locate when clic on empty space = everywhere !

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Nuendo 10 can be posted here.
Post Reply
sylvainmoreau
Member
Posts: 589
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:05 pm
Contact:

locate when clic on empty space = everywhere !

Post by sylvainmoreau »

Hi,

When this option is selected in pref it still does not work for :
  • clic in a track that is not active (or it's automations / part lanes)
  • clic in loudness track (wich is annoying because when you read the loundess level you want to clic on some parts to see what's going on there.. wich you can't do on the loudness track)(also makes no sense as there's nothing you can edit with your mouse in that track so no risk to randomly affect anything by clicking in wrong place)
  • clic on empty space in key/sample edit window... such a waste of time to move up to timeline then move cursor back down the window to edit..
drives me mad for years
nuendo 10.2.10 / rme fireface 802 / rme Fireface UC/ W10x64 / 16ram / i7 2600k / P67A-UD3P-B3 / AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series

User avatar
SoundAvenue
Junior Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2019 10:53 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: locate when clic on empty space = everywhere !

Post by SoundAvenue »

+1
Sound Designer and Composer
https://www.soundavenue.ch/en/

Mac Pro 2019 3.2 GHz 16-Core Intel Xeon W - GPU AMD Radeon Pro 580X 8 GB - OS 10.15.4
Apogee Ensemble Thunderbolt - Nuendo 10.2.20

klant
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2020 7:00 pm
Contact:

Re: locate when clic on empty space = everywhere !

Post by klant »

+1

McSound
Member
Posts: 210
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 11:48 pm
Contact:

Re: locate when clic on empty space = everywhere !

Post by McSound »

+1
Nuendo 10.3, Samplitude ProX5, Win 10x64 pro, i9900k, 32Gb, 512m2SSD, Gigabyte RTX2080Super , Blackmagic DeckLink Mini Monitor, Presonus VSL1818, 3 FullHD monitors, 1 FullHD TV, Avid Artist Control v2, Liine Lemur, Metagrid, Yamaha MOX8 keyboard

Niekbeem
Member
Posts: 747
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 9:19 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: locate when clic on empty space = everywhere !

Post by Niekbeem »

+1
Nuendo 10 / Pro Tools Ultimate / Logic X / MixBus32C 5 / WaveLab 10
MacPro 5.1: 12Core 3.46GHz Intel Xeon/ 48GB RAM/ Mac OSX 10.13
MacBook Pro: 2.9 GHz Intel Core i9/ 32 GB RAM/ Mac OSX 10.14
MetricHalo ULN8 + 2882 / RME HDSPe MadiFace
Euphonix MC Pro

Centralmusic
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5646
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: locate when clic on empty space = everywhere !

Post by Centralmusic »

+1
need this 24/7 in > Midi Key Editor !
e.g.
!!! NOTE: This is a user forum. It's from users to users. This is not a technical support forum. Therefore sometime some Steinberg employees appear here and help the users. !!!
"Do you already know the manual?"
Kennst du schon das Handbuch?"

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4352
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: locate when clic on empty space = everywhere !

Post by MattiasNYC »

+1,000,000
Nuendo 10.3 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 2004 build 19041.450 / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

skipbeats
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 4:51 pm
Contact:

Re: locate when clic on empty space = everywhere !

Post by skipbeats »

Can't you set the position with a tool modifier? Works over here. In Midi editor and in the Arrange window everywhere.
(go to: Preferences - Tool Modifiers - Pointer tool - then set a special key for "set position"... It's option+shift here...)

sylvainmoreau
Member
Posts: 589
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:05 pm
Contact:

Re: locate when clic on empty space = everywhere !

Post by sylvainmoreau »

10.3 aaaaand..
nop

actually wait... omg now it's worse !
with the combine tool you have to clic in the lower mid of any tracks /except loudness / oh you can locate on 1/2 bottom or markers.. what a headache.

so mutliple tool is inspired from protools. but i remember correctly in protools the range tool also sets the locator .. correct ?
i mean if you just clic and let go (without draging) why wouldn't nuendo set the locator at that position (i'm sure protools does this now)
nuendo 10.2.10 / rme fireface 802 / rme Fireface UC/ W10x64 / 16ram / i7 2600k / P67A-UD3P-B3 / AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series

wasweißich
Junior Member
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 4:16 pm
Contact:

Re: locate when clic on empty space = everywhere !

Post by wasweißich »

This was also my hope that this would be added in 10.3. Pro Tools has got this function where you can position the playhead to a specific timecode no matter where you click with the mouse, whether on empty space or on an audio clip. But this is very important if you use Nuendo for audio post production. Therewith it's possible to be much faster.

sylvainmoreau
Member
Posts: 589
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:05 pm
Contact:

Re: locate when clic on empty space = everywhere !

Post by sylvainmoreau »

... yep protool still faster on editing audio.. fades... Haven't used it for a decade but i remember editing audio was so fluid fast accurate... Never had this with nuendo 🙄
nuendo 10.2.10 / rme fireface 802 / rme Fireface UC/ W10x64 / 16ram / i7 2600k / P67A-UD3P-B3 / AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series

Centralmusic
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5646
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: locate when clic on empty space = everywhere !

Post by Centralmusic »

skipbeats wrote:
Thu Jun 11, 2020 11:43 am
Can't you set the position with a tool modifier? Works over here. In Midi editor and in the Arrange window everywhere.
(go to: Preferences - Tool Modifiers - Pointer tool - then set a special key for "set position"... It's option+shift here...)
THIS WORKS !
Prefs > Modifiers > Pointer Tool "set special key..."
(I use SHIFT for this e.g.)

thank you!
!!! NOTE: This is a user forum. It's from users to users. This is not a technical support forum. Therefore sometime some Steinberg employees appear here and help the users. !!!
"Do you already know the manual?"
Kennst du schon das Handbuch?"

sylvainmoreau
Member
Posts: 589
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:05 pm
Contact:

Re: locate when clic on empty space = everywhere !

Post by sylvainmoreau »

Centralmusic wrote:
Wed Jun 17, 2020 7:53 am
Prefs > Modifiers > Pointer Tool "set special key..."
(I use SHIFT for this e.g.)
sorry can't find Modifiers > Pointer Tool "set special key
you mean Editing > Tools modifiers > select tools ? something like that ? can't find "Pointer Tool"
nuendo 10.2.10 / rme fireface 802 / rme Fireface UC/ W10x64 / 16ram / i7 2600k / P67A-UD3P-B3 / AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series

delta
New Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 2:51 am
Contact:

Re: locate when clic on empty space = everywhere !

Post by delta »

Try this:

Preferences - Tool modifier - Select tool - set position -
Modifier = CTRL

I use the CTRL modifier but ALT will also work

Delta

McSound
Member
Posts: 210
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 11:48 pm
Contact:

Re: locate when clic on empty space = everywhere !

Post by McSound »

delta wrote:
Wed Jun 17, 2020 9:42 pm
Try this:

Preferences - Tool modifier - Select tool - set position -
Modifier = CTRL

I use the CTRL modifier but ALT will also work

Delta
Wonderful! Nice tip! It works indeed!
Nuendo 10.3, Samplitude ProX5, Win 10x64 pro, i9900k, 32Gb, 512m2SSD, Gigabyte RTX2080Super , Blackmagic DeckLink Mini Monitor, Presonus VSL1818, 3 FullHD monitors, 1 FullHD TV, Avid Artist Control v2, Liine Lemur, Metagrid, Yamaha MOX8 keyboard

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests