Plugins hanging and having to force quit Cubase 10.5

Use this forum for an overview of issues and to report new ones.
Post Reply
patsy2
New Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 9:59 am
Contact:

Plugins hanging and having to force quit Cubase 10.5

Post by patsy2 »

So mony Plugins cause Cubase 10.5 to hang when opening them, resulting in having to do a forced quit of Cubase and go through the process again. Ozone 9 advanced doesnt even want to work after opening on my 2 buss.
Fabfilter Pro Q3 works when Cubase allows it to... So frustrating how Steinberg can always get this wrong. No wonder people jumping ship, I dont blame them.
Using Cubase 10.5 . Mac Osx Sierra. Uad Apollo . Mac Pro late 2013

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 25255
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugins hanging and having to force quit Cubase 10.5

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

TO me it sounds like this famous iLok issue.

Make sure you have the latest iLok software and driver installer,d please. Also make sure your plug-ins are up to date. You can also try to start Cubase in Windows 8 compatibility mode.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

ca-booter
Member
Posts: 392
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:38 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Plugins hanging and having to force quit Cubase 10.5

Post by ca-booter »

Fabfilter Pro Q3 does not use the i-lok. I bought it the other day and it works just fine here.
PC ASUS i7-2600 3,4Ghz |Win10-Pro 20H2 SSD | 16Gb DDR3 | ASUS R5 230 graphics | Cubase Pro 11, user since Atari | Wavelab 10 EL | Absolute 3 | TT-SuperiorDrummer3 | TT-EZ Bass | Yamaha N12 FW | Steinberg UR816C+Behringer ADA8200 | Behringer X-Touch One | M-Audio Axiom-61 | Fishman TriplePlay | Lexicon MX200, Strymon Volante, Art Pro VLA II, Art Pro Channel II and Klark Teknik: KT-2A, 1176-KT, 4*EQP-KT

sammusic50
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2019 7:28 am
Contact:

Re: Plugins hanging and having to force quit Cubase 10.5

Post by sammusic50 »

I have the same issue. I noticed it's with all "good looking" plug-ins... Arturia V collection 7 and Pigments, Fabfilter, and some Waves too...

powernemo
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 4:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugins hanging and having to force quit Cubase 10.5

Post by powernemo »

It happens to me as well, while using virtual instruments.

djufo
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 7:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugins hanging and having to force quit Cubase 10.5

Post by djufo »

Yep.. Happening to me as well.. Mainly when I try to open more than one plugin GUI at a time, say Fabfilter Q3 Pro and L2 for instance. Really is annoying me now and seriously considering moving to a different DAW after nearly 30 years of using Cubase. Sort it out Steinberg please!

kaufmanne
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 12:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugins hanging and having to force quit Cubase 10.5

Post by kaufmanne »

Hello To All the Steinberg Team ,

Any New about Cubase 10.5 and Pro-Q 3 crashes?

The first discussion: Dec 06, 2019

Thank You
Eric

zipb
Junior Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2015 12:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugins hanging and having to force quit Cubase 10.5

Post by zipb »

Pigments and Ozone 9 work for me in 10.5.x
Desktop:
Gigabyte Z390 Designare/i9 9900k/OSX10.14.6/Cubase Pro 10.5.20/32 GB RAM/MSI AMD R480x/SSD's/Metric Halo ULN-8/UAD2 Quad
Laptop:
MacBook Pro 16,2/OSX10.15.7/16GB RAM/Metric Halo ULN-2

keltech
Junior Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2017 6:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugins hanging and having to force quit Cubase 10.5

Post by keltech »

upgraded to 10.5 latest, latest June build of fabfilter Q3 if I open a second instance the plugin hangs cubase
went back to version 10 and its ok. as usual regretting paying to upgrade

any ideas? OSX high Sierra
Cubase 10, UAD Apollo 8, Mac 4.0 High Seirra

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 25255
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugins hanging and having to force quit Cubase 10.5

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

Please upload the *.crash file.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Jamaldnb
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2020 7:07 am
Contact:

Re: Plugins hanging and having to force quit Cubase 10.5

Post by Jamaldnb »

Same issue and more with all other plugins too... UAD, Eventide, Fabfilter, soundtoys... Arturia.. I not only have issues with VST FX but instruments as well. Totally unusable.
Mac Pro Trashcan (Late 2013) 6 core 32g 1tb ssd
UA Apollo 8
UA satellite

Don Aldson
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2019 1:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugins hanging and having to force quit Cubase 10.5

Post by Don Aldson »

keltech wrote:
Tue Jul 07, 2020 8:29 pm
upgraded to 10.5 latest, latest June build of fabfilter Q3 if I open a second instance the plugin hangs cubase
went back to version 10 and its ok. as usual regretting paying to upgrade

any ideas? OSX high Sierra
Did you ever get to the bottom of this? Having exact same issue with Nuendo 10.3

st10ss
Member
Posts: 691
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:04 pm
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Plugins hanging and having to force quit Cubase 10.5

Post by st10ss »

kaufmanne wrote:
Wed Feb 05, 2020 5:50 pm
Hello To All the Steinberg Team ,

Any New about Cubase 10.5 and Pro-Q 3 crashes?

The first discussion: Dec 06, 2019

Thank You
Eric
it always worked at my system, no crashes at all with Fabfilter plug-ins
Steffen
DAW: Nuendo, Cubase, Wavelab
Plugins: Fabfilter, UAD, Eventide, Waves, Voxengo, SIR, Native Instruments
Desks: A&H dLive (Live Sound), A&H QU16 (Live Sound), Yamaha DM1000(Home Studio)
i5 6400, 16GB RAM, Win10Pro 2004

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 25255
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugins hanging and having to force quit Cubase 10.5

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

Fabfilter is quite graphic card (and graphic settings) sensitive. It depends what graphic card do you use, what driver, HiDPI or not, scaling level, etc.

Could you share these informations, please.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

torstengrenz
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 8:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugins hanging and having to force quit Cubase 10.5

Post by torstengrenz »

Sounds like the same problem described in this post:

viewtopic.php?f=286&t=147182

There are workarounds.

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Polozic and 2 guests