Noise on track monitoring and recording in CUBASE 10.5.20

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
edrvera
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2020 10:26 pm
Contact:

Noise on track monitoring and recording in CUBASE 10.5.20

Post by edrvera »

Hi!

I updated to the new version of WIN 10, when trying to open CUBASE it asked me to activate Cubase again, I corrected the license activation problem with the new version of elicenser and then update to cubase 10.5.20, but when entering to cubase I have noise in the monitoring and recording.

When I am not using the monitor on the track it is heard without noise (input line). But when I activate monitoring or when I record the track, the noise I listen again.

It only happens with Cubase.

Because I also use the microphone with the interface for videoconferences and the noise does not exist.

I was thinking of uninstalling and reinstalling Cubase.

What I can do?

Because everything worked normal before the updates.

Sorry for my English!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DELL Inspiron 7375 2in1 - AMD Ryzen 5 2500U with Radeon Vega Mobile Gfx 2GHz - Memory 8 Gb - Yamaha Steinberg USB Audio UR22C

ade2
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2018 11:11 am
Contact:

Re: Noise on track monitoring and recording in CUBASE 10.5.20

Post by ade2 »

I have the exact same problem!

I updated from Cubase Pro 10.0.60 to 10.5.20 on Windows 10 Home and started getting this noise when recording and monitoring the track.

I tried everything. Reinstalling Cubase didn't help, my interface is not the issue (tested that too, same case as OP's situation), buffer size does nothing also, changing the sample rate... nothing helped. :roll:

It's like a static distortion like noise that is heard over the instrument you're trying to record. It doesn't affect MIDI instruments though. But this is really annoying.

Does anyone know how to fix this?

Thank you!

ade2
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2018 11:11 am
Contact:

Re: Noise on track monitoring and recording in CUBASE 10.5.20

Post by ade2 »

I've contacted the support so I'll get back to you with the info when they respond.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23073
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Noise on track monitoring and recording in CUBASE 10.5.20

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

Double-check the loopback function is disabled on your Audio Device, please.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

edrvera
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2020 10:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Noise on track monitoring and recording in CUBASE 10.5.20

Post by edrvera »

ade2 wrote:
Sat Jul 11, 2020 4:11 pm
I've contacted the support so I'll get back to you with the info when they respond.
Hi Ade2, I will wait for your answer, I thought it was just a reinstallation.

Thank you..

edrvera
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2020 10:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Noise on track monitoring and recording in CUBASE 10.5.20

Post by edrvera »

Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Sun Jul 12, 2020 7:53 pm
Hi,

Double-check the loopback function is disabled on your Audio Device, please.
Hi Martin, I checked in the dspMixFx, and the loopback function is disabled, the problem persists.

Help!

ade2
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2018 11:11 am
Contact:

Re: Noise on track monitoring and recording in CUBASE 10.5.20

Post by ade2 »

edrvera wrote:
Sun Jul 12, 2020 11:43 pm
Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Sun Jul 12, 2020 7:53 pm
Hi,

Double-check the loopback function is disabled on your Audio Device, please.
Hi Martin, I checked in the dspMixFx, and the loopback function is disabled, the problem persists.

Help!
Hi! Yes, the loopback function is disabled for me too, so that sadly doesn't help with the issue.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23073
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Noise on track monitoring and recording in CUBASE 10.5.20

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

Can you hear a noise (random), or is it something specific (the signal you have recorded already, the other tracks)?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

ade2
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2018 11:11 am
Contact:

Re: Noise on track monitoring and recording in CUBASE 10.5.20

Post by ade2 »

The noise is audible only when I'm recording/monitoring the track that is being recorded, and the noise is also recorded along with the instrument on that track.
The noise is not audible when I'm just importing audio files into the project and playing them back or using any MIDI instruments, so it's just when recording/monitoring the track.

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1785
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: Noise on track monitoring and recording in CUBASE 10.5.20

Post by planarchist »

This is not a problem (I'm pretty sure) that's been seen here before and certainly not on any of my machines.
It might be a good idea to see what other things the two experiencing the problem have in common.
Nic

Cubase Pro 10.5, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, RME Digiface, Behringer ADA8200, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 10.5. Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit , Steinberg CI2+.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

My Cubase recorded songs here (also on most other streaming services).... https://open.spotify.com/artist/6rHmZY1IPskvtYL1Zzw6Vy

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23073
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Noise on track monitoring and recording in CUBASE 10.5.20

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

I understand your replay this is a random noise (like really a noise), it's not the noise of the other already recorded track, or some meaningful signal, right?

Is the noise recorded to the track? If yes, could you share the sample, please?

Or could you record the noise to other source and share it?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

ade2
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2018 11:11 am
Contact:

Re: Noise on track monitoring and recording in CUBASE 10.5.20

Post by ade2 »

planarchist wrote:
Mon Jul 13, 2020 9:47 am
This is not a problem (I'm pretty sure) that's been seen here before and certainly not on any of my machines.
It might be a good idea to see what other things the two experiencing the problem have in common.
Here's a short video for context: https://youtu.be/YweDBNZDC7Q

My keyboard (Yamaha MOX8) is inserted on channels 11/12 on my RME FF UFX II. The loop is just a random loop from the keyboard. This happens with any instrument/mic, the keyboard was just the most convenient choice right now.
Keyboard is stereo routed in Cubase on channels Analog 11/12.
And yes, this noise gets recorded onto the loop when recording it to the track, happens with every other instrument/mic I try to record.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23073
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Noise on track monitoring and recording in CUBASE 10.5.20

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

Thank you for the video.

This sounds like the "noise" comes (or at least is more present) with the Kick sound, am I right? It sounds like kind of "digital" noise.

If you stop the playback, could you also hear the noise at some level?

Do you sync the keyboard with Cubase somehow? MIDI Clock or something like this?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

ade2
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2018 11:11 am
Contact:

Re: Noise on track monitoring and recording in CUBASE 10.5.20

Post by ade2 »

Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Mon Jul 13, 2020 11:06 am
Hi,

Thank you for the video.

This sounds like the "noise" comes (or at least is more present) with the Kick sound, am I right? It sounds like kind of "digital" noise.

If you stop the playback, could you also hear the noise at some level?

Do you sync the keyboard with Cubase somehow? MIDI Clock or something like this?
Hi!

Yes, the kick sets off the noise the most, the noise acts like a preamp that's overloaded so the more volume and sharper transients will set it off more.
But the RME preamps are not the issue, I've tested that already and they work completely fine with no noise.

The noise appears only when I'm in Cubase and I'm trying to record something.

When I stop the playback, there's no noise whatsoever. And no, the keyboard is not synced in any way with Cubase, just connected via two 1/4'' instrument cables.


I haven't changed anything regarding routing or any other setting prior to this update which resulted with these issues, so everything worked fine before the update with this exact same setup.

Maybe there's something (some option or a check box of some sort) that is added in this last update that needs to be checked off but I don't know what to look for.

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1785
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: Noise on track monitoring and recording in CUBASE 10.5.20

Post by planarchist »

I also have an RME interface so I'll run a check later to see if it's maybe an RME/Cubase problem.
Must admit I don't routinely use Cubase's Monitor function other than to check a signal is going in occasionally so wouldn't have noticed this.

Which Win 10 version do you have.
Nic

Cubase Pro 10.5, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, RME Digiface, Behringer ADA8200, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 10.5. Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit , Steinberg CI2+.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

My Cubase recorded songs here (also on most other streaming services).... https://open.spotify.com/artist/6rHmZY1IPskvtYL1Zzw6Vy

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23073
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Noise on track monitoring and recording in CUBASE 10.5.20

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

Do you have any plug-in (on the Stereo Out or any Monitor plug-in) in the Chain by any chance?

What happens if you try to increase the Buffer Size?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

ade2
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2018 11:11 am
Contact:

Re: Noise on track monitoring and recording in CUBASE 10.5.20

Post by ade2 »

planarchist wrote:
Mon Jul 13, 2020 11:37 am
I also have an RME interface so I'll run a check later to see if it's maybe an RME/Cubase problem.
Must admit I don't routinely use Cubase's Monitor function other than to check a signal is going in occasionally so wouldn't have noticed this.

Which Win 10 version do you have.
Hi, I have Windows 10 Home version 1909, OS Build is 18363.900.

I don't use Cubase's monitor that much either and I wouldn't even be that bothered if the noise was only heard when monitoring the track, but the noise gets recorded onto the signal that's going to that track.
Last edited by ade2 on Mon Jul 13, 2020 11:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

ade2
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2018 11:11 am
Contact:

Re: Noise on track monitoring and recording in CUBASE 10.5.20

Post by ade2 »

Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Mon Jul 13, 2020 11:46 am
Hi,

Do you have any plug-in (on the Stereo Out or any Monitor plug-in) in the Chain by any chance?

What happens if you try to increase the Buffer Size?
Hi,

no, there's nothing on my Stereo Out/Control Room. Nothing changes when I change the buffer size, the noise persists.

ade2
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2018 11:11 am
Contact:

Re: Noise on track monitoring and recording in CUBASE 10.5.20

Post by ade2 »

I will update Windows to version 2004, I just saw that the version is now available for the update so I'll get back to you if that changes anything.

ade2
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2018 11:11 am
Contact:

Re: Noise on track monitoring and recording in CUBASE 10.5.20

Post by ade2 »

Nothing changed after Windows update... :|
Image

edrvera
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2020 10:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Noise on track monitoring and recording in CUBASE 10.5.20

Post by edrvera »

Hi everyone!

I was reading what you guys wrote and I don't find anything strange. I only test with a microphone and the noise persists. No pre or post effects.

This is my test video in Cubase 10.5.12: (I reinstalled the .12 version to test if it was a problem with the .20 update)

https://youtu.be/LQaJNUsyLzY

I have updated to Win 10 Home - Version 2004

I hope you help us!

ade2
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2018 11:11 am
Contact:

Re: Noise on track monitoring and recording in CUBASE 10.5.20

Post by ade2 »

I reached out to RME support just for an advice. They told me to check for possible feedback loops but I can't find anything that could be wrong with the routing, it's the same as before the update to 10.5.20 version.

ade2
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2018 11:11 am
Contact:

Re: Noise on track monitoring and recording in CUBASE 10.5.20

Post by ade2 »

Sorry for being annoying with all the replies, just an update.

I just spent an hour with RME support through TeamViewer and they couldn't figure what's causing the noise but they are almost 100% certain that this is a software issue. I had Cubase opened, TotalMix, and control panel for RME interface for them to monitor.

I recorded and exported multiple files for testing so I can send to them, all of them with this noise. Only thing they could help me with is putting it through an analyzer and this came out, actually noise sounds similar to what a bitcrusher would do, sort of:

Image

Still haven't heard from Steinberg support though.

KHS
Member
Posts: 669
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 4:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Noise on track monitoring and recording in CUBASE 10.5.20

Post by KHS »

Did you try the obvious, trash Cubase preferences.
Cubase Pro 10.0.60 - Steinberg UR242 - Windows 10 Latest build - I7-7700K@4,5GHz - Gigabyte GTX1070 Xtreme Gaming - 16GB RAM - Gigabyte Gaming 5 Z270 mobo - Corsair MP510 960 GB - Corsair MP510 1920 GB - Samsung 840 EVO 240 GB - Crucial MX300 525 GB.

ade2
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2018 11:11 am
Contact:

Re: Noise on track monitoring and recording in CUBASE 10.5.20

Post by ade2 »

KHS wrote:
Wed Jul 15, 2020 1:38 pm
Did you try the obvious, trash Cubase preferences.
Hi!

Yes, nothing changes.
I asked on the RME forum and an administrator suggested that this might actually be an issue with ASIO audio getting distorted. And the image that I posted above seems to show missing/muted samples, so not a feedback loop after all.

I'll update if they manage to help me, just in case there are other users besides me and OP who are having the same issue.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ieaston, jpsc, meister1, Norbury Brook, reliablekartusa and 4 guests