Wavelab will not play my 8khz files

Post questions and find answers on our latest WaveLab releases here.
Post Reply
evermore sound
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2014 7:07 pm
Contact:

Wavelab will not play my 8khz files

Post by evermore sound »

I recently replaced my interface with a UR28M, and now when I try to play 8khz files, it gives me the error in the image attached.
But I know it's not an interface problem since I can play the files with Windows Media player through the card.
What's up with that?
Attachments
wavelab error.png
(15.45 KiB) Not downloaded yet
-Luke
RME HDSPe Madi FX, Orion Antelope 32, Crane Song HEDD
i4790K Z97PRO 16GB, UAD2 Quad, Powercore PCie
Cubase 8.5.15, Wavelab 8.5.1, ProFools 12

User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
Posts: 2643
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab will not play my 8khz files

Post by Arjan P »

This is most likely because WL does not automatically resample to a SR that your audio card can handle, and Windows Media player does. So if you put a resampler in the WL Playback Section, set it to 44k1 or 48k, you should be okay.
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 10.0.30 | Cubase 10.0.60 | HALion 6.0 | Win10 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio

evermore sound
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2014 7:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab will not play my 8khz files

Post by evermore sound »

OK cool that works, thanks.
Tell me though: why didn't I need this before. I believe I used to use the WDM driver.
-Luke
RME HDSPe Madi FX, Orion Antelope 32, Crane Song HEDD
i4790K Z97PRO 16GB, UAD2 Quad, Powercore PCie
Cubase 8.5.15, Wavelab 8.5.1, ProFools 12

User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
Posts: 2643
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab will not play my 8khz files

Post by Arjan P »

I'm not sure, but I would guess the WDM driver does this resampling (and maybe not Windows Media player itself).
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 10.0.30 | Cubase 10.0.60 | HALion 6.0 | Win10 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio

pwhodges
Member
Posts: 537
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:29 am
Location: Oxford, UK
Contact:

Re: Wavelab will not play my 8khz files

Post by pwhodges »

Yes, WDM sorted it for you. But while that was convenient, it did fall foul of the concept of no processing happening without you specifying it.

Paul

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab Pro 10 | WaveLab Elements 10”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest