Using the CC121 with other DAWs like Logic, and AI control

All about Steinberg's Advanced Integration Controller CC121.
User avatar
Steve1977
Junior Member
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 8:42 am
Contact:

Re: Using the CC121 with other DAWs like Logic, and AI control

Post by Steve1977 »

Has ANYONE got a CC121 that works in ProTools? If so, how? Thanks, Steve
COMPUTER: i7-10700k/64GB DDR4 RAM/GTX 1660 Super/M.2 SSD Drives + SATA SSD Drives
HARDWARE: Steinberg UR816C/ Steinberg CC121/ Kemper Amp / GAP-PREQ73 Preamps / Yamaha HS7 Monitors
SOFTWARE: Cubase Pro 11/ Wavelab Pro 10 / Halion 6 / HSO / The Grand 3 / UAD / WAVES/ Windows 10 64bit /
www.bigcloudproductions.com

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9675
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Using the CC121 with other DAWs like Logic, and AI control

Post by -steve- »

You roll your own.
Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Sun Feb 14, 2016 11:41 am
Hi,

CC121 is sending common MIDI data. In theory you can map them to any function in other DAWs, if the DAW can be controlled via generic MIDI device. But some functions might not be so fluent, as it is in Cubase.
Benutzername wrote:
Sat Nov 24, 2018 12:33 pm
Well, it's still just a simple MIDI controller. Every button press and every rotary movement sends simple MIDI data. So it will work in every DAW you want it to work in.

Only the visual feedback needs some scripting work. In this day an age almost all DAWs have open scripting environments for external hardware support. So this shouldn't be a problem. The only major DAWs without an open scripting API are Cubase and Nuendo but for these we have/had the official driver...
MarcoE wrote:
Sun Jan 06, 2019 3:35 pm
I did a complex Python script to fully integrate it into Ableton Live:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qBPrziQfnb8
viewtopic.php?f=30&t=117253

The tricky part is, that you need to send a "keep-alive" message every second to keep it turned on. Without sending this command every second, the CC121 is in idle mode with be blue Cubase Ready LED flashing.
This midi message is a system common message [0xF0, 0x43, 0x10, 0x3E, 0x15, 0x00, 0x01, 0xF7]
I think every 2s should be fine too.

Electrochimp
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 1:30 am
Contact:

Re: Using the CC121 with other DAWs like Logic, and AI control

Post by Electrochimp »

Bump - did anyone find a suitable script to get CC121 fully workig in Studio One? I have zero coding skills so wouldnt know where to start! Would offer to pay someone to do one for me but have a feeling it might be out of my price range unless it was a fairly quick job (which I'm pretty sure anything to do with coding isn't!)
Couldnt find anything on studio one forums.

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg CC121”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests