N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post general topics related to Nuendo 10 here.
miguelnunes
Junior Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 6:01 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by miguelnunes »

chi_mike wrote:
Wed Sep 04, 2019 3:08 pm
Is it back in 10.2? I don't need to update if it's not.
Also waiting for some kind of confirmation, not updating if they didn’t revert that situation.

Aldersyde
Member
Posts: 332
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:27 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Aldersyde »

Nope, not included in the update.

User avatar
chi_mike
Junior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:28 am
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by chi_mike »

Well, no need for me to update yet.
Software developer for Apple platforms / Composer
2015 iMac w/ 32GB, 6700K | 2 x z440 Xeons as VSL servers
Nuendo 10.3 ( 3 copies!! ) / NI Komplete 12 / VSL Ensemble Pro 7
Presonus Quantum and Q4848
Saffire Liquid 56 ( backup )
Preamps from a 1968 Scully 280 and other cool gear.
I used to be dr_funk on the blue forum. now I code apps.
"Code Natively!"

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos »

Hope springs eternal. Is there any chance of Transparent Events returning in 10.3?

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

Sonic_Dropper
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:09 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Sonic_Dropper »

Well thats a bummer. I too was waiting for it to come back. I will not upgrade until it comes back. It's that big of a deal to me. Ive used Nuendo since version 1. I would like to use the new Melodyne integration but not that bad....
PLEASE BRING IT BACK..

miguelnunes
Junior Member
Posts: 83
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 6:01 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by miguelnunes »

Dear Nuendo 10.2.0 Team:

So. Tried to give, yet, another chance to the colour context without "transparent mode", spent 5 hours on it.
Cant get a "deeper" track colour to work properly on a dark project background, and can't stand a "lite" project background with black wave forms.
Always worked with strong track colours, and the closest thing I could get and tolerate, take notice that its just my user preference, was a white waveform across the board, but, after setting and saving those colours prefs, I came with yet another funny thing: THERE ARE BUGS ON THE SAVED SETTINGS ON THE COLOURS PREFS. Those will not save as expected, well, sometimes they do, sometimes they don't!!!
Do you guys really think that in Post, we have the time to open the editor instead of staying on the project window, to edit a file?! Cause it seems like the sudden disappear of the "transparent mode" leads exactly to that kind of thinking.
Im now back to N8, mind you, payed the same for that N8-N10 upgrade as the people that crossgraded from cubase, oh!!!! and also mind you, my first Nuendo rig was that bundled RME one back in the days, with RME AD/DA´s and Word Clock, N2/N3.
So, and after spending that amount of money throughout all these years on your products, can I at least get my preferred workspace back? it was there recently, but then, a ".1" update tried to marry his relative just to make things EASIER (?!)
Get your S#it together Steinberg, ASAP.

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos »

This is really frustrating.

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

mufi
Junior Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:00 am
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by mufi »

Transparent mode is my favourite look. AND IT'S NOT ONLY ME!
So Steinberg please include it as an option.
N 7.1.35 64bit | Asus Sabretooth P67, i7 2600K, 8gb ddr3 | Windows 10 x64 | RME UC | Altiverb 7 | Speakerphone 2
N 7.1.35 64bit | N 10.3 | Asus B360 TUF Pro Gaming, i7 8700, 16gb ddr4 | Windows 10 x64 | RME FF400 | Euphonix MC MIX | Altiverb 7 | Speakerphone 2 | Equality | Equick | AutoAlign Post etc.

sonictimbo
Junior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 3:38 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by sonictimbo »

Drum editing is almost impossible on the new graphics - TRANSPARENCY PLEASE

IT'S SLOWING ME DOWN!!
Nuendo 7.0.35, Two 2.93GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon Westmere processors, 48Gig RAM, UAD Quad, OSX 10.10.5 Focusrite Rednet 2 (X2) and 3

lordExtra
Member
Posts: 242
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2017 8:46 am
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by lordExtra »

show stopper
HP z820, dual 6core Xeon 2643v3 3.5GHz, 64GB, AMD FirePro 5100, Samsung 850pro, UAD Octo PCIe, 2x RME Raydat, Cubase Pro 10, Windows 10 1903

sonictimbo
Junior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 3:38 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by sonictimbo »

Work Stopper!
Nuendo 7.0.35, Two 2.93GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon Westmere processors, 48Gig RAM, UAD Quad, OSX 10.10.5 Focusrite Rednet 2 (X2) and 3

Getalife2
Member
Posts: 675
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 3:32 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Getalife2 »

Hey, I don't even use transparent mode and at this point, I want it back!

Have a heart, Steinberg, and hear the cries of your people! Hear, oh Steinberg, and deliver them!
N10.3 - i7 5960X/32 GB at 4.3GHz with x7 SSDs - Win 7 Pro 64bit - 2x RME MADI - 3X UAD-2 Quad - VEP

User avatar
24dBFS
New Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 9:50 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by 24dBFS »

I am missing the Transparent Mode too, hoping for a fix in a near future.

To brighten up your day a bit I have created my own version of 184 color palette based on the "material design palette" used by many developers and programmers. All you need to do is to download the empty session, open it and select "Store Color Set as Default" in your Project Color Setup.
This palette will also be a part of an upcoming update of my SHERLOCK and WATSON VSTs.
Cheers!
Attachments
14bitMIDI-ColorPalette_N10.zip
Extract the zip - Open attached empty N10 session - Save color palette as Default - Done!
(19.08 KiB) Downloaded 101 times
Multi-touch VST controller for Cubase & Nuendo:
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
~~~ https://www.14bitMIDI.com~~~
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Image

Image

http://www.karolobara.com

Win 10, Dual Xeon 3GHz, never enough GB's of RAM, RME UFX, GeForce blah blah blah, potato...

Zinnematic
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:34 pm
Location: Orlando, FL
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Zinnematic »

@24dBFS - thank you - this is fantastic

User avatar
Valerio Daniele
Junior Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 2:46 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Valerio Daniele »

Great! Thank you!
Nuendo 10.3 | WaveLab 9.5
RME Fireface800 / Prism Sound Orpheus |
Windows7 64bit SP1 |
Xeon E5-2620 v2 CPU, Gigabyte X79-UP4, 16GB RAM, Sapphire Nitro+ RX470 video |
UAD-2 Quad, Sonnox Plugins, SoundToys plugs, Kontakt4, Ivory II, FabFilter Pro-Q, Antares Auto-Tune, Izotope RX

User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1499
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by fenderchris »

Superb!

Thanks 24dBFS.
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

OS: Windows-10 Pro 64-bit v.1903.
PC: i7 Quad core 2.66GHz, 24GB ram, SSD drives.
Screens: LG 4K 3440x1440, AG-Neovo 1280x1024 (x2).
Hardware: RME FireFace UFX, MR816CSX (x2), SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Midi Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Roland V-Drums TD-20X, Nektar Panorama P1.
Software: Nuendo-8.1.10, Wavelab-Elements-9.5, Halion-6, Halion Sonic 3, Kontakt-5, Cubase iCPro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth), Omnisphere, Trillian.

Getalife2
Member
Posts: 675
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 3:32 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Getalife2 »

24dBFS wrote:
Tue Sep 24, 2019 3:00 pm
I am missing the Transparent Mode too, hoping for a fix in a near future.

To brighten up your day a bit I have created my own version of 184 color palette based on the "material design palette" used by many developers and programmers. All you need to do is to download the empty session, open it and select "Store Color Set as Default" in your Project Color Setup.
This palette will also be a part of an upcoming update of my SHERLOCK and WATSON VSTs.
Cheers!
Excellent and very much appreciated! This is the kind of thing that makes forums like this one so helpful. I'm having a blast with these colors. One of my favorite things is with the multiplicity of choices I can get very similar colors while still being able to choose between white or black text. So helpful!

Thank you! Even though I have the now excellent DFader V2 from Devil Technologies I am still going to buy your new software when released just show some support and say thanks.
N10.3 - i7 5960X/32 GB at 4.3GHz with x7 SSDs - Win 7 Pro 64bit - 2x RME MADI - 3X UAD-2 Quad - VEP

User avatar
chi_mike
Junior Member
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:28 am
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by chi_mike »

Thank you for not using the damned flat UI trend often seen in iOS apps! I have to deal with that crap in every Sketch file I get!
Software developer for Apple platforms / Composer
2015 iMac w/ 32GB, 6700K | 2 x z440 Xeons as VSL servers
Nuendo 10.3 ( 3 copies!! ) / NI Komplete 12 / VSL Ensemble Pro 7
Presonus Quantum and Q4848
Saffire Liquid 56 ( backup )
Preamps from a 1968 Scully 280 and other cool gear.
I used to be dr_funk on the blue forum. now I code apps.
"Code Natively!"

Luis Dongo
Moderator
Posts: 927
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:19 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Luis Dongo »

Dear all,

I'm very happy to let you know that we've just released the Nuendo 10.2.20 maintenance update that brings a new feature called "Event Opacity" that basically replaces the previous "Transparent Events" feature sand even improves it, as it lets you control the amount of transparency you want to have for the events.

This update is available in the Nuendo Download page as well as via the Steinberg Download Assistant.

All the best,
Luis Dongo
Marketing Manager - Pro Audio

Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Connect with Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram and SoundCloud.

lordExtra
Member
Posts: 242
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2017 8:46 am
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by lordExtra »

Is it just me or does the event opacity apply to Audio as well as MIDI data? This basically consolidates the more than questionable fact that Nuendo handles both data types equally, which is a problem especially in the editor. Set up colours that work for MIDI data > get unusable colours for Audio data and vice versa.

This update also screws with audio performance on ( at least my Mac > Mojave ), approx 20% CPU overhead compared to .10 version.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2020-03-26 at 12.11.06.png
(100.25 KiB) Not downloaded yet
HP z820, dual 6core Xeon 2643v3 3.5GHz, 64GB, AMD FirePro 5100, Samsung 850pro, UAD Octo PCIe, 2x RME Raydat, Cubase Pro 10, Windows 10 1903

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 818
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos »

Just downloaded it, but my dongle is on another computer some distance away (%#!@ dongles), and I haven't been able to test it.

I'm concerned that, being a preference, this new version will not be key-command controllable. Not to be a downer... anybody know about this yet?

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

Aldersyde
Member
Posts: 332
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:27 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Aldersyde »

I would also like transparent mode to return in a future version.

Niekbeem
Member
Posts: 715
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 9:19 am
Location: Amsterdam
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Niekbeem »

by Chewy Papadopoulos » 26 Mar 2020 16:33
I'm concerned that, being a preference, this new version will not be key-command controllable. Not to be a downer... anybody know about this yet?
Please refer to the attached screenshot; your presumption was right unfortunately, and no, there is no key command to move that "Event Opacity"-slider..... :(

NUENDO 10.2.2 PREFS EVENT DISPLAY.png
(733.31 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Over the past few updates I've turned a bit disappointed and sceptical about Steinbergs way of "updating" their software:
1 step forward, 2 steps backwards.....
In their (very silly) battle to "play the opponent to Avid" they're kind of forgetting that "be better" isn't always better.........
I'd love to see them back on the track of "be different" .
..........sigh.........wishful thinking?

Niek/ Amsterdam.
Nuendo 10 / Pro Tools Ultimate / Logic X / MixBus32C 5 / WaveLab 10
MacPro 5.1: 12Core 3.46GHz Intel Xeon/ 48GB RAM/ Mac OSX 10.13
MacBook Pro: 2.9 GHz Intel Core i9/ 32 GB RAM/ Mac OSX 10.14
MetricHalo ULN8 + 2882 / RME HDSPe MadiFace
Euphonix MC Pro

Studio2projects
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2020 4:37 am
Location: Lisboa - Portugal
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Studio2projects »

Hello you all.

No, transparent mode it is not back in Nuendo 10.2.20.
I upgraded from NU 4.3... and I miss the look of it so much 🙁
I don't enjoy this 2020 dark Daws look fashion. I prefer it clear. I can't change that cos than, I can't see the automation lines. They were blue, fantastic blue on a fantastic white window but now, they are white. You can't see white on white...

Chewy,
the diagonal overlapped lines are not annoying. Why don't you say what they really are? They are useless!
I second you every word so far.
I work with Nuendo since version 1.0.2.
This is what happens after 20 years Nuendo development?! Steinberg, you are amazing but don't complicate what should be simple.
What's going on with the transport bar? Was not good enough?! The good old one...

Hope it gets redesign again.
Steinberg, keep it simple! It is faster for us as and user friendly to spot overlapped in a obviously way. Of course you should reintroduce the good old ugly gray.

Aldersyde
Thank you. Your topic was very helpful. I was getting crazy and got some answers thru some valiuos posts I could find here.
My best regards to all

Centralmusic
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5643
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: N10.1: Is Transparent Mode Gone??

Post by Centralmusic »

miguelnunes wrote:
Sun Jun 30, 2019 12:51 pm
twelvetwelve wrote:
Sun Jun 30, 2019 5:16 am
Attached is how I have it set up which I find fine to use.
Tried it already, couldn't get used to it.
I like coloured waveforms, working like that since N3.
Why remove the transparent events option?!
I simply don't get it.

Cheers.
...and I don't get it why you complain.
there are so many wonderful options to display events in Nuendo -
everything can be clearly presented if you want, there is something for each taste!
RIP N3/N8 - say hallo to N10. (...)
!!! NOTE: This is a user forum. It's from users to users. This is not a technical support forum. Therefore sometime some Steinberg employees appear here and help the users. !!!
"Do you already know the manual?"
Kennst du schon das Handbuch?"

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests