[BUG] Post-fader plug-in's routing gets lost in multi-channel tracks

Post general topics related to Nuendo 10 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Dietz
Member
Posts: 384
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 5:40 pm
Location: Vienna / Europe
Contact:

[BUG] Post-fader plug-in's routing gets lost in multi-channel tracks

Post by Dietz »

This is an old one that annoys me since quite some time, but I just found out today what actually happens. Tested in NU 10.2.20 under Win 7.

Repro:
  • Create a multi-channel track (e.g. 5.1)
  • Insert mono or stereo plug-ins in pre-fader and post-fader slots (VSTII or III makes no difference, AFAICS)
  • Open the routing window and move the plug-ins to any other channel than L / R
  • Save the project, close it, re-open it
  • Open the routing window again: Only pre-fader slots have kept their assigned position. Post-fader slots will all appear on L / R only.
... it's a really pity that I won't see a fix for this any time soon ... :-/

BTW - I find it extremely confusing that there are selectable entrances for 5.1, individual channels and even 3D formats in the routing menu - but they can't be selected. :?
/Dietz

| audio | engineering | music | production |
| soundware | development |

| Nuendo versions from 5.5.6 to 10.3 | on various systems and platforms |
| Steinberg user since the 80ies | Nuendo user and forum member since 2000 |

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23192
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: [BUG] Post-fader plug-in's routing gets lost in multi-channel tracks

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

I cannot reproduce it here. It works to me.

What I did:
- Add Audio track > 5.1 configuration.
- Insert Steinberg Compressor plug-in as pre-fader.
- Insert Steinberg Compressor plug-in as post-fader.
- Open Channel Settings Window > Inserts > Routing.
- Change the preset to Stereo.
- Open the Routing Editor and shift the routing to Ls and Rs.
- Do the same for the other (pre/post) plug-in.
- Save and close the project.
- Reopen the project.
- Double-check the Inserts > Routing in the Channel Settings Window.

=> The result is the same, as I set it and save.

What am I doing wrong, please?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
Dietz
Member
Posts: 384
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 5:40 pm
Location: Vienna / Europe
Contact:

Re: [BUG] Post-fader plug-in's routing gets lost in multi-channel tracks

Post by Dietz »

As I wrote:
Dietz wrote:
Wed Jun 17, 2020 9:30 pm
[...]
[*]Insert mono or stereo plug-ins in pre-fader and post-fader slots (VSTII or III makes no difference, AFAICS)
[...]
Please use a plug-in that is stereo (or mono) only. Waves comes to mind, or about 80% of the 3rd party products available.
/Dietz

| audio | engineering | music | production |
| soundware | development |

| Nuendo versions from 5.5.6 to 10.3 | on various systems and platforms |
| Steinberg user since the 80ies | Nuendo user and forum member since 2000 |

Timeline
Junior Member
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 8:22 pm
Contact:

Re: [BUG] Post-fader plug-in's routing gets lost in multi-channel tracks

Post by Timeline »

Ive seen similar behavior for sure, especially in the control room inserts as well
Windows 10 64 bit/ Windows 7 64 bit- i7-770k CPU 4.2GHZ, 32 GB

User avatar
Dietz
Member
Posts: 384
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 5:40 pm
Location: Vienna / Europe
Contact:

Re: [BUG] Post-fader plug-in's routing gets lost in multi-channel tracks

Post by Dietz »

Dear Steinberg - any idea how to deal with the issue ...?
/Dietz

| audio | engineering | music | production |
| soundware | development |

| Nuendo versions from 5.5.6 to 10.3 | on various systems and platforms |
| Steinberg user since the 80ies | Nuendo user and forum member since 2000 |

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests