Dual monitors with different resolution do not work together

Post questions and find answers on our latest WaveLab releases here.
Post Reply
User avatar
n0nspaz
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 10:50 pm
Contact:

Dual monitors with different resolution do not work together

Post by n0nspaz »

I have a Radeon RX460 powering a 40" main monitor desktop extended to a 27" ultrawidescreen secondary monitor for meters and such. In Cubase this works fine. In Wavelab, plugins refuse to draw on the 2nd monitor, and proportions get all out of whack when i use it for anything. Advice please? TIA
Cubase 10 Pro, WaveLab 10.0.30, Win10, CC121, Intel i7 64GB, RME UCX, UAD PCIe x2
Cubase fanboy since the 90s

User avatar
n0nspaz
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 10:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Dual monitors with different resolution do not work together

Post by n0nspaz »

Prefs>Display>Show App in high DPI - turning this off allows me to drag plugin windows to the 2nd monitor. However they are too small to read, unlike with Cubase which automatically makes larger anything dragged to the extended desktop.

Steinberg, can you offer this option for Wavelab too? i.e. can we resize the Master Section and similar floating windows?
Last edited by n0nspaz on Thu May 28, 2020 7:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase 10 Pro, WaveLab 10.0.30, Win10, CC121, Intel i7 64GB, RME UCX, UAD PCIe x2
Cubase fanboy since the 90s

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7802
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Dual monitors with different resolution do not work together

Post by PG »

Using wavelab 10.0.30 ?
Philippe

User avatar
n0nspaz
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 10:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Dual monitors with different resolution do not work together

Post by n0nspaz »

Yes
Cubase 10 Pro, WaveLab 10.0.30, Win10, CC121, Intel i7 64GB, RME UCX, UAD PCIe x2
Cubase fanboy since the 90s

User avatar
n0nspaz
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 10:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Dual monitors with different resolution do not work together

Post by n0nspaz »

I realize that scaling plugin windows may be limited based on plugin designer limitations. But they're just too small on the 2nd monitor, can't read much of anything.
Cubase 10 Pro, WaveLab 10.0.30, Win10, CC121, Intel i7 64GB, RME UCX, UAD PCIe x2
Cubase fanboy since the 90s

User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
Posts: 2643
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Dual monitors with different resolution do not work together

Post by Arjan P »

Sounds more like a resolution mismatch between the monitors (in WL, anyway..). What are the resolutions?
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 10.0.30 | Cubase 10.0.60 | HALion 6.0 | Win10 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7802
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Dual monitors with different resolution do not work together

Post by PG »

Prefs>Display>Show App in high DPI - turning this off allows me to drag plugin windows to the 2nd monitor.
Under Windows, when you use monitors which have different scaling, you should better use
1) WaveLab >= 10.0.30
2) high DPI ON

Else you encounter the kind of problems you mention.
Here I run with 3 monitors with 3 different scaling: 100% (main screen), and 150 and 200%
I have rarely any GUI issue.

You should better have a stable layout too: keep the same windows on the same screens rather than moving things around.
Philippe

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab Pro 10 | WaveLab Elements 10”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest