Dialogs makes Cubase dive behind other programs

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 2212
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Dialogs makes Cubase dive behind other programs

Post by HowlingUlf »

I think this is a new Cubase 10.5 behavior?
I a lot of dialogs and boxes when I am done editing them I hit Enter or whatever the dialog says to get back to Cubasing.
THEN
* POP * :o
Cubase seems gone but it's behind other programs like it lost the focus in Windows but it's curable by ALT+TAB.
Although it's getting tedious to say the least.

Is it me or is it Cubase, and has anyone else seen this behavior.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10.5 | Steinberg WaveLab 10 | Steinberg Absolute 4 | Steinberg SpectralLayers 6
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1529
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Dialogs makes Cubase dive behind other programs

Post by In_Stereo »

Sorry you're having this issue -- it doesn't happen here to me.
Latest Cubase 10.5, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, i9 10920x 12-core 4.8gHz, 128 gigs RAM, AMD RX-550 , plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 2212
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Dialogs makes Cubase dive behind other programs

Post by HowlingUlf »

Thanks! Better to know than to guess. Now I at least know someone else does NOT have this issue. Hmmm ...
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10.5 | Steinberg WaveLab 10 | Steinberg Absolute 4 | Steinberg SpectralLayers 6
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

Janko Kezar
Member
Posts: 217
Joined: Sun Oct 06, 2013 6:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Dialogs makes Cubase dive behind other programs

Post by Janko Kezar »

I can confirm this behaviour. Doesnt happens always, but when confirming open prefrence windows or prese popup windows cubase looses focus and gets hidden behind other open applications.

v10.5 (doesnt happen in v10.0x)
win10
Cubase 10.5.12 64bit, i7-8700, ATI Radeon RX550 win 10

User avatar
Denis van der Velde
Member
Posts: 427
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 10:41 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Dialogs makes Cubase dive behind other programs

Post by Denis van der Velde »

One of those things that Windows are behind other windows, happens a lot of times.
It's confusing and annoying.
I7 8core 16tread 32gb Aopen Board, SSD Samsung. C10,W10,Halion6,Groove Agent5,etc.
Running on 8ms Latency with a Soundblaster XFi Pro. Yamaha MW12c USB mixer.
Behringer TRUTH B2031A active studiomonitors. Sony MDR-V900 Headphones.
Steinberg CC121 Controller. Mackie Control Pro.

Denis van der Velde
http://www.curioza.com
AAMS Auto Audio Mastering System for Windows

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 2212
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Dialogs makes Cubase dive behind other programs

Post by HowlingUlf »

Look what we found! Too bad it's bad news.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10.5 | Steinberg WaveLab 10 | Steinberg Absolute 4 | Steinberg SpectralLayers 6
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

pkr75
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 12:33 am
Contact:

Re: Dialogs makes Cubase dive behind other programs

Post by pkr75 »

Reviving this old thread..... Was this ever fixed? Recently upgraded to Cubase 10.5 from Cubase 9 and keep on having this problem with lost focus of Cubase after simple confirming operations within the DAW. Interestingly, not all operations, though - and not every time. Can't understand what triggers this behavior..

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 2212
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Dialogs makes Cubase dive behind other programs

Post by HowlingUlf »

pkr75 wrote:
Tue Jul 14, 2020 12:37 am
Reviving this old thread..... Was this ever fixed? Recently upgraded to Cubase 10.5 from Cubase 9 and keep on having this problem with lost focus of Cubase after simple confirming operations within the DAW. Interestingly, not all operations, though - and not every time. Can't understand what triggers this behavior..
No! I still have the same issues!

I haven't looked too close but it's not much of a panic roaring through the forum either, even though it's annoying enough for that to happen, so I start to suspect there might be some other issue we simply just don't see.
We see Cubase disappearing behind the next topmost program but what does that really mean?
Is it actually a Cubase issue or is it e.g. some settings in Windows that makes this silly behavior possible?
Now it MIGHT be but I have only ever experienced this in Cubase and only for the last couple of versions soooo ... I'm not letting Cubase off the hook in any way!
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10.5 | Steinberg WaveLab 10 | Steinberg Absolute 4 | Steinberg SpectralLayers 6
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4501
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Dialogs makes Cubase dive behind other programs

Post by raino »

Can someone seeing this give a step-by-step on how to reproduce it?

I don't think I've ever had this occur.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, Groove Agent 5, WaveLab Pro 10, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

Latest: Bawdy Politik https://rodgerraino.bandcamp.com/releases

BaseCu
Member
Posts: 345
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 9:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Dialogs makes Cubase dive behind other programs

Post by BaseCu »

You can reproduce this reliably by opening the export dialog, entering a file-name, opening the mp3 dialog where you enter meta data, selecting a genre, closing that dialog, and then reopening it and changing the genre. Closing the dialog after changing genre reliably causes it to take a dive.

At this point I'm so used to it that after changing genre I automatically move the cursor to the menu bar and click on it to bring cubase back to the top.

It's just another one of the numerous time-consuming annoyances introduced a few releases ago. Steinberg loves to waste their customers' time.
Studio One, Reaper, Sonar, Cubase | Win10 | i7 8750H/16 GB | RME Fireface UCX

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4501
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Dialogs makes Cubase dive behind other programs

Post by raino »

BaseCu wrote:
Wed Jul 15, 2020 1:28 pm
You can reproduce this reliably by opening the export dialog, entering a file-name, opening the mp3 dialog where you enter meta data, selecting a genre, closing that dialog, and then reopening it and changing the genre. Closing the dialog after changing genre reliably causes it to take a dive.
Just did this and nothing unexpected happened. Probably there is some additional condition necessary to reproduce the problem.

EDIT:
Tried it again and this time the Export Window hid (but not some others). Not sure what might have differed. You should write it up as a step-by-step in the Cubase Issues sub-forum.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, Groove Agent 5, WaveLab Pro 10, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

Latest: Bawdy Politik https://rodgerraino.bandcamp.com/releases

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 2212
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Dialogs makes Cubase dive behind other programs

Post by HowlingUlf »

[edit]
I'm rewriting this. Cubase do da submarine when I:
Export Mixdown
Key Commands
Export Selected Tracks -> Track Archives
Add Audio Track
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10.5 | Steinberg WaveLab 10 | Steinberg Absolute 4 | Steinberg SpectralLayers 6
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

Kearley
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2019 5:59 am
Contact:

Re: Dialogs makes Cubase dive behind other programs

Post by Kearley »

I get this in a bunch of scenarios. Loading a new instrument track, Cubase minimizes until the plugin window is loaded and then it reappears.
If I recall correctly, opening a new session, Cubase minimizes and I need to alt-tab to restore.

D

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ChazC, dylanmixer, Maitch, WalterP and 13 guests