Cubase 10 on 2 Computers

Interested in Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 or Cubase Elements 10? Having questions regarding the update or upgrade to the latest version? Please post here!
Post Reply
User avatar
Vocalixx
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 10:04 pm
Location: Trier - Germany
Contact:

Cubase 10 on 2 Computers

Post by Vocalixx »

Hello There,
I do have two cubase versions running on 2 separate computers, Am i able to run one cubase version on my both computers?
Thank you
Chity
Cubase 10 With Vareity of VST's and Plugins

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23194
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 on 2 Computers

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

If your Cubase license sits on the USB-eLicenser, you can install Cubase to multiple computers. Where do you plug your USB-eLicenser to, Cubase will start.

If you own Cubase AI/LE/Elements, the license is stored in the Soft-eLicenser. Then you can run the Chinese on one system only and you would need to reactivate to other Soft-eLicenser. But you can transfer this license to the USB-eLicenser too.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
Vocalixx
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 10:04 pm
Location: Trier - Germany
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 on 2 Computers

Post by Vocalixx »

Hello Martin,
Thank you for the quick answer, my main goal is to have the same sort of 3rd party VST's + All the Steinberg Products on both computers,
So my other question is Am i able to copy from my 2nd Computer eLicenser to the 1st Computers eLicenser certain plugins licenses ?
Cubase 10 With Vareity of VST's and Plugins

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3481
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 on 2 Computers

Post by jaslan »

You can’t “copy” a license. If it’s on the UsB eLicenser, you can move it freely back and forth, as stated above. If you have the soft eLicenser, you can only have on one machine at a time.
Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23194
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 on 2 Computers

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

I don't expect the plug-ins licences are stored on the USB-eLicenser. Only few manufacturers are using USB-eLicenser as a protection system (Vienna Symphonic Library, Korg - in the past, Arturia - in the past, if I'm right).

It's not possible to copy licences.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
Vocalixx
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 10:04 pm
Location: Trier - Germany
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 on 2 Computers

Post by Vocalixx »

Thank you for the info guys
Cubase 10 With Vareity of VST's and Plugins

currentsound
Member
Posts: 249
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 11:16 am
Location: Hollywood, Los Angeles, California, USA
Contact:

Re: Cubase 10 on 2 Computers

Post by currentsound »

From someone who has tried to create a duplicate computer in the past I will tell you all the issues you are likely to face.

The easiest way to duplicate a system that is complex and has lots of plugins is to use something like Acronis Universal Restore to make an identical copy of the OS and all of it's plugins and drives. However, the next computer is likely a laptop and will need all of it's drivers installed over the top. If you can get most of your plugins on iLok, you can then just move the eLiecenser and iLok from your main computer to your 2nd computer.

However, lots of plugin manufactures only give you a serial number and don't do iLok. Since the computers, although a clone, will have different hardware and therefore will most likely have a different windows activation and a different hardware ID if the serial is liked to the hardware ID. That means, the serials that work on the first computer won't work on the 2nd. So you have to get new serial numbers. If the number of plugins using a serial is minimal, this is not such a big deal but it can sometimes mean buying multiple licenses for the same plugin which can get expensive. Now lots of manufactures are moving to online activations and away from iLoks so this is not so easy to do anymore as it was once in the past.

Then every time you install a plugin or sample library on one computer, you have to do the same on the other. You can't just keep re-imaging it since you'd have to enter all the new serials and install the new drivers again. This becomes a pain in the ass.

My present solution for portability, which I think is the best option, is just to have a super powerful massive pimped out laptop and use that for both in the studio and on the go. It's one of those huge gaming laptops that can hold multiple internal hard drives. It has huge fans and doesn't throttle. It's not so portable because it's very heavy but it is just as powerful as my old desktop, actually a little faster. Most guys don't need that much power and hard drive space though and can get away with a smaller laptop. If you do end up buying a fancy laptop sometime in the future, get one with Thunderbolt so you can use Thunderbolt interfaces and old firewire ones. That means you can pretty much take it to any studio and hook it up to whatever interface they have rather than having to bring your own and re-patch everything. I used this to seamlessly move from one studio to another on the other side of the world without any downtime and I use it here in LA to take projects from my studio to home or to another recording studio.

Post Reply

Return to “Presales”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests