ARA 2 limitations in Cubase 10.0.30 and Nuendo 10.1

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
Musicmould
Junior Member
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 3:18 pm
Location: Internet
Contact:

Re: ARA 2 limitations in Cubase 10.0.30 and Nuendo 10.1

Post by Musicmould »

Funkybot wrote:
Fri Sep 27, 2019 8:46 pm
As far as I'm aware, the only ARA2 limitations in 10.0.40 are:

1. It doesn't respect edits to clip gain - so you should do your edits, render then use Melodyne
2. Cubase still doesn't support receiving/creating tempo maps from Melodyne

Feel free to add if I'm missing anything...
3) Melodyne ARA crashes every now and then
4) Melodyne ARA goes out of sync sometimes when you use a tempo track.

Therefore I have gone back to using Melodyne VST for now.
iMac Pro | 64Gb Ram | Radeon Pro Vega 56 8 GB | macOS 10.14.6 | Cubase Pro 10.5.20 | Luna | Pro Tools | Ableton Live | Logic Pro X | Studio One | Melodyne Studio | Revoice Pro | VSL Pro | UAD Apollo 8p+16 | 2xUAD Octo | Softube Console 1 | Motu Midi Express XT | Various drummachines, microphones, hardware synths & fx and way too many plugins |

"Without music, life would be a mistake".

Quinn3k3
Member
Posts: 314
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: ARA 2 limitations in Cubase 10.0.30 and Nuendo 10.1

Post by Quinn3k3 »

One thing that the S1 / Melodyne integration has that I don't believe Cubase has is the ability to extract midi data from an audio source and drag it directly to a track in the DAW (no need to export and then import).

I also thought ARA2 has the ability to integrate with chord track info from the DAW, but I don't believe it has been programmed for in Cubase.

Please correct me if I am wrong on either of these.

User avatar
Sonik
Senior Member
Posts: 1022
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:34 pm
Contact:

Re: ARA 2 limitations in Cubase 10.0.30 and Nuendo 10.1

Post by Sonik »

What about 10.5 and ARA2?
Macbook Pro i9 32gb|Studio One 5|Protools 2020.5|Cubase Pro 10.5.20|Wavelab 10.0.40|Logic X|Apollo Quad|4xUAD-2 (24 core)
Manley Massive Passive|Thermionic Phoenix Mastering Plus|Maselec MLA-2|API 2500|Avalon 737sp|Summit TLA-100A|Distressor EL8-X|Apogee Symphony||Euphonix McMix x2|Dangerous Music 2 Bus LT|ATC SCM20 ASL Pro|Amphion One18|
Halion Sonic 3|Komplete12 Ultimate|Stylus RMX|Trilian|Omnisphere 2.6|VSL Strings|EW Pianos|ReFx Nexus 3|AirMusicTech|Sylenth|Predator|Kick 2|Serum|ANA2|Korg Collection 2
UAD|Waves|Soundtoys|Melodyne|Softube|Brainworx|PluginAlliance|Fabfilter|Sonnox|Eventide|Oeksound

Graveley
Junior Member
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 9:30 am
Contact:

Re: ARA 2 limitations in Cubase 10.0.30 and Nuendo 10.1

Post by Graveley »

Bump. Any improvement on the ARA issues in the new Cubase 10.5?
N10 Windows 7

User avatar
Sonik
Senior Member
Posts: 1022
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:34 pm
Contact:

Re: ARA 2 limitations in Cubase 10.0.30 and Nuendo 10.1

Post by Sonik »

Graveley wrote:
Thu Nov 14, 2019 4:51 pm
Bump. Any improvement on the ARA issues in the new Cubase 10.5?
Well, the silence is the answer... :(
Last edited by Sonik on Fri Nov 15, 2019 5:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
Macbook Pro i9 32gb|Studio One 5|Protools 2020.5|Cubase Pro 10.5.20|Wavelab 10.0.40|Logic X|Apollo Quad|4xUAD-2 (24 core)
Manley Massive Passive|Thermionic Phoenix Mastering Plus|Maselec MLA-2|API 2500|Avalon 737sp|Summit TLA-100A|Distressor EL8-X|Apogee Symphony||Euphonix McMix x2|Dangerous Music 2 Bus LT|ATC SCM20 ASL Pro|Amphion One18|
Halion Sonic 3|Komplete12 Ultimate|Stylus RMX|Trilian|Omnisphere 2.6|VSL Strings|EW Pianos|ReFx Nexus 3|AirMusicTech|Sylenth|Predator|Kick 2|Serum|ANA2|Korg Collection 2
UAD|Waves|Soundtoys|Melodyne|Softube|Brainworx|PluginAlliance|Fabfilter|Sonnox|Eventide|Oeksound

McBass
Junior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: ARA 2 limitations in Cubase 10.0.30 and Nuendo 10.1

Post by McBass »

I guess a half dozen new key commands took up all there resources! 8^P
i7 4770k | Asus Z87 mobo | 16GB RAM | GeForce - GTX760 | UAD-2 Octo | Apollo Twin mkII quad | RME Multiface PCIe + Lynx Hilo | Panorama P6 | Mackie MCU | CC121 | CMC Ai | CMC Pd | MOTU midi128

Windows 10 pro | Cubase Pro 10 & 9.5 | Wavelab 9.5 Elements | Halion 5 | RND Portico | Melodyne Studio 4 | Slate Digital | UAD | Sonnox | Soundtoys | FabFilter | Brainworx | Waves | IK Multimedia | XLN Audio | iZotope & many more plug-ins...it's madness!

Musicmould
Junior Member
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 3:18 pm
Location: Internet
Contact:

Re: ARA 2 limitations in Cubase 10.0.30 and Nuendo 10.1

Post by Musicmould »

Graveley wrote:
Thu Nov 14, 2019 4:51 pm
Bump. Any improvement on the ARA issues in the new Cubase 10.5?
Maybe happy colored faders made more sense to Steinberg than usability. :mrgreen:
iMac Pro | 64Gb Ram | Radeon Pro Vega 56 8 GB | macOS 10.14.6 | Cubase Pro 10.5.20 | Luna | Pro Tools | Ableton Live | Logic Pro X | Studio One | Melodyne Studio | Revoice Pro | VSL Pro | UAD Apollo 8p+16 | 2xUAD Octo | Softube Console 1 | Motu Midi Express XT | Various drummachines, microphones, hardware synths & fx and way too many plugins |

"Without music, life would be a mistake".

User avatar
Sonik
Senior Member
Posts: 1022
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:34 pm
Contact:

Re: ARA 2 limitations in Cubase 10.0.30 and Nuendo 10.1

Post by Sonik »

McBass wrote:
Fri Nov 15, 2019 2:24 am
I guess a half dozen new key commands took up all there resources! 8^P
8-)
Macbook Pro i9 32gb|Studio One 5|Protools 2020.5|Cubase Pro 10.5.20|Wavelab 10.0.40|Logic X|Apollo Quad|4xUAD-2 (24 core)
Manley Massive Passive|Thermionic Phoenix Mastering Plus|Maselec MLA-2|API 2500|Avalon 737sp|Summit TLA-100A|Distressor EL8-X|Apogee Symphony||Euphonix McMix x2|Dangerous Music 2 Bus LT|ATC SCM20 ASL Pro|Amphion One18|
Halion Sonic 3|Komplete12 Ultimate|Stylus RMX|Trilian|Omnisphere 2.6|VSL Strings|EW Pianos|ReFx Nexus 3|AirMusicTech|Sylenth|Predator|Kick 2|Serum|ANA2|Korg Collection 2
UAD|Waves|Soundtoys|Melodyne|Softube|Brainworx|PluginAlliance|Fabfilter|Sonnox|Eventide|Oeksound

Graveley
Junior Member
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 9:30 am
Contact:

Re: ARA 2 limitations in Cubase 10.0.30 and Nuendo 10.1

Post by Graveley »

Seriously disappointed. ARA2 is not usable. Still using melodyne as insert here...
Please fix this.
N10 Windows 7

Funkybot
Member
Posts: 299
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:08 am
Contact:

Re: ARA 2 limitations in Cubase 10.0.30 and Nuendo 10.1

Post by Funkybot »

It sounds like there's another 10.0x maintenance release in the works, and my hope is that Steinberg is concentrating on implementing the remaining ARA2 features/fixes along with [125/150] HDPi scaling on Windows. I kind of feel like they owe those two fixes to their customers as they were advertised features which are only partially implemented.

Maitch
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 12:52 pm
Contact:

Re: ARA 2 limitations in Cubase 10.0.30 and Nuendo 10.1

Post by Maitch »

Bump.

Cubase is still crashing all the time when using ARA in Cubase 10.5 (just had 6 crashes in half an hour). Could you please update the limitations?

Quinn3k3
Member
Posts: 314
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: ARA 2 limitations in Cubase 10.0.30 and Nuendo 10.1

Post by Quinn3k3 »

Hi Maitch,

Which extension (Melodyne, Vocalign, Revoice Pro) are you using when your application is crashing? Can you replicate the issue and make it happen on purpose? If so, what steps cause the crash?

I had an issue with crashes when I tried to use the Bounce functionality instead of Render with Vocalign Project 3 when trying to commit my changes. Apparently, Bounce doesn't work well with Extensions.

If you can replicate the issue, I would create a support ticket with the details or at least post it in the issues section of the forum.

AppleFire
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2014 1:15 am
Contact:

Re: ARA 2 limitations in Cubase 10.0.30 and Nuendo 10.1

Post by AppleFire »

So, we can concluded that ARA 2 has more limitations than what are listed, and so far, the 10.0.40 & 10.5 update has not fixed all the important issues. Is the Yamaha engineering team addressing this?

Klangarchitekten.de
Member
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 7:57 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: ARA 2 limitations in Cubase 10.0.30 and Nuendo 10.1

Post by Klangarchitekten.de »

Using Nuendo and Revoice 4 Pro is a nightmare.
I don`t know which "limitations" Steinberg is talking about. Doesn`t work at all.
Win10 - Build 1903 / i7 5960X@ 3,3 GHz/ 64GB Ram
RME HDSPe MADi Fx/ Antelope Orion32 (Converter only)
Nuendo 10.2.20 / Wavelab Pro 10.0.30
Nuage (2x Fader, 1x Master)

ColinMc321
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 11:21 pm
Contact:

Re: ARA 2 limitations in Cubase 10.0.30 and Nuendo 10.1

Post by ColinMc321 »

Just tried Melodyne 5 Essential & Studio trial which is great - it's new chord track being an example, particularly combined with polyphonic samples https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_cont ... e=emb_logo. There is an option to use DAW Chord track which would be a killer feature, but this is greyed out in Cubase Pro (10.0.60 & 10.5.2). I checked with Celemony and they advised that "The feature that Melodyne is able to use the chords from the host is not yet part of the Cubase ARA integration" and didn't know if Steinberg were planning to integrate this feature in their ARA implementation. So would be great to know if this is on the Steinberg roadmap.
Last edited by ColinMc321 on Fri May 29, 2020 11:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ColinMc

Musicmould
Junior Member
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 3:18 pm
Location: Internet
Contact:

Re: ARA 2 limitations in Cubase 10.0.30 and Nuendo 10.1

Post by Musicmould »

Also, you STILL can’t use fades or clip volume on ARA audio and every now and then at the beginning and/or end of ARA audio regions there are crackles and pops. It’s really strange that it hasn’t been addressed yet.
iMac Pro | 64Gb Ram | Radeon Pro Vega 56 8 GB | macOS 10.14.6 | Cubase Pro 10.5.20 | Luna | Pro Tools | Ableton Live | Logic Pro X | Studio One | Melodyne Studio | Revoice Pro | VSL Pro | UAD Apollo 8p+16 | 2xUAD Octo | Softube Console 1 | Motu Midi Express XT | Various drummachines, microphones, hardware synths & fx and way too many plugins |

"Without music, life would be a mistake".

Quinn3k3
Member
Posts: 314
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: ARA 2 limitations in Cubase 10.0.30 and Nuendo 10.1

Post by Quinn3k3 »

Hey ColinMc321,

+1 for Cubase adding the chord track integration with Melodyne 5.

It seems like Steinberg is always a few steps behind PreSonus on anything Melodyne / ARA 2 related. Most likely because Celemony and PreSonus worked together to develop the technology.

I hope Steinberg sees the benefit in working more closely with other developers in the future. Even though Steinberg does a good job of developing some cool stuff in house, they always seem to be the last ones to integrate with some of the really great third party stuff that is out there.

User avatar
Sonik
Senior Member
Posts: 1022
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:34 pm
Contact:

Re: ARA 2 limitations in Cubase 10.0.30 and Nuendo 10.1

Post by Sonik »

Musicmould wrote:
Fri May 29, 2020 8:29 pm
Also, you STILL can’t use fades or clip volume on ARA audio and every now and then at the beginning and/or end of ARA audio regions there are crackles and pops. It’s really strange that it hasn’t been addressed yet.
:?
Macbook Pro i9 32gb|Studio One 5|Protools 2020.5|Cubase Pro 10.5.20|Wavelab 10.0.40|Logic X|Apollo Quad|4xUAD-2 (24 core)
Manley Massive Passive|Thermionic Phoenix Mastering Plus|Maselec MLA-2|API 2500|Avalon 737sp|Summit TLA-100A|Distressor EL8-X|Apogee Symphony||Euphonix McMix x2|Dangerous Music 2 Bus LT|ATC SCM20 ASL Pro|Amphion One18|
Halion Sonic 3|Komplete12 Ultimate|Stylus RMX|Trilian|Omnisphere 2.6|VSL Strings|EW Pianos|ReFx Nexus 3|AirMusicTech|Sylenth|Predator|Kick 2|Serum|ANA2|Korg Collection 2
UAD|Waves|Soundtoys|Melodyne|Softube|Brainworx|PluginAlliance|Fabfilter|Sonnox|Eventide|Oeksound

Musicmould
Junior Member
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 3:18 pm
Location: Internet
Contact:

Re: ARA 2 limitations in Cubase 10.0.30 and Nuendo 10.1

Post by Musicmould »

Another issue I've also noticed with ARA is that the metering on the ARA channels stop working every now and then = no metering at all. It simply looks like the channel isn't playing, which is really annoying when you're viewing the Console because it becomes really hard to see what channels are currently playing. :roll:

I really, really hope that Steinberg fixes this before v11 arrives.
iMac Pro | 64Gb Ram | Radeon Pro Vega 56 8 GB | macOS 10.14.6 | Cubase Pro 10.5.20 | Luna | Pro Tools | Ableton Live | Logic Pro X | Studio One | Melodyne Studio | Revoice Pro | VSL Pro | UAD Apollo 8p+16 | 2xUAD Octo | Softube Console 1 | Motu Midi Express XT | Various drummachines, microphones, hardware synths & fx and way too many plugins |

"Without music, life would be a mistake".

Maitch
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 12:52 pm
Contact:

Re: ARA 2 limitations in Cubase 10.0.30 and Nuendo 10.1

Post by Maitch »

Musicmould wrote:
Mon Jun 08, 2020 5:17 pm
I really, really hope that Steinberg fixes this before v11 arrives.
Don't count on it. The promised ARA2 would be fully implemented in a maintenance fix for Cubase 10.0, then they settled for making us render the tracks first and then use Melodyne, so that you may as well use the VST version instead.
Now, they have completely stopped on fixing ARA to be useful. The latest 10.5 maintenance fix contained nothing about ARA.

It is really annoying, because Melodyne 5 rocks, so having to deal with Cubase's buggy implementation sucks, but I guess more color options is more important.

Musicmould
Junior Member
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2018 3:18 pm
Location: Internet
Contact:

Re: ARA 2 limitations in Cubase 10.0.30 and Nuendo 10.1

Post by Musicmould »

Maitch wrote:
Sat Jun 20, 2020 12:42 pm
The promised ARA2 would be fully implemented in a maintenance fix for Cubase 10.0, then they settled for making us render the tracks first and then use Melodyne, so that you may as well use the VST version instead.
Now, they have completely stopped on fixing ARA to be useful. The latest 10.5 maintenance fix contained nothing about ARA.

It is really annoying, because Melodyne 5 rocks, so having to deal with Cubase's buggy implementation sucks, but I guess more color options is more important.
ARA is still buggy and incomplete and if Steinberg doesn't fix it fully before v11 they've lost my trust.
I don't mind paying for new features but releasing a flawed product, neglecting it for quite some time, and then charging for bug fixes is NOT ok. :roll:
iMac Pro | 64Gb Ram | Radeon Pro Vega 56 8 GB | macOS 10.14.6 | Cubase Pro 10.5.20 | Luna | Pro Tools | Ableton Live | Logic Pro X | Studio One | Melodyne Studio | Revoice Pro | VSL Pro | UAD Apollo 8p+16 | 2xUAD Octo | Softube Console 1 | Motu Midi Express XT | Various drummachines, microphones, hardware synths & fx and way too many plugins |

"Without music, life would be a mistake".

MGil
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 1:03 pm
Contact:

Re: ARA 2 limitations in Cubase 10.0.30 and Nuendo 10.1

Post by MGil »

+1 for an usable ARA implementation.
Mac OS 10.13.6
Cubase Pro 10.5 ; Wavelab 9.5 ; Dorico Pro 3.1

Psalmster
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 2:44 am
Contact:

Re: ARA 2 limitations in Cubase 10.0.30 and Nuendo 10.1

Post by Psalmster »

This is a deal-breaker for this potential Cubase user...

User avatar
Sonik
Senior Member
Posts: 1022
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:34 pm
Contact:

Re: ARA 2 limitations in Cubase 10.0.30 and Nuendo 10.1

Post by Sonik »

Musicmould wrote:
Sat Jun 20, 2020 2:21 pm
Maitch wrote:
Sat Jun 20, 2020 12:42 pm
The promised ARA2 would be fully implemented in a maintenance fix for Cubase 10.0, then they settled for making us render the tracks first and then use Melodyne, so that you may as well use the VST version instead.
Now, they have completely stopped on fixing ARA to be useful. The latest 10.5 maintenance fix contained nothing about ARA.

It is really annoying, because Melodyne 5 rocks, so having to deal with Cubase's buggy implementation sucks, but I guess more color options is more important.
ARA is still buggy and incomplete and if Steinberg doesn't fix it fully before v11 they've lost my trust.
I don't mind paying for new features but releasing a flawed product, neglecting it for quite some time, and then charging for bug fixes is NOT ok. :roll:
+1
Macbook Pro i9 32gb|Studio One 5|Protools 2020.5|Cubase Pro 10.5.20|Wavelab 10.0.40|Logic X|Apollo Quad|4xUAD-2 (24 core)
Manley Massive Passive|Thermionic Phoenix Mastering Plus|Maselec MLA-2|API 2500|Avalon 737sp|Summit TLA-100A|Distressor EL8-X|Apogee Symphony||Euphonix McMix x2|Dangerous Music 2 Bus LT|ATC SCM20 ASL Pro|Amphion One18|
Halion Sonic 3|Komplete12 Ultimate|Stylus RMX|Trilian|Omnisphere 2.6|VSL Strings|EW Pianos|ReFx Nexus 3|AirMusicTech|Sylenth|Predator|Kick 2|Serum|ANA2|Korg Collection 2
UAD|Waves|Soundtoys|Melodyne|Softube|Brainworx|PluginAlliance|Fabfilter|Sonnox|Eventide|Oeksound

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests