record AXR4 reverb?

All about Steinberg's AXR4 audio interface
Post Reply
Aldersyde
Member
Posts: 332
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:27 pm
Contact:

record AXR4 reverb?

Post by Aldersyde »

Is there a way to record the built in reverb in the AXR4?

User avatar
fuzzydude
Member
Posts: 481
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 5:21 pm
Contact:

Re: record AXR4 reverb?

Post by fuzzydude »

Aldersyde wrote:
Wed Feb 19, 2020 5:41 pm
Is there a way to record the built in reverb in the AXR4?
You could do this with older mr816csx, so it's hopeful that it's likely
Comps+OS: PC's (Win 10 1903) - Mac Pro (Catalina) - MacBook Pro (Moave) I Nuendo 10 | Cubase Pro 10 I Wavelab 9.5 Pro

Aldersyde
Member
Posts: 332
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:27 pm
Contact:

Re: record AXR4 reverb?

Post by Aldersyde »

fuzzydude wrote:
Wed Feb 19, 2020 11:56 pm
Aldersyde wrote:
Wed Feb 19, 2020 5:41 pm
Is there a way to record the built in reverb in the AXR4?
You could do this with older mr816csx, so it's hopeful that it's likely
I have not been able to find a way yet.

User avatar
fuzzydude
Member
Posts: 481
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 5:21 pm
Contact:

Re: record AXR4 reverb?

Post by fuzzydude »

Aldersyde wrote:
Thu Feb 20, 2020 1:46 am
fuzzydude wrote:
Wed Feb 19, 2020 11:56 pm
Aldersyde wrote:
Wed Feb 19, 2020 5:41 pm
Is there a way to record the built in reverb in the AXR4?
You could do this with older mr816csx, so it's hopeful that it's likely
I have not been able to find a way yet.
Apologies, I misread, you could not do this with the older MR unit either. Only EQ and Comp.
Comps+OS: PC's (Win 10 1903) - Mac Pro (Catalina) - MacBook Pro (Moave) I Nuendo 10 | Cubase Pro 10 I Wavelab 9.5 Pro

Aldersyde
Member
Posts: 332
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:27 pm
Contact:

Re: record AXR4 reverb?

Post by Aldersyde »

fuzzydude wrote:
Thu Feb 20, 2020 9:10 pm
Aldersyde wrote:
Thu Feb 20, 2020 1:46 am
fuzzydude wrote:
Wed Feb 19, 2020 11:56 pm


You could do this with older mr816csx, so it's hopeful that it's likely
I have not been able to find a way yet.
Apologies, I misread, you could not do this with the older MR unit either. Only EQ and Comp.
It would be nice to include this feature in any update although the reality might be not having enough DSP.

Fishreeler
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2020 1:41 pm
Contact:

Re: record AXR4 reverb?

Post by Fishreeler »

You may have been lucky to find a preset that fully matches the mix. But I know from my own experience that a factory preset almost always needs additional tuning. And I also found out that among the dense forest of reverb parameters, there is a fairly small group that the correct setting of which brings the greatest benefit. Here are some guidelines for getting the fastest results.

The most important thing to understand correctly is the balance between the reverb length and the level of reverb in all tracks in the mix. Most people who provide mixes for our Rescue Studio underestimate this balance. They use either too long reverb, which does not allow you to raise its level so that it does not blur the mix, or too short, which also does not allow you to get the full sound and do not distance the tracks to the horizon. Almost every reverb processor has controls over the reverb length (this parameter is referred to as Decay Time or Reverb Time). Therefore, experiment with different length settings, and in tandem with this, manipulate the effect return fader. Find the best balance between these two parameters. In fact, this is something that I often return to in the final stages of data processing, since this balance is quite difficult to judge until the relative reverb levels for each instrument are set up.

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg AXR”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest