Compatibility with previous Windows versions no longer maintained

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
skijumptoes
Member
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 9:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Compatibility with previous Windows versions no longer maintained

Post by skijumptoes »

November wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 5:06 am
Last but not least: you don't need to aggregate audio cards in Windows!

You can have as many interfaces as you want, and addresses them directly with your DAW. For example in Cubase (menu "Studio" > "Audio Connections" you can create as many inputs / outputs / monitor busses as you want, each one corresponding to a real hardware in/out.
No, it's with coreaudio you CAN do that, with ASIO you cannot. You are limited to one driver at once. That's literally what's being discussed here, not a vs battle.

Example:- If you have a digital workstation such as a Yamaha Montage you can send and receive audio via it's built-in audio interface (6 Chans in, 16/32 chans out), with coreaudio you can aggregate those together with your main audio interface. With Windows you're out of luck.

November
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2019 6:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Compatibility with previous Windows versions no longer maintained

Post by November »

Sorry, you're wrong. Do as I've done: plug several USB interfaces to a Windows box, install their ASIO drivers, reboot. Then launch Cubase, and go to the Studio menu > Audio Connections. Then add as many Inputs / outputs as you can, or select those you want.

For example if you wanna use only the Inputs of the interface A, and only the outputs of the interface B, you can. Same if you wanna use interface A only for monitoring, B only for recording, and a third C interface for mixing. Or anything you want. You don't have to aggregate anything on Windows, it just works!

Instead of writing, just try. Really try. Then if you wanna talk about it again, you're welcome. But don't write anything until you have actually tried.

JDSStudios
Junior Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 1:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Compatibility with previous Windows versions no longer maintained

Post by JDSStudios »

peakae wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 6:11 am

But you can not use multiple ASIO drivers in Cubase.
...

Yes you can, it’s called Asio4All and most have it working flawless.
Nuendo 10.3, Nuendo 4.3 NEK, Halion 3, Groove Agent, RME 96/52 HDSP 52 Channels ADAT,
Yamaha O2R 24 channel 48 input, Yamaha O1V, Steinberg MIDEX 8, Yamaha Motif Rack,
UAD-1 with jBridge for 32bit plugins, I7 Windows 7 64bit, 32GB RAM, Asus P8Z77 LV-X,
3 Asus 32” monitors, Korg Triton Studio, Korg M1, Roland Sound Canvas 8850 Pro,
Waves Horizon, SSL, X-feedback, Abbey Road, Melodyne 4, MLP, Fractal AX8.

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3263
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Compatibility with previous Windows versions no longer maintained

Post by peakae »

Asio4all is a hack, it is not something you should use for anything mission critical / professional.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

skijumptoes
Member
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 9:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Compatibility with previous Windows versions no longer maintained

Post by skijumptoes »

November wrote:
Wed Jul 01, 2020 1:56 am
Instead of writing, just try. Really try. Then if you wanna talk about it again, you're welcome. But don't write anything until you have actually tried.
I've tried numerous times, even using ASIO4ALL which makes it 'achievable' but too unstable and kills performance. Outside of that, You are limited to one ASIO driver at a time.

What interfaces are you using? It's possible you are using 2 from the same manufacturer and thus using a single driver, which is linking for you in the background. For example i have 2 Focusrite Saffires that run via firewire and they link together due to focusrites own linking ability - again, this is because it's all going through a single driver.

As a real world example of what someone would like to do, i couldn't use a Yamaha Montage's audio interface with my primary firewire interface, other than within MacOS. This is due to being on seperate ASIO Drivers.

So please follow your own logic and read what i posted previously:-
With ASIO you cannot. You are limited to one driver at once. That's literally what's being discussed here.

November
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2019 6:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Compatibility with previous Windows versions no longer maintained

Post by November »

My experience was years ago with (olds) Lexicon Lambda USB + a Presonus (don't remember the exact model, but it had two inputs and outputs). Both do had (and still have?) good manufacturer's ASIO drivers, I don't talk about ASIO4ALL here, which is no use in this case.

The project was to record our amateur group live, so that listeners (possible contractors) could have a good idea of what it gives in reality.So no re-recordings / overdubs and no punch ins / outs, no cheating, the record has to be as authentic as possible.

So we mixed (with an analog mixtable) the bass in mono and drums in stereo on a mixtable subgroup directly connected to input channels 1 and 2 of the Lambda, and voice and guitars was mixed the same and connected to the 2 inputs of the Presonus.

We recorded the four tracks simultaneously on Cubase 6 on Windows 7 without any problem.

I remember though that we has little synchro issues during the final mix (always on Cubase 6), but nothing unsolvable, thanks to the possibility to finely offset tracks individually. The final result was engraved on an audio CD and served as our main demo during years, and no one ever complained about it. On the contrario, we had many positive returns concerning the quality of the recording.

skijumptoes
Member
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 9:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Compatibility with previous Windows versions no longer maintained

Post by skijumptoes »

While that's a lovely story, it's never been possible to record with two different ASIO drivers into Cubase on a windows system, i'm afraid. So you've either missed something critical from this recount, or it never happened how you remembered. The Lexi doesn't even have ADAT so that wouldn't explain the confusion you may have.

November
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2019 6:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Compatibility with previous Windows versions no longer maintained

Post by November »

Have I ever talked about ADAT? Why do you think about it? It was years ago, we had a very low budget, so we used cheap USB interfaces and cheap analog gear.

All was mixed in - analog -, with an - analog - mixtable, as I said we used the mixtable - analog - sub-groups direct (line) outs, there was 4, connected to the individual line inputs of the interfaces (the main stereo - analog - out of the mixtable was connected to our monitoring system, so we had - sort of - "direct monitoring").

(Slight correction: I just remembered that secondary (not main) outputs of a mixtable was also called "sub-groups", and you could address exclusively the output of individual mix slices to one or several of them, and each of these sub-groups have an individual line output, which was connected to the interfaces. In this special case the sum of the four subs was addressed to the main stereo output for monitoring.)

(Sorry if my explanations seems unclear, my English is very poor, I do what I can with this difficult language).
Last edited by November on Wed Jul 01, 2020 5:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

skijumptoes
Member
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 9:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Compatibility with previous Windows versions no longer maintained

Post by skijumptoes »

November wrote:
Wed Jul 01, 2020 4:40 pm
Have I ever talked about ADAT? Why do you think about it?
Because you are providing incorrect information, and i was trying to think of what may have confused you into thinking this worked.

I talked ADAT because the interfaces you used 'may' have featured ADAT connections and thus, confused your memory - but that's not the case here, as i specified previously.

So, What you're saying happened, did NOT happen - It is technically impossible to have ever happened, and you couldn't have confused it with an ADAT style connection either.

You cannot today, or yesterday, select more than one ASIO driver within Cubase. If you have found a way, then people will PAY you for the solution, so go ahead and prove it please!

The option to set multiple ASIO driver inputs on your audio connections is an impossibility, without first running something like ASIO4ALL to place them multiple hardware interfaces into a single ASIO Driver, which is not recommended, and neither does it work for me personally.

November
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2019 6:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Compatibility with previous Windows versions no longer maintained

Post by November »

I've managed to reach the bassist (who owned the computer and one of the interfaces), and he said he used something like that.

skijumptoes
Member
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 9:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Compatibility with previous Windows versions no longer maintained

Post by skijumptoes »

Thanks for asking, but i'm already aware of such methods, as stated. The whole point being made is that MacOS handles this on an OS level without additional layers or third party applications - which you disagreed with.

User avatar
Mike Warren
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Dec 13, 2019 4:54 am
Location: Cairns, Australia
Contact:

Re: Compatibility with previous Windows versions no longer maintained

Post by Mike Warren »

November wrote:
Wed Jul 01, 2020 6:10 pm
I've managed to reach the bassist (who owned the computer and one of the interfaces), and he said he used something like that.
That software is not ASIO compatible as far as I'm aware. So you wouldn't have got very good latency, not that that matters in the situation you described.
Cubase Pro 10.5 - Windows 10
DigitalFakeBook Free Windows chord/lyric display software for performing musicians.

vinark
Member
Posts: 662
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Compatibility with previous Windows versions no longer maintained

Post by vinark »

https://discuss.cakewalk.com/index.php? ... able-free/
I have not tried it, but it sounds if this might be what you need.

skijumptoes
Member
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 9:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Compatibility with previous Windows versions no longer maintained

Post by skijumptoes »

Just to make this clear, i'm not asking for help aggregating devices within Windows, i was purely pointing out that MacOS does aggregation of devices on an OS level. This is because everything goes through CoreAudio, meaning low latency from the get go, even for onboard headphone ports without reliance on hacks such as ASIO4All.

This was in answer to a point someone made that if there was a single OS that DAW developers focused on (To make their products better) that it should be Windows. I opposed that by saying MacOS, arguably, has the better audio architecture baked in at OS level across the board.

That's all that was being said, people are really missing the point of the discussion here.

vinark
Member
Posts: 662
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Compatibility with previous Windows versions no longer maintained

Post by vinark »

skijumptoes wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 11:44 am
Just to make this clear, i'm not asking for help aggregating devices within Windows, i was purely pointing out that MacOS does aggregation of devices on an OS level. This is because everything goes through CoreAudio, meaning low latency from the get go, even for onboard headphone ports without reliance on hacks such as ASIO4All.

This was in answer to a point someone made that if there was a single OS that DAW developers focused on (To make their products better) that it should be Windows. I opposed that by saying MacOS, arguably, has the better audio architecture baked in at OS level across the board.

That's all that was being said, people are really missing the point of the discussion here.
Ah ok I am reading this as it evolves so forgot about this. I agree core audio is a plus.
Cheers

User avatar
Scili
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 10:47 am
Contact:

Re: Compatibility with previous Windows versions no longer maintained

Post by Scili »

silhouette wrote:
Sat Aug 24, 2019 8:50 pm
I'm sorry but I think this is unacceptable. I can understand that you will not be supporting Windows 7, but to cast Windows 8.1 users adrift seems a bit harsh, given that there is still Windows support for this version. Why would users who have computers that are still performing well want to upgrade before they need to? I feel that Steinberg has yet again not put the needs of their users before what is convenient for them. This seems to underline the lack of care for long term users.
Exactly.
Dey can’t even fix da scales issues in „pitch correct“.
Years!
Last edited by Scili on Thu Jul 02, 2020 2:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase Pro 10, MacOS Sierra
Wavelab Pro 9.5, Windows 10
Cubase SX 3, Windows XP

User avatar
Scili
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 10:47 am
Contact:

Re: Compatibility with previous Windows versions no longer maintained

Post by Scili »

gamelany wrote:
Sat Aug 24, 2019 10:36 pm
I think there is always a time when you have to develop further to survive.
and especially in the technical world this will be the case more and more often.
Updating useless stuff 4 no reason - mankind
Cubase Pro 10, MacOS Sierra
Wavelab Pro 9.5, Windows 10
Cubase SX 3, Windows XP

User avatar
Scili
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 10:47 am
Contact:

Re: Compatibility with previous Windows versions no longer maintained

Post by Scili »

Cubase SX on WinXP was da best.
Single-Core wit 1 gigabyte of RAM.
Now I hav a Quad-Core wit 8 gigabyte of RAM but half da performance cuz Win10 eats all da ressources :)
Most updates aren’t progress.
What Cubase needs 2 b da best DAW is a MULTIWARP function in da MAIN WINDOW like Logic, Studio One & ProTools - itz about time!
Cubase Pro 10, MacOS Sierra
Wavelab Pro 9.5, Windows 10
Cubase SX 3, Windows XP

skijumptoes
Member
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 9:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Compatibility with previous Windows versions no longer maintained

Post by skijumptoes »

Scili wrote:
Thu Jul 02, 2020 2:50 pm
Cubase SX on WinXP was da best.
Single-Core wit 1 gigabyte of RAM.
Now I hav a Quad-Core wit 8 gigabyte of RAM but half da performance cuz Win10 eats all da ressources :)
Yup, it's well known that Windows immediately maxes out 3.5 cores and takes 7.5GB of RAM vs WinXP machines. Wish i could find a WinXP machine and do some REAL music, man. Sick of windows 10 taking all my stuff.

On top of that, Variaudio is no better than my old EMU sampler for pitching vocals - what kind of progression is this?!! :( /s

ckon
Member
Posts: 349
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Compatibility with previous Windows versions no longer maintained

Post by ckon »

Whats funny about this thread title is it says 'previous'

Windows 10 may 2004 update now says cubase 10 is incompatible and the windows application compatibility troubleshooter applies windows 8 compatibility settings.
ckon:

C Pro 10.0.50 (and all previous)
Main host system:
Win10pro - x64
i7 3770k - 4.5GHZ, 32GB RAM, OS on SSD
RME interfaces.
Museum DAW: Apple Mac LCII Opcode Studio Vision.

Suprawill1
Senior Member
Posts: 1055
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:56 am
Contact:

Re: Compatibility with previous Windows versions no longer maintained

Post by Suprawill1 »

ckon wrote:
Mon Aug 10, 2020 8:58 pm
Whats funny about this thread title is it says 'previous'

Windows 10 may 2004 update now says cubase 10 is incompatible and the windows application compatibility troubleshooter applies windows 8 compatibility settings.
:o
Doesn't surprise me one bit.
All these users on previous posts saying we're living in archive world and need to upgrade our technology to be able to experience new features and acquire the stability of W10 and CB 10. Ok, I went with that. These genius upgrades now bluescreen every other time I close CB and sometimes during a session. One of the times it set all my preferences back to factory specs.
I've been rock solid from W98 through Millenium, XP, Vista and W7. I've had no problems with CB from VST to 9.5. If this "10" show is someone's idea of rock solid, I don't want that technology. I've already backed off to CB 9.5 to get some sense of stability.
I'm not afraid of advancing technology. I am pretty much a geek and build my own computers. The one I use for my studio is quite capable and runs all the stress tests I've thrown at it. All I use it for is audio. I even do video editing on another 'puter.
I've had W10 for a few years but didn't install it for various reasons. This all just confirms my instincts.
Home built Cooler Master tower - ASUS Prime Z270 MB - Intel Core i7 6700K@4.2G - 32G G.Skill Ripjaw V - Dual 24" Monitors - Cubase Pro 10 - Windows 10 & 7 Pro 64 - Samsung 970 EVO NVMe - Samsung 960 EVO NVMe - 2x Samsung 850 EVO SSDs - Roland Studio Capture Interface - X Touch Controller - Halion 6 - Addictive Drums 1&2 - Melodyne 4 - Serato

ckon
Member
Posts: 349
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Compatibility with previous Windows versions no longer maintained

Post by ckon »

Suprawill1 wrote:
Tue Aug 11, 2020 3:30 am
ckon wrote:
Mon Aug 10, 2020 8:58 pm
Whats funny about this thread title is it says 'previous'

Windows 10 may 2004 update now says cubase 10 is incompatible and the windows application compatibility troubleshooter applies windows 8 compatibility settings.
:o
Doesn't surprise me one bit.
All these users on previous posts saying we're living in archive world and need to upgrade our technology to be able to experience new features and acquire the stability of W10 and CB 10. Ok, I went with that. These genius upgrades now bluescreen every other time I close CB and sometimes during a session. One of the times it set all my preferences back to factory specs.
I've been rock solid from W98 through Millenium, XP, Vista and W7. I've had no problems with CB from VST to 9.5. If this "10" show is someone's idea of rock solid, I don't want that technology. I've already backed off to CB 9.5 to get some sense of stability.
I'm not afraid of advancing technology. I am pretty much a geek and build my own computers. The one I use for my studio is quite capable and runs all the stress tests I've thrown at it. All I use it for is audio. I even do video editing on another 'puter.
I've had W10 for a few years but didn't install it for various reasons. This all just confirms my instincts.
In the defence of win10 i would say for me it has been a welcome OS platform and one in which i am happy and yes, even prefer to Macos which i still use (and is not without it's huge update troubles now and then)

What i am more troubled by is areas of Cubase Code that has not been adressed for windows 10. An spplication coded for windows10 should not really be having compatibility issues (Weird GUI errors on some parts of the program). For cubase 10 to be downgraded for windows 8 compatibility shows to me more of an issue with Cubase coding than Windows 10.

Having said all this the may 2004 windows update has been full of issues that Microsoft are frantically trying to address for roll out.

What bothers me, is that i upgraded from 8.5 to Cubase 10 to run on windowsv10 for continued professional use and now it shows as no longer compatible with win10 (may 2004 version) as well as C10 supposedly being at end of life regarding updates.

Absolutely no official word from Steinberg who list 1909 as last supported version.

I would expect a hotfix for v10.0.06 to make it 'compatible' again. Anything less would be extremely poor on Steinbergs part.

If Steinberg really are no longer supporting old windows versions.............at least support the new ones for versions listed as built for them that being c10/10.5 to run with full compatibility with Win10.

Rant over.
ckon:

C Pro 10.0.50 (and all previous)
Main host system:
Win10pro - x64
i7 3770k - 4.5GHZ, 32GB RAM, OS on SSD
RME interfaces.
Museum DAW: Apple Mac LCII Opcode Studio Vision.

Suprawill1
Senior Member
Posts: 1055
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:56 am
Contact:

Re: Compatibility with previous Windows versions no longer maintained

Post by Suprawill1 »

Agreed ckon! I bought 10.5 and have yet to install it. It's 9.5 until this all gets sorted out. I can also boot up W7 Pro instead of 10 Pro if need be.
Home built Cooler Master tower - ASUS Prime Z270 MB - Intel Core i7 6700K@4.2G - 32G G.Skill Ripjaw V - Dual 24" Monitors - Cubase Pro 10 - Windows 10 & 7 Pro 64 - Samsung 970 EVO NVMe - Samsung 960 EVO NVMe - 2x Samsung 850 EVO SSDs - Roland Studio Capture Interface - X Touch Controller - Halion 6 - Addictive Drums 1&2 - Melodyne 4 - Serato

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: PEmusik, Vinylizor and 6 guests