How do I use external hardware effects with Cubase 10?

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
Post Reply
dickiefunk
New Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 9:38 pm
Contact:

How do I use external hardware effects with Cubase 10?

Post by dickiefunk »

Hi,

I would like to start using some external hardware effects with Cubase 10 and have had a look at some tutorials online but I can only get so far because "external effects" is not showing up in the inserts?
These are the video tutorials I've watched :-

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H-N-9AGlrXk

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZCdOp4JpY18

I have an EQ connected to the analog input and output's of channel 8 on my Motu 828es interface.

I would really appreciate you help.

Thanks

dickiefunk
New Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 9:38 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I use external hardware effects with Cubase 10?

Post by dickiefunk »

I've just found that the External Plugins in the inserts is now within the Steinberg plugins options. I'm not getting an external effects channel appear in the mixer and when I try to add my external effect to a channel this mutes the audio?

At the moment I have an EQ connected to the input and output of channel 8 which I have patched in to my interface so that I can record both the dry signal and eq'd signal simultaneously. I would also like to be able to send tracks other tracks to this eq when mixing from Cubase at a later stage. How do I do this?

dickiefunk
New Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 9:38 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I use external hardware effects with Cubase 10?

Post by dickiefunk »

The external EQ is not appearing in the sends?

svennilenni
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4992
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I use external hardware effects with Cubase 10?

Post by svennilenni »

dickiefunk wrote:
Thu Jul 16, 2020 7:57 pm
I'm not getting an external effects channel appear in the mixer
No one gets „appearing“ fx channels in the mixer
dickiefunk wrote:
Thu Jul 16, 2020 7:57 pm
and when I try to add my external effect to a channel this mutes the audio?
Then you should learn how to do the routing and setup correctly. Since you ´re not giving any useful information on your system and or hardware, you should start by reading the manuals.
dickiefunk wrote:
Thu Jul 16, 2020 8:04 pm
The external EQ is not appearing in the sends?
No busses do.

dickiefunk
New Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 9:38 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I use external hardware effects with Cubase 10?

Post by dickiefunk »

svennilenni wrote:
Thu Jul 16, 2020 8:36 pm
No one gets „appearing“ fx channels in the mixer
Hi. Ok I might be using the incorrect terminology. I've worked this out and now have the KLARK TEKNIK outboard channel in the mixer (image Ext. 1)
svennilenni wrote:
Thu Jul 16, 2020 8:36 pm
Then you should learn how to do the routing and setup correctly. Since you ´re not giving any useful information on your system and or hardware, you should start by reading the manuals.
I have done this and I've watched video tutorials and still haven't got it working correctly. This is why I posted the question on here!
svennilenni wrote:
Thu Jul 16, 2020 8:36 pm
No busses do.
Again, I might have used the incorrect terminology but I now have the Klark Teknik showing in the FX Sends (image EXT. 1)

My setup is :-

- Interface: MOTU 828es
- DAW: Cubase 10
- Preamps: Warm Audio TB12 x2
- External hardware Compressors: Klark Teknik KT-2a / Klark Teknik 76-KT
- External hardware EQ: Klark Teknik EQP-KT

Carvin Man
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 10:47 am
Contact:

Re: How do I use external hardware effects with Cubase 10?

Post by Carvin Man »

External FX will show up as an insert plugin... aasuming you have set up the External FX correctly within the Studio Connections window (F4 by default). In there you make an "insert module" routed to the correct physical inputs and outputs.

dickiefunk
New Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 9:38 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I use external hardware effects with Cubase 10?

Post by dickiefunk »

Carvin Man wrote:
Fri Jul 17, 2020 12:11 pm
External FX will show up as an insert plugin... aasuming you have set up the External FX correctly within the Studio Connections window (F4 by default). In there you make an "insert module" routed to the correct physical inputs and outputs.
Thanks for your helpful reply. I've got this part working now. It would appear that the issue is in the DSP mixer of my Motu 828es

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Davinzzie and 4 guests