(solved) Problem with ADAT optical

All about Steinberg's Advanced Integration DSP Studio MR816 CSX and MR816 X.
Leggy
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:27 pm
Contact:

Re: (solved) Problem with ADAT optical

Post by Leggy »

Very kind. Thanks a lot!
Rob Lord
Stylophonic Music Productions Ltd
www.roblord.com

User avatar
Mikula
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 9:16 pm
Contact:

Re: (solved) Problem with ADAT optical

Post by Mikula »

Hi Leggy,

The updated picture where the ADAT channels are unmuted did the trick for me.. Everything is working fine now.

@Fabio thanks for helping me with this. You're tha man!
- Mac mini i7 2.3 16GB OSX 10.9,
- Thunderbolt chained in following order: (Caldigit T3, LG34UC97, UAD Apollo Twin Duo, UAD Satellite Octo)
- C8, CC121, MR816CSX, Motif XS8, Novation Ultranova, MicrokorgXL, Maschine Studio, Adam A77X
- Lots of instruments and percussion

User avatar
Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 1402
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: (solved) Problem with ADAT optical

Post by Steinberg »

Hello all, just to sum it up:

How to use a Steinberg MR816csx/x as a slave device connected via ADAT to a master device.

In this scenario, a 'master' device is connected to the computer while the MR is used as a 'slave' stand-alone unit.
We will use ADAT / TOSLINK cables to send the signal from the stand-alone MR device to the master device.

-- Install the latest TOOLS for the MR816csx/x http://www.steinberg.net/index.php?id=d ... _mr816&L=1
-- Connect your MR interface to the computer
-- Open the MR Editor
-- Configure the ADAT pairs to output the signal received from the respective MIC inputs:
  • Click on ADAT 1-2
    Pan MIC 1 and 2 hard left and hard right
    Mute the other MIC channels
Proceed in the same fashion for all ADAT pairs and correspondent MIC inputs as per the colour code in the attached screen-shot (MR_Ed_ADAT.png).

Once set up, please close the MixDspFx, the current configuration will be saved.

-- Now, please connect the master device to the computer
-- Connect the ADAT / TOSLINK cables from ADAT OUT on the MR to the ADAT IN on the 'master' device
-- You can either use the BNC-connector or ADAT for Wordclock synchronisation of the devices

You will need to create the proper VST Connections (F4 or Devices -> VST Connections) in Cubase.
Create the desired amount of input tracks and assign them as needed, in the VST_conn.jpg attachment you can see an example with an MR816 connected via ADAT to a UR824.

I hope this is helpful.
Attachments
MR_Ed_ADAT.png
(253.72 KiB) Not downloaded yet
VST_conn.jpg
(524.79 KiB) Not downloaded yet

dust_bg
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 11:16 am
Contact:

Re: (solved) Problem with ADAT optical

Post by dust_bg »

Hi guys,
I'm having same issue.
I want to use my MR816x as ADAT slave device. My master device is UA Apollo Twin.
I think I'm doing everything as it is described in this post and here: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... e-via-ADAT
But I have no audio in my Apollo from ADAT. Can you help me?

Please see attached pictures for details.
steinberg_ADAT_1_2.jpg
(30.46 KiB) Not downloaded yet
mr816x_settings.jpg
(47.54 KiB) Not downloaded yet
UA_settings.jpg
(45.55 KiB) Not downloaded yet

shanabit
Senior Member
Posts: 1309
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: (solved) Problem with ADAT optical

Post by shanabit »

dust_bg wrote:
Mon Mar 16, 2020 12:39 pm
Hi guys,
I'm having same issue.
I want to use my MR816x as ADAT slave device. My master device is UA Apollo Twin.
I think I'm doing everything as it is described in this post and here: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... e-via-ADAT
But I have no audio in my Apollo from ADAT. Can you help me?

Please see attached pictures for details.
steinberg_ADAT_1_2.jpg
mr816x_settings.jpg
UA_settings.jpg

1. Turn up the FADER in the MR Console on the ADAT channels to nominal, CTRL click the fader or Alt click the fader
2. Make sure the Apollo is sending Wordclock out the ADAT cable
3. Make sure the SAMPLE rate is the SAME for the Apollo and the MR
4. MR Wordclock MASTER should be set to ADAT as well and NOT MR

dust_bg
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 11:16 am
Contact:

Re: (solved) Problem with ADAT optical

Post by dust_bg »

Unfortunately I'll not be able to reach my studio soon so I cannot make the changes you tell me. I hope we all get over this Covid soon.
I'm pretty sure that I have only one option in MR Wordclock and it is MR. Am I missing something?

shanabit
Senior Member
Posts: 1309
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: (solved) Problem with ADAT optical

Post by shanabit »

dust_bg wrote:
Fri Mar 20, 2020 4:58 pm
I'm pretty sure that I have only one option in MR Wordclock and it is MR. Am I missing something?
MR has Wordclock IN and OUT using BNC connection. so if not using this dedicated WordClock connection then

You can send Wordclock with the ADAT signal as well. Clock source will be ADAT. Twin should be sending out word clock via DAT as well.

1. ADAT cable going from twin to MR for Wordclock connection
2. ADAT cable going from MR ADAT out to TWIN ADAT in for AUDIO

Wordclock Master should be ADAT when connected. I haven't had things connected up here in a while.
If you need me to I will grab reverb unit or something and check it out when you are doing your connections there

dust_bg
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 11:16 am
Contact:

Re: (solved) Problem with ADAT optical

Post by dust_bg »

But Twin has only ADAT in. It has no Wordclock out.
Mine is MK1, but the connections are the same.
apollo_twin_mkII.jpg
(20.23 KiB) Not downloaded yet

shanabit
Senior Member
Posts: 1309
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: (solved) Problem with ADAT optical

Post by shanabit »

From the pic you should connect ADAT cable from MR ADAT out to the TWIN ADAT IN, Leave the MR as Wordclock MASTER then set the TWIN to receive WORDCLOCK via ADAT . Twin shouldn't be set to INTERNAL is what Im saying.
The MR will clock the TWIN in this case

dust_bg
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 11:16 am
Contact:

Re: (solved) Problem with ADAT optical

Post by dust_bg »

I got it! Thanks! I'll write again when I can try.

Niels
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: (solved) Problem with ADAT optical

Post by Niels »

Fabio Bartolini wrote:
Fri Jun 05, 2015 2:37 pm
Hello all, just to sum it up:

How to use a Steinberg MR816csx/x as a slave device connected via ADAT to a master device.

In this scenario, a 'master' device is connected to the computer while the MR is used as a 'slave' stand-alone unit.
We will use ADAT / TOSLINK cables to send the signal from the stand-alone MR device to the master device.

-- Install the latest TOOLS for the MR816csx/x http://www.steinberg.net/index.php?id=d ... _mr816&L=1
-- Connect your MR interface to the computer
-- Open the MR Editor
-- Configure the ADAT pairs to output the signal received from the respective MIC inputs:
  • Click on ADAT 1-2
    Pan MIC 1 and 2 hard left and hard right
    Mute the other MIC channels
Proceed in the same fashion for all ADAT pairs and correspondent MIC inputs as per the colour code in the attached screen-shot (MR_Ed_ADAT.png).

Once set up, please close the MixDspFx, the current configuration will be saved.

-- Now, please connect the master device to the computer
-- Connect the ADAT / TOSLINK cables from ADAT OUT on the MR to the ADAT IN on the 'master' device
-- You can either use the BNC-connector or ADAT for Wordclock synchronisation of the devices

You will need to create the proper VST Connections (F4 or Devices -> VST Connections) in Cubase.
Create the desired amount of input tracks and assign them as needed, in the VST_conn.jpg attachment you can see an example with an MR816 connected via ADAT to a UR824.

I hope this is helpful.

Thank you Fabio for writing this up - this was very helpful :idea: in sending me on the right path just today!

One thing I had to figure out in addition to your instructions which covered the input side of things, that I needed to do the same thing for the outputs, specifically:
  • Configure the OUT pairs to output the signal received from the respective ADAT inputs:
    • Click on OUT 1-2 on the right hand side
    • Set the faders for ADAT 1 and 2 to 0.00 (unity gain)
    • Pan ADAT 1 and 2 hard left and hard right
    • Mute the other ADAT channels
  • Proceed in the same fashion for all OUT pairs and correspondent ADAT inputs
and for the sake of completeness, here's the added step for the inputs:
  • Configure the ADAT pairs to output the signal received from the respective MIC inputs:
    • Click on ADAT 1-2
    • Set the faders for MIC 1 and 2 to 0.00 (unity gain)
    • Pan MIC 1 and 2 hard left and hard right
    • Mute the other MIC channels
  • Proceed in the same fashion for all ADAT pairs and correspondent MIC inputs.
Cubase 10.5 Pro - Windows 10 (1803) - Intel Core i7-4930K - 32GB RAM - ASUS X79 Deluxe

dust_bg
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 11:16 am
Contact:

Re: (solved) Problem with ADAT optical

Post by dust_bg »

It may sounds weird, but what works for me , after lots of tests is setting MR clock to internal. Not to ADAT ?!?!?!
Both Apollo and MR are set to internal clocks and it works ?!?!?
Can someone explain me why does this work? I though that mater device should be set to Internal, slave device to ADAT. But what works for me is both devices were set to internal....
See my new pictures of what works.
mrsettings.jpg
(86.15 KiB) Not downloaded yet
mr12.jpg
(150.58 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Niels
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: (solved) Problem with ADAT optical

Post by Niels »

setting MR clock to internal
Yes that has to happen - since your Apollo doesn't have ADAT or WordClock output. So in your setup the MR definitely has to be the clock master device.

However you may want to set your Apollo Twin clock to ADAT, so that the MR and the Apollo Twin are synchronized properly and you don't end up with weird audio artifacts from time to time.

p.s. I've read somewhere that it can seemingly work to have both devices use their internal clock, but that it risks bad audio artifacts (probably just when you are recording your best take ever!) :lol:
Cubase 10.5 Pro - Windows 10 (1803) - Intel Core i7-4930K - 32GB RAM - ASUS X79 Deluxe

dust_bg
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 11:16 am
Contact:

Re: (solved) Problem with ADAT optical

Post by dust_bg »

Edit...
Setting MR to internal and Apollo to ADAT actually works.
Even if I use only Apollo and MR is off. I don't know from where it gets the clock but it works....

Another interesting thing here is that when I set MR clock to internal, and it connects to Apollo, so I can hear the sound, I can change the clock of MR to ADAT and it works. But after restarting it does not work, no sound.

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg MR816”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest