Update from Version 4

Post questions and find answers on SpectraLayers 6 releases here.
Post Reply
deepho
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 7:33 am

Update from Version 4

Post by deepho »

Hi
Can i update from version 4 from Magix?

What i need or have to do?
Do you need the Serial of the Magix Version?

Best
Es gibt keine alte oder neue Musik, sondern nur gute oder schlechte...und selbst dies ist relativ!

User avatar
balinas
Junior Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2017 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Update from Version 4

Post by balinas »

I don’t think you would need the serial number. I updated from v5 to v6. No serial number needed, although SLPro5 was installed on my system.
WIN 10 (1903), Intel i9 9900 5GHz, 32GB RAM, PreSonus Quantum2 through thunderbolt pcie, MCU-PRO, Yamaha Classic Motif 6, Focusrite Asa ONE, Focusrite Scarlett 18i20,

deepho
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 7:33 am

Re: Update from Version 4

Post by deepho »

Thank you for the answer.
Es gibt keine alte oder neue Musik, sondern nur gute oder schlechte...und selbst dies ist relativ!

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2598
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Update from Version 4

Post by MrSoundman »

Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.20 • WaveLab 10.0.40 • SpectraLayers 6.0.30 • HALion 6.4.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

deepho
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 7:33 am

Re: Update from Version 4

Post by deepho »

MrSoundman wrote:
Thu Jul 04, 2019 3:14 pm
--> Licensing
Thank you, but that's not answer my question.
Es gibt keine alte oder neue Musik, sondern nur gute oder schlechte...und selbst dies ist relativ!

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2598
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Update from Version 4

Post by MrSoundman »

deepho wrote:
Thu Jul 04, 2019 3:22 pm
MrSoundman wrote:
Thu Jul 04, 2019 3:14 pm
--> Licensing
Thank you, but that's not answer my question.
Apologies, to answer your question, yes, I was able to update from SL4 to SL6 without needing to enter my SL4 serial number, I presume the installer detected the already installed SL4. So just download the installer and run it, and enter your activation code (from Steinberg) when requested. In an earlier post, Robin clarified the following:
Robin Lobel wrote:
Wed Jul 03, 2019 10:04 pm
You have the choice to either use the soft or USB e-licenser. If you use the soft e-licenser, it will only be valid for one machine. However you can at any time transfer it to an USB eLicenser, and then use it on any machine with that USB eLicenser.
NB: once transferred to USB, it can't be transferred back to soft.
In my case, as I already have licenses on a USB-eLicenser, I was able to activate the license, run the installer and everything just worked.
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.20 • WaveLab 10.0.40 • SpectraLayers 6.0.30 • HALion 6.4.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

deepho
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 7:33 am

Re: Update from Version 4

Post by deepho »

MrSoundman wrote:
Thu Jul 04, 2019 5:37 pm
deepho wrote:
Thu Jul 04, 2019 3:22 pm
MrSoundman wrote:
Thu Jul 04, 2019 3:14 pm
--> Licensing
Thank you, but that's not answer my question.
Apologies, to answer your question, yes, I was able to update from SL4 to SL6 without needing to enter my SL4 serial number, I presume the installer detected the already installed SL4. So just download the installer and run it, and enter your activation code (from Steinberg) when requested. In an earlier post, Robin clarified the following:
Robin Lobel wrote:
Wed Jul 03, 2019 10:04 pm
You have the choice to either use the soft or USB e-licenser. If you use the soft e-licenser, it will only be valid for one machine. However you can at any time transfer it to an USB eLicenser, and then use it on any machine with that USB eLicenser.
NB: once transferred to USB, it can't be transferred back to soft.
In my case, as I already have licenses on a USB-eLicenser, I was able to activate the license, run the installer and everything just worked.
Thank you very much. Now i have so much information that i feel enough sure to buy. Fantastic!
Es gibt keine alte oder neue Musik, sondern nur gute oder schlechte...und selbst dies ist relativ!

TimoWildenhain
Moderator
Posts: 1001
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 11:51 am
Contact:

Re: Update from Version 4

Post by TimoWildenhain »

deepho wrote:
Thu Jul 04, 2019 3:22 pm
MrSoundman wrote:
Thu Jul 04, 2019 3:14 pm
--> Licensing
I presume the installer detected the already installed SL4.
Correct.
Timo Wildenhain - Head of Business Unit
Professional Audio Unit
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter, Facebook and MySpace!

dr
Member
Posts: 880
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: Update from Version 4

Post by dr »

how do you install this if you don't have SL4 installed on the machine you want to use it on ?

lucatron
Junior Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:14 am
Contact:

Re: Update from Version 4

Post by lucatron »

dr wrote:
Fri Jul 05, 2019 11:19 am
how do you install this if you don't have SL4 installed on the machine you want to use it on ?
Did you find the answer? It is my question too!

User avatar
rtorstrick
Member
Posts: 365
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:18 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Update from Version 4

Post by rtorstrick »

I simply installed it and it worked.
Windows 10
Cubase 10.5, Halion 6.30, Wavelab 10, Dorico 3.1
Intel Core i5, 32 Gb RAM, Z390 Aorus Pro mobo, 1 Tb SATA SSD system drive, 2x2TB SATA media drives,
G-Drive 3TB USB 3 drive.
UAD Apollo Mk II Quad (TB), Steinberg UR-RT 2, Steinberg MR816csx, Yamaha KX8, CC121, UAD-2 Duo (Pcie)

Post Reply

Return to “SpectraLayers 6”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest