Remove VST Rack Instrument

Discussions about VST Instruments and VST plug-ins from other manufacturers
Post Reply
eclipseentertainers
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 3:16 am
Contact:

Remove VST Rack Instrument

Post by eclipseentertainers »

in Cubase 8 Artist, how do you remove a Rack Instrument?

Thank you!

neilwilkes
Senior Member
Posts: 1078
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: Remove VST Rack Instrument

Post by neilwilkes »

This one got me as well.
It's very easy once you know the "secret" though (and believe me, this one had me baffled for a couple of days)

What you have to do is click on the instrument's name in the rack and select "no VST instrument".
See attached GIF file below
VSTi boo-boo.gif
(305.89 KiB) Not downloaded yet
www.opusproductions.com
Intel E5-2687W 8-core Xeon, 32Gb RAM, Windows 7 Pro x64, RME RayDAT, UAD-2 Octo x2 & Quad x2 (fully loaded), Adam A7 x5, WK ID Console
Nuendo 1-6, Cubase 6-7, WaveLab 5-7, DTS/DD encoders, Surround Edition etc, Waves Mercury
Blu-Ray authoring, DVD authoring & high resolution audio specialists.

Detailed Specs on request

ronmartyn
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 11:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Remove VST Rack Instrument

Post by ronmartyn »

Thank you Thank you Thank you. I was looking for an hour before I found this posting

User avatar
ramseysounds
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun May 25, 2014 11:29 am
Contact:

Re: Remove VST Rack Instrument

Post by ramseysounds »

neilwilkes wrote:This one got me as well.
It's very easy once you know the "secret" though (and believe me, this one had me baffled for a couple of days)

What you have to do is click on the instrument's name in the rack and select "no VST instrument".
See attached GIF file below
VSTi boo-boo.gif
This should be a sticky! Had me baffled for ages :D
i5-4690 16 gig Cubase Pro 10.5.12. W10 64 bit
Lots of lovely plug ins

locrian777
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 3:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Remove VST Rack Instrument

Post by locrian777 »

NeilWilkes you are the man! That was no easy to find even though it's in front of you. I was so frustrated until I found this post. You should get some kind of honorary award to helping us!

ganttmann
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 5:21 am
Contact:

Re: Remove VST Rack Instrument

Post by ganttmann »

THANK YOU!

This has had me bewildered for a year!

gantt
neilwilkes wrote:This one got me as well.
It's very easy once you know the "secret" though (and believe me, this one had me baffled for a couple of days)

What you have to do is click on the instrument's name in the rack and select "no VST instrument".
See attached GIF file below
VSTi boo-boo.gif

neilwilkes
Senior Member
Posts: 1078
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: Remove VST Rack Instrument

Post by neilwilkes »

I cannot take the credit - I could not see this either and was told by someone whose name I have sadly forgotten.
www.opusproductions.com
Intel E5-2687W 8-core Xeon, 32Gb RAM, Windows 7 Pro x64, RME RayDAT, UAD-2 Octo x2 & Quad x2 (fully loaded), Adam A7 x5, WK ID Console
Nuendo 1-6, Cubase 6-7, WaveLab 5-7, DTS/DD encoders, Surround Edition etc, Waves Mercury
Blu-Ray authoring, DVD authoring & high resolution audio specialists.

Detailed Specs on request

martytess
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2017 8:44 am
Contact:

Re: Remove VST Rack Instrument

Post by martytess »

The question is, why is it so ridiculously intuitive to do so many things in Cubase? When you right click this and the options come up one should be "remove instrument"...

jbfurlong
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 12:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Remove VST Rack Instrument

Post by jbfurlong »

... and a big THANK YOU from me too!
Intel i7, 16GB
Cubase 10.5 Pro x64, UR44, Komplete Knotrol S49, Steinberg CC121
AMPS:Laney VC30 1-12,
Laptop: i7, 8GB and Steinberg CI2+

gorthkill666
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 1:27 am
Contact:

Re: Remove VST Rack Instrument

Post by gorthkill666 »

neilwilkes wrote:
Mon Apr 06, 2015 10:45 am
This one got me as well.
It's very easy once you know the "secret" though (and believe me, this one had me baffled for a couple of days)

What you have to do is click on the instrument's name in the rack and select "no VST instrument".
See attached GIF file below
VSTi boo-boo.gif
Excellent!!!, your thread help me out.. Too tricky by Steinberg that deletion way design.

Guitarfish
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 8:30 am
Contact:

Re: Remove VST Rack Instrument

Post by Guitarfish »

4 years on from the original, another big THANK YOU :-)
Was driving me mad!
i7 2600, 8Gb, 3 disk drives: Dual boot OS, Samples, Audio
MOTU 828 mk3 hybrid interface
Cubase Studio 5, Reason 2.5, Komplete6

gernotlg
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 9:17 am
Contact:

Re: Remove VST Rack Instrument

Post by gernotlg »

thanks. same... insane.

drek
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2020 8:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Remove VST Rack Instrument

Post by drek »

2020 ... this is still super confusing.

mbiermann
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2017 1:14 am
Contact:

Re: Remove VST Rack Instrument

Post by mbiermann »

LOL bump! Just happened to me as well :lol:

skank
Junior Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 11:54 am
Contact:

Re: Remove VST Rack Instrument

Post by skank »

Something inside me says this should not be so difficult!

Anyway thanks man.
This is not what you think it is./

unions8
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2019 10:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Remove VST Rack Instrument

Post by unions8 »

Please, is there a way to automatically remove unused rack instruments? Thank you in advance.

User avatar
That70srocker
Junior Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 5:32 pm
Location: USA midwest
Contact:

Re: Remove VST Rack Instrument

Post by That70srocker »

This had me stumped at one session too... until I saw "No VST instrument" on the menu list.
i7 6700k @ 4.2GHz, 16GB DDR4, Windows 10x64, 2TB OS, 2TB audio HDs, Cubase 10.5, MOTU 2408 mk3, 1296, MOTU MIDI Express 128
http://www.soundcloud.com/lyndenthal
http://www.soundcloud.com/sleep-distance
http://www.soundcloud.com/eden-concept
http://www.soundcloud.com/rwzblues

Post Reply

Return to “VST Instruments and Virtual Effects (general)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests