BUG: GUI 3th party plugins not loading after update wavelab

Post questions and find answers on our latest WaveLab releases here.
Post Reply
lars_meijer
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 1:13 pm
Contact:

BUG: GUI 3th party plugins not loading after update wavelab

Post by lars_meijer »

Hi All,

After updating to WL 10.0.40 (same problem with WL 10.0.30) some GUI of different plugins like Cytomic the Glue, Some UAD plugins like BAX EQ/Shadowhill are not loading and nothing is visible (some like Manley of UAD are loading properly which is very strange).

I'm on MAC OS High Sierra and didn't have any problems regarding these issues on WL 10.0.20 (only the crashes that sometimes happen)

Anyone else having this problem or is aware of this??? (maybe a solution) THNX :-)

User avatar
Justin P
Senior Member
Posts: 2737
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:49 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Contact:

Re: BUG: GUI 3th party plugins not loading after update wavelab

Post by Justin P »

lars_meijer wrote:
Sat Jun 06, 2020 2:11 pm
Hi All,

After updating to WL 10.0.40 (same problem with WL 10.0.30) some GUI of different plugins like Cytomic the Glue, Some UAD plugins like BAX EQ/Shadowhill are not loading and nothing is visible (some like Manley of UAD are loading properly which is very strange).

I'm on MAC OS High Sierra and didn't have any problems regarding these issues on WL 10.0.20 (only the crashes that sometimes happen)

Anyone else having this problem or is aware of this??? (maybe a solution) THNX :-)
There are numerous reports of GUI issues on High Sierra, even a few actual Steinberg plugins I'm told. I think High Sierra should be removed from the supported MacOS list. Mojave will solve your issues.
https://www.mysteryroommastering.com/https://www.justincarlperkins.com/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/WaveLab/

iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6
Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core i7 (6-Core) • 32GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6

RME AES HDSPe, MUTEC MC-3+ Smart Clock USB, Grace m905, Grace m900

lars_meijer
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 1:13 pm
Contact:

Re: BUG: GUI 3th party plugins not loading after update wavelab

Post by lars_meijer »

Thnx Justin. Didn't was aware of that. I'll firstly go in to complete back-up mode and then try Mojave if it's going to work.

User avatar
Arionas
Junior Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: BUG: GUI 3th party plugins not loading after update wavelab

Post by Arionas »

Hi @Justin P!
Now I’m aware about this issue BUT, that was not the case in version 10.0.20.
This issue with High Sierra introduced on the previous update (10.0.30) and I was hoping PG would have resolve it in 10.0.40.
Unfortunately not..
My mac pro 5.1 cannot be updated to Mojave and I’ve stacked to v10.0.20
Wavelab 10 was advertised as compatible with High Sierra and in a routine update this compatibility broke.
Not a good thing from Steinberg.
Cubase Pro 10.5 - Wavelab 10 - Nuendo 4 - Reaper 5 - Pro Tools 12 - Logic X - Harrison Mixbus
Mac Pro 2010, 3.33 x2, 12 cores - High Sierra - RME Fireface 802

User avatar
Justin P
Senior Member
Posts: 2737
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:49 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Contact:

Re: BUG: GUI 3th party plugins not loading after update wavelab

Post by Justin P »

PG will have to weigh in on what changed.

I don't use High Sierra so I am only speaking about what others have reported.
https://www.mysteryroommastering.com/https://www.justincarlperkins.com/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/WaveLab/

iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6
Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core i7 (6-Core) • 32GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6

RME AES HDSPe, MUTEC MC-3+ Smart Clock USB, Grace m905, Grace m900

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7805
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: BUG: GUI 3th party plugins not loading after update wavelab

Post by PG »

The priority is to follow the changes made my newer versions of OSX, because the vast majority of Apple users update to newer OSX version. Hence it's difficult to test old OSX versions.
Apple doesn't hesitate to make breaking changes, unlike Microsoft.
Philippe

S-EH
Member
Posts: 393
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 12:47 pm
Contact:

Re: BUG: GUI 3th party plugins not loading after update wavelab

Post by S-EH »

Except Avid/Protools users they often have to wait a year or more
before upgrading/updating!

and yes I know this not but anyway :lol:

regards S-EH
RME Fireface 800, WaveLab, Cubase...

User avatar
Arionas
Junior Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: BUG: GUI 3th party plugins not loading after update wavelab

Post by Arionas »

PG wrote:
Mon Jun 08, 2020 5:10 pm
The priority is to follow the changes made my newer versions of OSX, because the vast majority of Apple users update to newer OSX version. Hence it's difficult to test old OSX versions.
Apple doesn't hesitate to make breaking changes, unlike Microsoft.
I understand.
However professional studios don’t make these updates each while, cause of the continuously daily works. I’m not saying we ever do but we cannot interrupt our workflow based on Apple’s yearly changes.
I would appreciate if it’s not so difficult for you and take a look on that.

Kind regards
Cubase Pro 10.5 - Wavelab 10 - Nuendo 4 - Reaper 5 - Pro Tools 12 - Logic X - Harrison Mixbus
Mac Pro 2010, 3.33 x2, 12 cores - High Sierra - RME Fireface 802

mbira
Member
Posts: 636
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 3:22 am
Contact:

Re: BUG: GUI 3th party plugins not loading after update wavelab

Post by mbira »

PG wrote:
Mon Jun 08, 2020 5:10 pm
The priority is to follow the changes made my newer versions of OSX, because the vast majority of Apple users update to newer OSX version. Hence it's difficult to test old OSX versions.
Apple doesn't hesitate to make breaking changes, unlike Microsoft.
I am also a Mac Pro 5.1 user and I just updated from 10.0.20 to 10.0.40 and now even the Steinberg Master Rig plugins GUI doesn't work.

Because High Sierra is still officially supported, and because this was only a point-point release, I hope that Steinberg sees this GUI problem as a bug that was introduced with the update and will be fixed.

For a Mac Pro 5.1 to update OS to Mojave is really a very huge deal. With a 5.1, You have to update your BootRom and shell out for a new Metal supported graphics card before you can even attempt the update (and then who knows what else will break).

I'd stick with 10.0.20, but I use dual studio monitors and there is something broken that doesn't allow monitor switching in 10.0.20.
Cubase Pro | Wavelab Pro | Dorico Pro | SpectraLayers | Halion 6 | Laptop: Macbook Pro 2.4 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9 32 G RAM, OS 10.15.5| Studio computer: 2012 12 core Mac Pro Tower 64 G RAM | PC Slave i7 8920 running VEP6 | Apollo 16 Firewire

User avatar
Thomas W. Bethel
Member
Posts: 704
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:43 pm
Location: Oberlin, OH
Contact:

Re: BUG: GUI 3th party plugins not loading after update wavelab

Post by Thomas W. Bethel »

That is why I stayed with WL 9.5.5 on my Mac Pro. I don't want to shell out hundreds of dollars just so I can run 10.0.40. In my line of work I have to consider the price of upgrading vs what my clients are willing to pay. So 9.5.5 doesn't have all the latest "bells and whistles" it works and works well. Why try to complicate my life anymore.

FWIW
Thomas W. Bethel
Managing Director
Acoustik Musik, Ltd.
Room With a View Productions
http://www.acoustikmusik.com/

Doing what you love is freedom.
Loving what you do is happiness.

Celebrating 25 years in business in 2020

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab Pro 10 | WaveLab Elements 10”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests