Rendering quality of transients

Use this forum for an overview of issues and to report new ones.
Post Reply
eightyeightkeys
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 7:01 pm
Contact:

Rendering quality of transients

Post by eightyeightkeys »

I feel like this topic shouldn't even be an issue at this point, but, I'm noticing, over a longer period of time now, that transients, particularly the snap of a kick drum or snare renders slightly differently than the real time playback of the mix.

Typically, I'm getting a dance kick snapping nicely in the mix, I render it, and then wtf ?....it seems to always render lower in level than where I was hearing it in the mix.

There's nothing on my mix bus and even if there was it should render exactly the same as the real time playback.

Anybody have any idea ? Is there any difference in an offline render versus a real time render ?
eightyeightkeys
Asus G752 VW-DH71, i76700HQ, 32GB DDR4 RAM, 2 SSD's, Windows 10 Home

KHS
Member
Posts: 669
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 4:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Rendering quality of transients

Post by KHS »

What file format and setting do you use when doing a mixdown?
Cubase Pro 10.0.60 - Steinberg UR242 - Windows 10 Latest build - I7-7700K@4,5GHz - Gigabyte GTX1070 Xtreme Gaming - 16GB RAM - Gigabyte Gaming 5 Z270 mobo - Corsair MP510 960 GB - Corsair MP510 1920 GB - Samsung 840 EVO 240 GB - Crucial MX300 525 GB.

User avatar
Vinylizor
Member
Posts: 397
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 9:33 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Rendering quality of transients

Post by Vinylizor »

Check your auto-fade settings if you are copy pasting an audio sample for your kick / snare throughout the track.
If you have auto-fade set globally it may be robbing them of their transients - you will need to disable this on your transient important tracks.
C10.5
Antelope Orion 32+ Thunderbolt
Core Audio driver
Mac Pro 6,1 3 GHz 10-Core Intel Xeon E5 64Gb Ram 1TB HD
OSX 10.15

eightyeightkeys
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 7:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Rendering quality of transients

Post by eightyeightkeys »

44.1kHz-24bit. The Project Settings and render settings are exactly the same.

The kik sample is off of a VSTi so there should not be any issue of an auto-fade. But, even there there was an auto fade, I should be hearing what I'm hearing and then the render should be an exact copy of what I'm hearing.

Doing a null test this morning. Will report back.
eightyeightkeys
Asus G752 VW-DH71, i76700HQ, 32GB DDR4 RAM, 2 SSD's, Windows 10 Home

eightyeightkeys
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 7:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Rendering quality of transients

Post by eightyeightkeys »

Well hell.

The real time playback of the mix peaked at -8.5 dbFS

I imported the render, flipped the phase 180 degrees and no null. Not even close. -9.4 dbFS.
eightyeightkeys
Asus G752 VW-DH71, i76700HQ, 32GB DDR4 RAM, 2 SSD's, Windows 10 Home

eightyeightkeys
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 7:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Rendering quality of transients

Post by eightyeightkeys »

O.K. trying to Trash Pref's...let's see what happens.
eightyeightkeys
Asus G752 VW-DH71, i76700HQ, 32GB DDR4 RAM, 2 SSD's, Windows 10 Home

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests