Bug with reference track

Post questions and find answers on our latest WaveLab releases here.
Post Reply
User avatar
toader
Member
Posts: 944
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:37 am
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA
Contact:

Bug with reference track

Post by toader »

I've found a bug with the reference track:

1) Create a new audio montage at 44khz. When the montage opens, it has one stereo track as default.
2) Add a reference track.
3) Drag a 44k stereo file onto the reference track - but DO NOT CLICK ANYWHERE IN THE TIMELINE OR ANYWHERE ELSE
4) Hit play immediately without moving cursor or adding anything else.

The reference track audio begins playback - but:
A) The green playback cursor is not there. It's not moving at all even though audio is playing back.
B) Monitoring for the reference track is not engaged, but audio is heard (it should not be without "listen alone" engaged).
C) Click the "listen alone" button to enable it, and audio is MUTED - even though it should be the opposite
D) Click the "listen alone" button again to disable it, and audio plays back - even though it should now be muted.

THE ISSUE AND FIX:

It seems that the "Listen Alone" button is somehow reversed. To fix:

1) With audio still playing, hit spacebar to stop playback. It stops normally.
2) Hit play again to resume playing. Now a green cursor is created, and playback works normally - AND, the "listen alone" button is no longer reversed... it's fixed.

Thanks,
Todd
Computer 1: Cubase 10.5.12, RME HDSPe AES (x2), RME HDSPe AIO (x1), Nvidia NVS 510 video card, Dell T7500 workstation with Intel Xeon X5690 (6 cores with hyperthreading) 3.47gHz, 24GB RAM, UAD-2 Quad, Windows 10 64-bit
Computer 2: Wavelab 10.0.30, RME HDSPe AIO, AMD Radeon RX 480 video, Dell XPS 8720 with Intel I7-7700 CPU (4 cores with hyperthreading) 3.6gHz, 24GB RAM, Windows 10 64-bit

Todd Loomis @ https://noiseradiationstudios.com

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7787
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug with reference track

Post by PG »

Dragging from WaveLab file browser? If the focus is in the file browser, you are playing that file, and not the montage. That would explain the case.
Philippe

User avatar
toader
Member
Posts: 944
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:37 am
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: Bug with reference track

Post by toader »

Ahh!!! Wow... Ok, I didn't realize I could play audio files directly within the file browser... I've seen the little file preview at the bottom of the browser in Wavelab 10, but never messed with it until now...

It may be helpful to have some kind of indicator to show that playback is happening up there - because then I might have noticed it. When we play back audio below, the green play button is lit... when we play audio in the file browser, maybe a green play indicator up there would be helpful...

Anyway, I guess I was in error!

Thanks PG!
-Todd
Computer 1: Cubase 10.5.12, RME HDSPe AES (x2), RME HDSPe AIO (x1), Nvidia NVS 510 video card, Dell T7500 workstation with Intel Xeon X5690 (6 cores with hyperthreading) 3.47gHz, 24GB RAM, UAD-2 Quad, Windows 10 64-bit
Computer 2: Wavelab 10.0.30, RME HDSPe AIO, AMD Radeon RX 480 video, Dell XPS 8720 with Intel I7-7700 CPU (4 cores with hyperthreading) 3.6gHz, 24GB RAM, Windows 10 64-bit

Todd Loomis @ https://noiseradiationstudios.com

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7787
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug with reference track

Post by PG »

It may be helpful to have some kind of indicator to show that playback is happening up there
There is a moving playback cursor there.
Philippe

User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
Posts: 2643
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug with reference track

Post by Arjan P »

It also caught me by surprise a couple of times, and the moving cursor is not so obvious with longer audio files - also depending on the size of the file browser window. Maybe changing the color of that wave to green during playback is possible?
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 10.0.30 | Cubase 10.0.60 | HALion 6.0 | Win10 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio

User avatar
toader
Member
Posts: 944
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:37 am
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: Bug with reference track

Post by toader »

I notice the cursor moving now... but as Arjan said, it's not very obvious that something is happening. As Arjan suggested, a green wave during playback may help...

Or here's an idea... At the top of the file browser window, there is a little play/stop button. Currently, it's grey/white like the other buttons... I see it turns into a stop button during playback... Maybe instead of turning into a stop button, it should just always look like a play button, and it could light up green when playing (like the standard play button), and go back to grey/white when not playing.
Computer 1: Cubase 10.5.12, RME HDSPe AES (x2), RME HDSPe AIO (x1), Nvidia NVS 510 video card, Dell T7500 workstation with Intel Xeon X5690 (6 cores with hyperthreading) 3.47gHz, 24GB RAM, UAD-2 Quad, Windows 10 64-bit
Computer 2: Wavelab 10.0.30, RME HDSPe AIO, AMD Radeon RX 480 video, Dell XPS 8720 with Intel I7-7700 CPU (4 cores with hyperthreading) 3.6gHz, 24GB RAM, Windows 10 64-bit

Todd Loomis @ https://noiseradiationstudios.com

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab Pro 10 | WaveLab Elements 10”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests