N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post general topics related to Nuendo 10 here.
Centralmusic
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5644
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Centralmusic »

Studio2projects wrote:
Thu Apr 23, 2020 2:55 pm

I don't enjoy this 2020 dark Daws look fashion. I prefer it clear.
Please have a look at this bright Nuendo 10 GUIs... :idea:

"Cubase 5 style" GUI:
https://recording.de/attachments/c10-na ... jpg.79430/

"Cubase 5 style" GUI 2:
https://recording.de/attachments/c6-far ... jpg.79578/

"warm style" GUI:
https://recording.de/attachments/c10-c6 ... jpg.79434/


8-)
Last edited by Centralmusic on Fri Apr 24, 2020 3:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
!!! NOTE: This is a user forum. It's from users to users. This is not a technical support forum. Therefore sometime some Steinberg employees appear here and help the users. !!!
"Do you already know the manual?"
Kennst du schon das Handbuch?"

grayter1
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2019 3:59 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by grayter1 »

Centralmusic wrote:
Fri Apr 24, 2020 1:15 pm
Studio2projects wrote:
Thu Apr 23, 2020 2:55 pm

I don't enjoy this 2020 dark Daws look fashion. I prefer it clear.
Please have a look at this bright Nuendo 10 GUIs... :idea:

"Cubase 5 style" GUI:
https://recording.de/attachments/c10-na ... jpg.79430/

"warm style" GUI:
https://recording.de/attachments/c10-c6 ... jpg.79434/
New Nuendo user here. How do I get these brighter colors?

tg
Win 10 Pro / i7-6700K 4.00GHz / GA-Z170X-UD5 / 32 GB / nVIDIA GTX 1050ti / Audient iD22 & ASP 800 / Komplete S49 / Nuendo 10.3 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 / Reaper 6 / Komplete 12

Studio2projects
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 4:37 am
Location: Lisboa - Portugal
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Studio2projects »

Hello Central Music,
Vielen Dank for your time and sugestions ;-)
Yes, I do prefer Nuendo when it looks like the first example you showed, with the white project window backgroung.
Are you still able to see the track automation Lines?
Automation lines are White... Where can we change that?

Best Regards

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos »

Centralmusic wrote:
Fri Apr 24, 2020 1:07 pm
...and I don't get it why you complain.
there are so many wonderful options to display events in Nuendo -
everything can be clearly presented if you want, there is something for each taste!
RIP N3/N8 - say hallo to N10. (...)
We complain because Transparent Events was an important part of our workflow, and they took it away, and what has "replaced" it does not include some of the most important features of the original. It's that simple. All the "wonderful options" in the world do not address the problem identified in this thread. I, for one, would like to have a key-command option to toggle what they've done to replace Transparent Events. Judging by the number of users participating in this thread, it appears there are quite a few of us who miss Transparent Events and would like to see it return with full functionality.

I hope that clears things up. ;)

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

User avatar
fuzzydude
Member
Posts: 481
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 5:21 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by fuzzydude »

Chewy Papadopoulos wrote:
Fri Apr 24, 2020 11:02 pm
Centralmusic wrote:
Fri Apr 24, 2020 1:07 pm
...and I don't get it why you complain.
there are so many wonderful options to display events in Nuendo -
everything can be clearly presented if you want, there is something for each taste!
RIP N3/N8 - say hallo to N10. (...)
We complain because Transparent Events was an important part of our workflow, and they took it away, and what has "replaced" it does not include some of the most important features of the original. It's that simple. All the "wonderful options" in the world do not address the problem identified in this thread. I, for one, would like to have a key-command option to toggle what they've done to replace Transparent Events. Judging by the number of users participating in this thread, it appears there are quite a few of us who miss Transparent Events and would like to see it return with full functionality.

I hope that clears things up. ;)

Chewy
+1
Comps+OS: PC's (Win 10 1903) - Mac Pro (Catalina) - MacBook Pro (Moave) I Nuendo 10 | Cubase Pro 10 I Wavelab 9.5 Pro

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4252
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by MattiasNYC »

Am I misunderstanding the word "workflow" somehow? To me it seems as if this is more a matter of being annoying because you're used to something looking a certain way and now it looks differently. I don't think that's poor criticism, I think it's fair, but I don't understand how your actual workflow changes.

Aren't you able to do exactly the same thing as before?
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos »

MattiasNYC wrote:
Sun Apr 26, 2020 7:32 pm

Aren't you able to do exactly the same thing as before?
No; that is the problem. The feature as it was no longer exists, and the “replacement” doesn’t have features that were part of a workflow. It is not a simple matter of aesthetics. It is one of utility. I’m working with the new version, and the world has not stopped spinning, but I very much miss the old Transparent Events. Wouldn’t take much to bring it up to par... making it toggleable by key command would be huge.

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4252
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by MattiasNYC »

Ok, but what is it concretely that ceases to function as a result of this? I'm not talking about waveforms looking different, I'm asking what specific functionality is gone.
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos »

That was clearly established at the top of of this topic. The ability to make events transparent while maintaining other aspects of color coding, and the utility of toggling that feature with a simple key command.

Concretely, with the removal of the function, the function specifically ceased to work.

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4252
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by MattiasNYC »

Well obviously if you call transparent mode a "function" and it's removed then that's the function that ceased to function... I'm not an idiot. I understand that.

What I'm getting at is that Nuendo has a bunch of features, like for example being able to use the cursor to 'grab' and 'move' an event from one place to another. That's a part of the functionality of the DAW. When I work I edit dialog first, and that means I need this functionality to edit dialog. Therefore that functionality is part of my workflow.

The GUI isn't part of what I think of as "workflow".

That's what I was getting at. I was wondering what else changes as transparent mode is no longer available which in turn changes the workflow.
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

JDSStudios
Junior Member
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 1:33 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by JDSStudios »

I was wondering also how can any editing be affected by the lack of transparency in waveforms.
Nuendo 10.3, Nuendo 4.3 NEK, Halion 3, Groove Agent, RME 96/52 HDSP 52 Channels ADAT,
Yamaha O2R 24 channel 48 input, Yamaha O1V, Steinberg MIDEX 8, Yamaha Motif Rack,
UAD-1 with jBridge for 32bit plugins, I7 Windows 7 64bit, 32GB RAM, Asus P8Z77 LV-X,
3 Asus 32” monitors, Korg Triton Studio, Korg M1, Roland Sound Canvas 8850 Pro,
Waves Horizon, SSL, X-feedback, Abbey Road, Melodyne 4, MLP, Fractal AX8.

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2647
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Fredo »

Question: "With the "old" transparant mode, were you able to toggle "transparant mode" with a key command?

Fredo

Getalife2
Member
Posts: 676
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 3:32 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Getalife2 »

Having followed this thread out of sheer curiousity, the answer is "Yes".
N10.3 - i7 5960X/32 GB at 4 GHz Win 7 Pro 64bit - 2x RME MADI - 3X UAD-2 Quad

User avatar
fuzzydude
Member
Posts: 481
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 5:21 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by fuzzydude »

Fredo wrote:
Mon Apr 27, 2020 6:57 am
Question: "With the "old" transparant mode, were you able to toggle "transparant mode" with a key command?

Fredo
Yes
Comps+OS: PC's (Win 10 1903) - Mac Pro (Catalina) - MacBook Pro (Moave) I Nuendo 10 | Cubase Pro 10 I Wavelab 9.5 Pro

JDSStudios
Junior Member
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 1:33 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by JDSStudios »

fuzzydude wrote:
Mon Apr 27, 2020 5:09 pm
Fredo wrote:
Mon Apr 27, 2020 6:57 am
Question: "With the "old" transparant mode, were you able to toggle "transparant mode" with a key command?

Fredo
Yes
Out of curiosity, what functionality becomes unavailable without transparency?
Could you please show an example?
Nuendo 10.3, Nuendo 4.3 NEK, Halion 3, Groove Agent, RME 96/52 HDSP 52 Channels ADAT,
Yamaha O2R 24 channel 48 input, Yamaha O1V, Steinberg MIDEX 8, Yamaha Motif Rack,
UAD-1 with jBridge for 32bit plugins, I7 Windows 7 64bit, 32GB RAM, Asus P8Z77 LV-X,
3 Asus 32” monitors, Korg Triton Studio, Korg M1, Roland Sound Canvas 8850 Pro,
Waves Horizon, SSL, X-feedback, Abbey Road, Melodyne 4, MLP, Fractal AX8.

mufi
Junior Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:00 am
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by mufi »

Hi, anybody noticing a flicker when moving events with the mouse? Especially when dropping. I'm on w10 1903.
It is not present in N7.
N 7.1.35 64bit | Asus Sabretooth P67, i7 2600K, 8gb ddr3 | Windows 10 x64 | RME UC | Altiverb 7 | Speakerphone 2
N 7.1.35 64bit | N 10.3 | Asus B360 TUF Pro Gaming, i7 8700, 16gb ddr4 | Windows 10 x64 | RME FF400 | Euphonix MC MIX | Altiverb 7 | Speakerphone 2 | Equality | Equick | AutoAlign Post etc.

JDSStudios
Junior Member
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 1:33 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by JDSStudios »

I would still like to see a specific, simple example, of lack of functionality because of transparent mode.
Anyone?
Nuendo 10.3, Nuendo 4.3 NEK, Halion 3, Groove Agent, RME 96/52 HDSP 52 Channels ADAT,
Yamaha O2R 24 channel 48 input, Yamaha O1V, Steinberg MIDEX 8, Yamaha Motif Rack,
UAD-1 with jBridge for 32bit plugins, I7 Windows 7 64bit, 32GB RAM, Asus P8Z77 LV-X,
3 Asus 32” monitors, Korg Triton Studio, Korg M1, Roland Sound Canvas 8850 Pro,
Waves Horizon, SSL, X-feedback, Abbey Road, Melodyne 4, MLP, Fractal AX8.

User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1499
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by fenderchris »

JDSStudios wrote:
Fri May 01, 2020 12:53 pm
I would still like to see a specific, simple example, of lack of functionality because of transparent mode.
Anyone?
Me too. To be honest I could never even see any benefit of using it. (That should get someone excited).
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

OS: Windows-10 Pro 64-bit v.1903.
PC: i7 Quad core 2.66GHz, 24GB ram, SSD drives.
Screens: LG 4K 3440x1440, AG-Neovo 1280x1024 (x2).
Hardware: RME FireFace UFX, MR816CSX (x2), SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Midi Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Roland V-Drums TD-20X, Nektar Panorama P1.
Software: Nuendo-8.1.10, Wavelab-Elements-9.5, Halion-6, Halion Sonic 3, Kontakt-5, Cubase iCPro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth), Omnisphere, Trillian.

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos »

For those of you who didn't use it, or for whom it did not make a difference, what does it matter? A number of those of us who found it useful now miss Transparent Events. There are examples of how and why throughout this thread, which is still here for the reading, so I see no need to address them further. To each his own. This is reminiscent of the "dongle vs no dongle" quasi debate of some months back.

For what it's worth: I work in a variety of arenas. At the moment I'm a) stewarding production on a slate of audiobooks, b) doing post production on a collection of ad spots, and c) scoring a network series. Each of these projects has its unique workflow, for whatever set of reasons. In audiobooks, Transparent Events were important to me as they originally existed. Tracks were still color-identified, but the events themselves were transparent, which I find useful. Moving to scoring, where I don't use Transparent Events, it was just a matter of a quick key command to switch over. I've been working that way for a good handful of years now, and whether the measure of utility falls short in the esteem of others who never used the function, losing it has impacted my work. I'm not hobbled, and I'm getting things done, but I do miss the feature.

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4252
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by MattiasNYC »

Chewy,

I don't think anyone is saying that people shouldn't be miffed if they're missing this GUI aspect in the recent versions, that wasn't really the point I think.

Instead - speaking for myself now - I was first of all wondering how your workflow can possibly be impacted by how things look on the screen, specifically transparent events. The word "workflow" to my understanding relates to process much more than visual feedback. And so that leads to the question of just what functionality is affected by transparent mode being gone. It would be good to know that because it could be something that I've overlooked that would be useful if it returned.

So far the objection is very similar to the one I made way back when Control Room changed from looking like a mixer to looking like a "panel" or "pane". I much preferred the mixer look because it was more intuitive and because that's what the CR is essentially, a mixer/router. But regardless of my objections (not just me actually) the functionality of CR didn't change and as much as I hated the way the new pane looked I could still do exactly what I could do before.

So if you were asking me the questions about CR that I'm asking you about transparent mode my answer would simply be: No functionality has disappeared as a result of this change in how CR looks, and my workflow hasn't been impacted. I just don't like the way it looks.

See what I mean?
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

JDSStudios
Junior Member
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 1:33 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by JDSStudios »

Chewy Papadopoulos wrote:
Sat May 02, 2020 9:13 pm
For those of you who didn't use it, or for whom it did not make a difference, what does it matter? ...
Chewy
What a great question.

It matters because if there is any functionality with Transparent Events that we are not aware of,
we certainly want to know.

As far as I know, its just for looks, but some here say it affects workflow, so we are curious.

I reserve the term "functionality" for "functions" related to editing, and the same with "workflow",
unless you are just throwing the terms around.

By all means post a simple example, so we understand.
Nuendo 10.3, Nuendo 4.3 NEK, Halion 3, Groove Agent, RME 96/52 HDSP 52 Channels ADAT,
Yamaha O2R 24 channel 48 input, Yamaha O1V, Steinberg MIDEX 8, Yamaha Motif Rack,
UAD-1 with jBridge for 32bit plugins, I7 Windows 7 64bit, 32GB RAM, Asus P8Z77 LV-X,
3 Asus 32” monitors, Korg Triton Studio, Korg M1, Roland Sound Canvas 8850 Pro,
Waves Horizon, SSL, X-feedback, Abbey Road, Melodyne 4, MLP, Fractal AX8.

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos »

Fellas,

I'm not here to debate semantics, or to stake claim to the True Definition of or overlaps between function, feature and workflow. My issue with the loss of Transparent Events has been reasonably documented earlier in this thread. The feature existed, and any number of us incorporated it into our style of working, our process, whatever you want to call it. In the current Nuendo, the ability to toggle it on or off disappeared. I'd like to see that come back, because it improved my working experience. The functionality? It turned events clear. It created for an uncluttered, clean background where gridlines were easily viewed. Aspects of color-coding were available, but events remained clear. This was helpful to me when organizing categories of tracks, and was less fatiguing when editing. I understand that that's not the case for everybody. Not everybody misses Transparent Events. But, judging by the vitality of this thread, a good bunch of us do. I'd still like to see toggle-ability come back.

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4252
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by MattiasNYC »

Ok, so it's "just" about how things look and it doesn't have to affect the way you work.

I don't mind if you get what you want back as an option. Personally I don't have a need for it.
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

Getalife2
Member
Posts: 676
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 3:32 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Getalife2 »

My popcorn is ready!
N10.3 - i7 5960X/32 GB at 4 GHz Win 7 Pro 64bit - 2x RME MADI - 3X UAD-2 Quad

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4252
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by MattiasNYC »

lol
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: noeqplease, Valerio Daniele and 1 guest