ID method). What would you suggest to make it "simpler"? It also works reliably even with a connection half around the globe, but network quality (not speed, nor bandwith) and avoiding other network-intensive apps are of concern. And as said, we're here to help and take suggestions.
musi

basicX
Member
Posts: 207
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 9:35 am
Contact:

Re: VST Connect Pro setup sucks

Post by basicX »

@mpeets

hey, first of all please be kind and nice to everybody. I also understand your frustration, we all do!
Personally, i work very intensively with VST Connect (and the Performer APP) and yes there are some issues here and there, but the development guys are very kind and very helpfull over here! Not to mention all the other here in the forum!
I managed to work with VST Connect in a way that almost no other tool can do. If you need help to integrate it into your routing/ workflow let us know. I also integrated it in my starting Template/ Workflow and it is not really as VST Connet would set it up by itselfe, so it is for sure possible to have it integrated and have it work!

So just give us a detailed routung setup, and maybe explain your session template and I/we will be very happy to help you!
Even some test connections could be arranged.

As we germans say: "it never hurts be be nice in the first place", please calm a bit down and lets talk about it and get it sorted ;-)!

cheers
Studios: Nuendo 10.3, Cubase 10 Pro, PT 11.3.1
I/O: Full blown Focusrite RedNet Setup. 3xRed4pre, 2xRed x2p
Plugins from Sonnox, Waves, iZotope, UAD, Plugin Alliance Mega Pack, and so on...)

Windows 10 Pro x64
Main System from Digital Audio Networx
Intel i9 14core, Gigabyte, 64GB Ram, GF 1050ti, UAD Quad, 3 * Avid Artis Mix

Pro Audio Broadcast Post for german and international clients
www.media-atelier.tv

joechip
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 10:04 am
Contact:

Re: VST Connect Pro setup sucks

Post by joechip »

HI Musicullum,

So it appears that you are one of the developers. And you asked the question - What would you suggest to make it simpler? You proceeded this by giving a breakdown of the connecttion/setup process:

"connecting up a “performer” with a Cubase “studio” needs to be a lot simpler and reliable."...here, I create an empty project, apply "Create VST Connect (PRO)", Performer starts VST Connect Performer and we connect by double-clicking friends name after login on either side (or use ID method).

Actually this is what the manual/videos need. This kind of simple outline is the kind of thing someone who has been involved with anything for extended periods often fails to appreciate a need for. For example, I would posit that the various ID, >- buttons on the VST connect GUI and complication of either the Steinberg email/password or ID login are not clear. And, the manual does not clearly explain the ID method, or the studio key process.

You have people with problems, and yes they are frustrated and yes that often brings out the worst in people, but they are also getting upset for a reason.

Joe

User avatar
musicullum
Senior Member
Posts: 1119
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Connect Pro setup sucks

Post by musicullum »

You are right about lack of proper documentation. We asked for it, but Corona got in the way.
The ID method was the initial one. We then added the "VST Transit" way to simplify it. I think that's ok, it's obvious that you log in at the top right, get presented a "search" page immediately and then double-click the friends name, seems not so hard. Admittedly, if that fails, and the ID method is recommended, it's a bit harder, but then that is covered in the manual and several posts here.
We are also planning a new UI altogether which - of course, along with better documentation - should make things even simpler. It just takes time and resources are limited, sorry for that. At least said link should provide every known information whatsoever.
musi

rikaar
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 2:54 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Connect Pro setup sucks

Post by rikaar »

An Issue in Cubase Pro 10:

When i connect to VST Connect with my "MxSteinberg" Account, it seems to work, but the green light, on the right side, want lighten up! I can see my partner (he also uses Cuabse 10 Pro) in the "Network / Friends list" with a blue light in front of his name, but if we want connect, an failure pops up: "Friend is running VST Connect. Connection is not possible"! Can anyone help us with this problem? Thank you

We just start to try this tool and don´t know really nothing about it!

My bro has to hear and see the actual project, in his cubase 10 pro. We want work togehter on that project. We just use Vst Plug ins and some Hardware synth. We don´t need to record voices or guitars from, not yet!

dr
Member
Posts: 940
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: VST Connect Pro setup sucks

Post by dr »

Best start a new thread :)

The way VST connect works is that one side (the studio) uses Cubase/Nuendo and the other side uses the FREE VST connect Performer application. You cannot BOTH use cubase.

As both of you have cubase then you can just install:

https://www.steinberg.net/index.php?id= ... ct_pro&L=1

You really do need to read the documentation - both the PDF and this page:

https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... 0012899079

Note that even though you don't want to record voices or guitars - you're probably going to want microphones and webcams at both sides so you can use the video conferencing features..you could get away without them but it's worth setting them up.

rikaar
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 2:54 pm
Contact:

Re: VST Connect Pro setup sucks

Post by rikaar »

Ok :) Thnaks you for repplying!

We checked it out with the performer. And yeah it worked. Juhu! And in combination with "Team Viewer" we can work nicely togehter.

Cool

Post Reply

Return to “VST Connect”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests