[CAN-27408] Cubase 10.5 completely slow on Mac Mojave

Use this forum for an overview of issues and to report new ones.
Post Reply
MaestroMetro7
Member
Posts: 207
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 7:17 pm
Contact:

Re: [CAN-27408] Cubase 10.5 completely slow on Mac Catolina

Post by MaestroMetro7 »

Ted Perlman wrote:
Fri Jul 10, 2020 7:13 pm
Um, I've just gotten Presonus' "Studio One 4". It's great, but all the rumours I heard about how it wouldn't be a learning curve for me coming from Nuendo/Cubase are false. I opened it up expecting to be "ready set go". Nope. I opened it up thinking I could open a Nuendo or Cubase song. Nope. I opened it up thinking I could set it up to look just like the way I set up Nuendo/Cubase. Nope. What I really wanted was to see if it could work using the Dark mode on Mac OS Catalina, which doesn't work on Cubase 10.5 or Nuendo 10.3. Never got that far. When I taught record production and demo production at UCLA, I told my students to not keep any software that they couldn't get to at least play a virtual or midi instrument in 15 minutes. I worked on Studio One 4 for almost two hours and never got anything to play. A piano finally played but it wouldn't read my sustain pedal. Unlike Cubase/Nuendo, you can't just select "all midi in", you have to specify what keyboard you're using. Screw that, I use a lot of different keyboards; I don't want to have to manually enter each one when I change. I want to simply plug it in and start. All of this means that there actually is a steep learning curve to Studio One 4, or I'm stupid. Take your choice, either answer is probably correct.
To be totally honest, when I said there wasn't a steep learning curve I didn't expect that to be taken as open Studio One and take off running as it sounds the expectation as you've described it.

There IS a learning curve, but it definitely isn't a steep one. Once your familiarize with the UI and where things are (basic things) then you'd see everything else works off the same principles as Cubase but better IMHO. I "was" a Cubase user since Cubase 3.5 so I am intimately familiar with Cubase moreso than Studio One. So given, I obviously had to learn where certain things were for the most basic operations so there is some initial upfront time to be get familiar with it. But I haven't spoken to nor heard anyone ever say it was a huge leap to switch. Most I've heard from are all in agreement as to what I said.

Does that mean the statement is applicable to everyone? Obviously not :D But I've found SO4 to be a rock solid DAW and couldn't be more happy and definitely more productive now than I was and at the end of the day that's what it's about right? Productivity not troubleshooting.

The developers for Studio One are prior developers on the Cubase platform so if you were to take a little time to learn the interface first, I'm certain you'll see many things are very familiar; only better in some aspects.

For instance, I own an iMac and between the graphics issues and degraded performance I was really struggling. Add the fact that I use VST's extensively in my Productions; the time it took to freeze a track just to run partially more efficient was killing my production time.

Now I throw as many VST's as my system can handle into a session, render them to audio in a simple keystroke and then right-click to disable them. Disabling them all takes a fraction of a second and is functionally equivalent to freezing tracks in Cubase and having to wait for that. And if you decide to use them again, unfreezing the tracks can take equally as long. Not anymore for me. I've got a need for speed and it just wasn't working.

Anyway, enough of that. I'm not responding to bash Cubase. For some it's the perfect DAW and that's fine. It was for me as well but I'm just not on that band wagon anymore. I was a loyal patron since 1998 so I think I've put my time in and have supported Steinberg maybe not as long as some but most definitely longer than most. I really tried to stick in there but times a wasting.

Good Luck and sorry you took my comment in the wrong context. I didn't mean it that way ;)

User avatar
Ted Perlman
Junior Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 10:34 am
Location: Los Angeles, California USA
Contact:

Re: [CAN-27408] Cubase 10.5 completely slow on Mac Mojave

Post by Ted Perlman »

No offense. I figured Logic out in one day because it made sense. And I was coming from Cakewalk. Nuendo was easy for me. I got it instantly. However Studio One 4 doesn’t make sense to me and it sure doesn’t feel familiar. I have lots of friends at Presonus that I’ve known for many years, and I want to like it for them. I just can’t figure it out. Remember, I figured out Logic in one day without any help. It’s been a few days of Studio One 4 and I can’t figure anything out. The last time that happened was with Sonar. Never could make that work, and it’s supposed to be easy.
Regards,

Ted "Theo" Perlman
Producer-Guitarist-Arranger-Theologian
Nuendo 10.2.20 / Cubase 10.0.60 / Wavelab 9.5
Macbook Pro i7 2017 Quadcore 2.7 16gb ram, OSX Catalina 10.15.5
misterperlman@gmail.com
http://www.facebook.com/ted.perlman

Musicmould
Junior Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 3:18 pm
Location: Internet
Contact:

Re: [CAN-27408] Cubase 10.5 completely slow on Mac Mojave

Post by Musicmould »

I too get the spinning beach ball of doom running Cubase 10.5 in Mojave.

I don't have to force quit anymore (I did for a while until the latest update) since the beach ball goes away after a little while but the problem is that Cubase becomes unresponsive during the beach balling and sometimes cubase just stops which means that if am recording it is extremely annoying for the vocalist/guitarist since a good take is often wasted.

I am really losing my patience with this.
Does anyone have a remedy? Steinberg?
iMac Pro | 64Gb Ram | Radeon Pro Vega 56 8 GB | macOS 10.14.6 | Cubase Pro 10.5.20 | Luna | Pro Tools | Ableton Live | Logic Pro X | Studio One | Melodyne Studio | Revoice Pro | VSL Pro | UAD Apollo 8p+16 | 2xUAD Octo | Softube Console 1 | Motu Midi Express XT | Various drummachines, microphones, hardware synths & fx and way too many plugins |

"Without music, life would be a mistake".

Musicmould
Junior Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 3:18 pm
Location: Internet
Contact:

Re: [CAN-27408] Cubase 10.5 completely slow on Mac Catolina

Post by Musicmould »

MaestroMetro7 wrote:
Sat Jul 11, 2020 2:30 am
Does that mean the statement is applicable to everyone? Obviously not :D But I've found SO4 to be a rock solid DAW and couldn't be more happy and definitely more productive now than I was and at the end of the day that's what it's about right? Productivity not troubleshooting.
And right there it becomes obvious that everyone's experience is different.
A couple of years ago I decided to leave Logic and Pro Tools for Studio One.
Turned out to be the worst decision I have ever made.

I was enticed by the ease of drag and drop and simple workflow. I got to know Studio One really quick since I have been working with a long line of different software including several daws. Throughout the first couple of months I had some random bugs and weird behaviour but I put it down to inexperience with the software and so on. A year later I was at a complete standstill and hated Studio One with every inch of my being and I was ready to give up on music. The bugs and odd behaviour had snowballed and was ruining my creativity and draining my very will to live. Presonus support could never really help me with anything. Channels moved around in the console by themselves, frequent crashes were standard, I had sessions that were so sluggish that it would take 1 minute (yes) to move a couple of audio-regions and so on. Presonus got hold of one of my projects and actually replied that it seemed that there was a bug that had created 20.000 audio files in that very project (turned out to be in several projects). I asked how that was possible and Presonus replied - we don't know. "We've seen it before but it doesn't happen that often". :shock: At that point I just gave up on Studio One and went with Cubase instead - and everything started working again.

Cubase has worked well for me and allowed me to get songs recorded without any bigger problems which is all I look for. However, with Cubase 10.5 in Mojave I am experiencing problems with Cubase as well and even though it's nowhere near the creative meltdown I had with Studio One it is yet annoying.
iMac Pro | 64Gb Ram | Radeon Pro Vega 56 8 GB | macOS 10.14.6 | Cubase Pro 10.5.20 | Luna | Pro Tools | Ableton Live | Logic Pro X | Studio One | Melodyne Studio | Revoice Pro | VSL Pro | UAD Apollo 8p+16 | 2xUAD Octo | Softube Console 1 | Motu Midi Express XT | Various drummachines, microphones, hardware synths & fx and way too many plugins |

"Without music, life would be a mistake".

vovkinson
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 6:09 pm
Contact:

Re: [CAN-27408] Cubase 10.5 completely slow on Mac Mojave

Post by vovkinson »

I have Cubase 10.5.20 installed on my macbook pro 2015 machine (OS X 10.14.6 Mojave). Even with 15 VST tracks not heavily loaded I get around 17=20% CPU load which is fine but the problem is that in 5 or 10 minutes I can see the CPU frequency starts slowly dropping down from 3.5 to 1.4. I replicated same project on Studio One 4.6.1 whichI have also. No dropping performance. I like Cubase, it works well with my Yamaha Tyros2 keyboard and I just paid for update from 9.5 to 10.5... I don't want to regret my purchase but the fact is I'm extremely disappointed and feel kind of being robbed.

vovkinson
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 6:09 pm
Contact:

Re: [CAN-27408] Cubase 10.5 completely slow on Mac Mojave

Post by vovkinson »

I noticed after 6 or 7 minutes the Cubase 10.5 slowing down the cpu performance running 6 tracks of VST instruments. No FX inserted. I ran the same test on Logic X, Studio One 4 and Reaper and only Cubase 10.5.20 suffers from this issue. I attached the picture so you can compare the performances in yellow box. This is a 8 or so bars simple loop that runs for 10 minutes.
What you guys think? Please share your ideas because I'm running out of them.

P.S. The test ran on Macbook Pro 2015 retina 15" 16G Ram i7 4-core CPU

Thanks,

Vlad
Attachments
PerformanceComp.jpg
(734.72 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: remote337 and 2 guests