Where have my prefs gone ?

Post questions and find answers on our latest WaveLab releases here.
Post Reply
Jtransition
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 4:18 pm
Contact:

Where have my prefs gone ?

Post by Jtransition »

I turned on my pc today and all of my prefs have gone,It opened up as if i was doing so for the first time.
I have only been using Wavelab 10 (10.0.40) for a few weeks so I am tweaking the preferences as I go to ,I have tried to get it to start from the previous install but it still opens this fresh version.Can anyone help with this?.
Thanks in advance
Jason
Pc Spec
Intel i7 Kayblake 4.2GHz (turbo boost) 4 Core 8 Thread
Asus B250+ Motherboard, PCI and PCIe
8GB DDR4 12666MHz RAM
500GB SSD OS/Current Projects
1TB HDD Storage

www.transitionmastering.uk

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7792
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Where have my prefs gone ?

Post by PG »

Preferences are there: "\AppData\Roaming\Steinberg\WaveLab Pro 10.0"
unless you have changed the location in the WaveLab preferences.
You could then try to erase this file before running WaveLab:
AppData\Roaming\Steinberg\WaveLab Pro 10.0\Startup.ini
Philippe

Rat
Member
Posts: 800
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:33 am
Contact:

Re: Where have my prefs gone ?

Post by Rat »

A big tip is to back your preferences up from time to time.
Regards

Paul

Paul Rat Blakey
12th & Vine Post

Studio: Windows 10 Pro, Intel Core i7 7700 Quad Core LGA 1151 3.6 GHz CPU, 32 GB RAM, Gigabyte Z270M-D3H LGA 1151 mATX Motherboard, 2 x SSD (system and session drives), RME HDSPe AIO, Mytek converters

Laptop: Windows 10 Pro, Razer Blade Gaming Intel Core i7 8750H 6 cores/12 threads 4.1GHz CPU, 16 GB RAM SSD & HHD Denon DA10

WaveLab 9.5 and 10 Pro current release, iLok, Weiss

User avatar
Justin P
Senior Member
Posts: 2732
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:49 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Contact:

Re: Where have my prefs gone ?

Post by Justin P »

Rat wrote:
Wed Jul 15, 2020 5:38 am
A big tip is to back your preferences up from time to time.
+1

Every time I change anything, I zip up a copy and throw it on Dropbox. This way I can add the updated prefs to my other computers where I use WaveLab, as well as have a backup for emergency cases, or if/when I get a new main computer.
https://www.mysteryroommastering.com/https://www.justincarlperkins.com/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/WaveLab/

iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6
Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core i7 (6-Core) • 32GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6

RME AES HDSPe, MUTEC MC-3+ Smart Clock USB, Grace m905, Grace m900

Jtransition
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 4:18 pm
Contact:

Re: Where have my prefs gone ?

Post by Jtransition »

Thanks for the advice and tips,I will let you know how it goes.
J
Pc Spec
Intel i7 Kayblake 4.2GHz (turbo boost) 4 Core 8 Thread
Asus B250+ Motherboard, PCI and PCIe
8GB DDR4 12666MHz RAM
500GB SSD OS/Current Projects
1TB HDD Storage

www.transitionmastering.uk

Jtransition
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2014 4:18 pm
Contact:

Re: Where have my prefs gone ?

Post by Jtransition »

PG wrote:
Tue Jul 14, 2020 9:59 pm
Preferences are there: "\AppData\Roaming\Steinberg\WaveLab Pro 10.0"
unless you have changed the location in the WaveLab preferences.
You could then try to erase this file before running WaveLab:
AppData\Roaming\Steinberg\WaveLab Pro 10.0\Startup.ini
This worked,thanks for the advice,Can you tell me how to save where the prefs are saved?,as i do not know how the initial problem occurred.
Thanks
J
Pc Spec
Intel i7 Kayblake 4.2GHz (turbo boost) 4 Core 8 Thread
Asus B250+ Motherboard, PCI and PCIe
8GB DDR4 12666MHz RAM
500GB SSD OS/Current Projects
1TB HDD Storage

www.transitionmastering.uk

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab Pro 10 | WaveLab Elements 10”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest