Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
User avatar
Magnus_N
Junior Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 11:26 am
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by Magnus_N »

ulesto wrote:
Mon May 21, 2018 10:00 pm
peakae wrote:
Mon May 21, 2018 8:11 pm
Select all the code and paste it into an txt editor and save as html file.
Thanks Peakae. I tried that with both Textedit and Smultron, and tried to open in Safari, iCab, and Firefox to open but still just shows page source.
Same for me in Win 10/Firefox...

/Magnus
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9.5, Windows 10, RME HDSP 9632, i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00 GHz, 32 GB RAM

ulesto
Member
Posts: 267
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 8:20 am
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by ulesto »

-steve- wrote:
Mon May 21, 2018 10:20 pm
Probably MacOS is hiding the filename suffix, so it appears to be .html, but is actually .html.txt
Thanks Steve. That wasn't it, but it gave me a clue. Text Edit doesn't save in plain text anymore as far as I can see (only rtf), so I was just re-saving it as html thinking WYSIWYG. Nope. Had to copy the text from Text Edit into Smultron to remove all the extra stuff and save it there. That worked.

Thanks to fese. It looks great!

Btw, if anyone wants the stripped down txt file, here it is. Maybe it will help you Magnus.
Key Commands.txt.html.zip
(1.89 KiB) Downloaded 302 times
Mac Pro, OSX 10.14.6, MR816CSX, Cubase Pro 10.5, Wavelab Pro 10, Halion 6, Halion Sonic, HSO, Waves, UAD...

ChrisDuncan
Member
Posts: 673
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by ChrisDuncan »

Very handy. Thanks, Fese!
Control Room: Cubase 10.5.12 | Windows 10 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | Yamaha TF5 | Mackie MCU| CMC AI
Edit Station: Cubase 10.5.12 | Windows 10 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | UR 22 | CMC TP-QC-AI-CH
Keyboard Station: Cubase 10.5.12 | Windows 10 64 bit | 16 gigs memory | UR 22| CMC TP
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Chris Duncan
Atlanta, GA, USA, Earth

take3
New Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun May 27, 2018 7:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by take3 »

Thanks for this! For any Mac users, found the default key commands file here:

Right-click the Cubase app file (in the Applications folder) -> Show Package Contents
Navigate to: Contents -> presets -> Key Commands -> default.xml

Copy the default.xml file to another location. Then you can point the html utility to the location you copied it to, to open it.

I made a custom key commands file and can't find it. Anyone know where it is stored? It doesn't show up in the above folder.

mbira
Member
Posts: 636
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 3:22 am
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by mbira »

This is very cool! Thanks for doing this.
Cubase Pro | Wavelab Pro | Dorico Pro | SpectraLayers | Halion 6 | Laptop: Macbook Pro 2.4 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9 32 G RAM, OS 10.15.5| Studio computer: 2012 12 core Mac Pro Tower 64 G RAM | PC Slave i7 8920 running VEP6 | Apollo 16 Firewire

ulesto
Member
Posts: 267
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 8:20 am
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by ulesto »

take3 wrote:
Sun May 27, 2018 8:41 pm
I made a custom key commands file and can't find it. Anyone know where it is stored? It doesn't show up in the above folder.
It's in the User/Library/Preferences/Cubase 9.5 folder - in Presets.
Mac Pro, OSX 10.14.6, MR816CSX, Cubase Pro 10.5, Wavelab Pro 10, Halion 6, Halion Sonic, HSO, Waves, UAD...

mac88104
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 6:18 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by mac88104 »

Thank you very much !
Windows 10 64 bits / Intel Core i7-5820K / ASRock X99 Extreme6 3.1 / 128 Go RAM DDR4-2133 / 2 NVMe Samsung SSD 950 PRO 512 GB (libraries) / 4 Samsung 850 EVO 512 GB & 1 860 EVO 1 TB (libraries) / Samsung SSD 850 PRO 256GB (system) / Samsung SSD 850 PRO 512GB (projects) / 2 Western Digital Blue 3 TB and

Nuendo 8.3 / RME Fireface UCX / Beyerdynamic DT880PRO & DT770PRO / PreSonus R65 / Acer T232HL Lemur controller

Ntac
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2018 9:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by Ntac »

Thank you for that!

galoz
Junior Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 9:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by galoz »

Great!!! Thanks
Cubase 9.5.3 pro
Windows 7 64bits - Core i5 - SSD - 8Gb - Motu PCI 424 - Motu 2408MKiii - Motu 1296 -

msy
Member
Posts: 378
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:37 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by msy »

fese wrote:
Tue May 08, 2018 10:28 am
Hi,
just for fun I've written a small single-page HTML app which can load Cubase's "Key Commands.xml" and display it as nice table which you can then print or export or whatever.
Just double-click on the html page and select the "Key Commands.xml" file in the file brower (usually resides in "%APPDATA%\Steinberg\Cubase [Version]" on Windows, no idea where it is on a Mac).
Tested with Firefox and Chrome. No idea whether it is useful for anyone (or even me). Sadly it is not possible to use localized descriptions, just the english ones...

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Jl7ag ... MtOjUfVaDJ
Cool! Thanks! :)
Cubase Pro 10.5.20
HALion 6.3.1
OS: Windows 10 (1903)
Soundcard: RME Digiface USB with ADA8200 + ARC USB
DAW: AMD Ryzen 3950x | ASUS Prime x570-P | 32GB DDR4 3600MHz | Intel p660 NVMe M.2 2TB | Samsung EVO SSD 250GB SATA | Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX 5700 XT (set to PCIE 3.0 in BIOS w/drivers Adrenaline v19.11.3)
Screen: Philips 439P9H (Curved SuperWide 32:10) @ 3840x1200
Computer related hardware: 2xUAD-2 Duo PCIE, BCF2000 (MCU), Nord Wave, Eurorack via ES3/ADAT
Other DAWs: Bitwig 3.2

GregMalick
New Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2018 6:40 am
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by GregMalick »

This appears to only show Key Commands that have a shortcut assigned.
There are a lot more Key Commands that are unassigned.

Image

Is there a way to display all the Key Commands in a sortable table with their category and shortcut (blank when unassigned)?
That way we could sort by Category or by Shortcut and easily determine what keys are unassigned rather than using the "try assigning until you succeed" method.
DAW: Cubase Pro 10

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9665
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by -steve- »

Please read the beginning of this thread.
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

GregMalick
New Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2018 6:40 am
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by GregMalick »

Aloha Steve,

I've read the entire thread a couple times but when I use the page to display my "Key Commands.xml" file, I only get a page showing Commands that have shortcut keys assigned.

What did I miss in this thread?

thanks.
DAW: Cubase Pro 10

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4499
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by raino »

GregMalick wrote:
Thu Aug 16, 2018 11:17 pm
Aloha Steve,

I've read the entire thread a couple times but when I use the page to display my "Key Commands.xml" file, I only get a page showing Commands that have shortcut keys assigned.

What did I miss in this thread?

thanks.
That that is all it does?

The xml file you submit only has info about the assigned keys, it doesn't know anything about unassigned keys. The OP is reformatting the xml into something more human readable.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, Groove Agent 5, WaveLab Pro 10, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

Latest: Bawdy Politik https://rodgerraino.bandcamp.com/releases

Larioso
Member
Posts: 596
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 9:18 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by Larioso »

GregMalick wrote:
Thu Aug 16, 2018 9:07 am
This appears to only show Key Commands that have a shortcut assigned.
There are a lot more Key Commands that are unassigned.

Is there a way to display all the Key Commands in a sortable table with their category and shortcut (blank when unassigned)?
That way we could sort by Category or by Shortcut and easily determine what keys are unassigned rather than using the "try assigning until you succeed" method.
I was thinking about that too.

If allowing to save as CVT, as comma separated file we could load in Excel or similar spread sheet and enjoy sorting on any column.
Even Google has a service for spread sheet I used a short while, for those not having a spread sheet.

Thanks to fese for his effort with this, really looked for that fixing a list of the commands.
Windows 7 Pro - Intel i7-860 2.8GHz 16 GB - Cubase Pro 9.5 latest - RME HDSP 9632 + AI4S + Audient ASP 800 - Nvidia GT730

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9665
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by -steve- »

independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

nicky_p
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 9:23 am
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by nicky_p »

Thank you!

garymusic
Junior Member
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 6:24 am
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by garymusic »

Thanks... Really Really useful.
Cubase Pro 10.5,0, WaveLab Pro 10, Dorico 3.5, ProTools 2019-12, MacBook Pro i7, macOS 10.14.6, Apogee Ensenble Thunderbolt Interface, UAD-2 Plugins, Big Ben || Yamaha 01V96V2 Mixer (control surface and recording monitor)

User avatar
theRoyal1
Member
Posts: 505
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by theRoyal1 »

Much appreciated, Thank u!
Custom WS: i7 3930k | Corsair H100 | Sapphire HD7950 Dual X | 64GB Patriot Viper III DDR3 1866 | MSI BigBang XPower II | 8xSamsung EVO=12TB + 2xWD4001=8TB HDD | Enermax 1200w 80+ Platinum | CM Cosmos II
Cubits : Cubase 10.5.12b123
CMC-TP | CMC-CH | CMC-PD | CMC-AI | 2xCMC-FD | CMC-QC

Main Gear: Access Virus Ti + Virus C | Maschine Studio + Jam | Korg Triton pro 76 | Novation SL MKII | Roland XV-5080 + JV-2080 | Goliath HD | Barefoot MicroMain27 Gen2 | Mackie HR824 | Yamaha AW4416 | MOTU MidiXT | Roland TR-8, TB-3, VT-3 | Seiki SE50UY04

fese
Junior Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by fese »

Hi all,
I added the option to converting the KeyCommands.xml to CSV, including unassigned commands. You'll have to copy and paste it from the browser windows, though, "save as..." won't work.
See the first post for the download address.

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9665
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by -steve- »

ChrisTheStranger wrote:
Sat Jan 19, 2019 3:28 pm
I just updated to Cubase 10 a couple weeks ago.

Steinberg: I WOULD PAY REAL MONEY TO UPGRADE CUBASE AGAIN, IF THIS WAS THE ONLY FEATURE YOU ADDED TO 10.5!

Or as people say nowadays... +1.
You do understand that this is not a feature request, but a completed effort by a forum member...
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

ChrisTheStranger
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2015 5:27 am
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by ChrisTheStranger »

Sorry, I was in another topic (in another tab), responding to something else. Turns out I was posting here!

User avatar
galvinstephen
Member
Posts: 388
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 1:51 pm
Location: Usually Auckland New Zealand
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by galvinstephen »

Good idea. Thank you
Stephen Galvin
Musician
LTCL BMus BA MMus(Hons.) Dip. Tchg.
Studio Director ABC Studios
Cubase 10.5 Sequel 3.0.1,
Dorico 3 Wavelab Pro 10
Laptop: MSI Intel i7-9750 CPU @ 2.6GHz 32GB RAM. Windows 10 64bit. Intel SSD 300GB +500GB.
Desktop: Intel i7-9700 CPU @ 3 GHz 32GB RAM Windows 10 Intel SSD 500GB +1TB +1TB.

Focusrite Scarlett 1820, Octopre, Saffire Pro40. Lots of cables. Cables everywhere... Cables man....
http://www.abcstudios.co.nz
http://www.singinglessonsauckland.com
http://www.guitarlessonsauckland.com
http://www.basslessonsauckland.com
https://www.drumlessonsnewzealand.com

FINgers101
Junior Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by FINgers101 »

These are great utilities. thanks

What would be really great as well is if you could go the other way.

Generic remotes are a pain to set up if you have a lot of repetitive commands, and you need to enter each one. If you could work in say excel and then transform into an xml file to import that would be a real timesaver.

You probably already can but my skills are not that great with respect to xml.
Win 10 Pro, Intel i7 6800 3.4 GHz, Asus x99 Deluxe II, 96GbRAM |Focusrite 18i20 2nd Gen, MAudio Pro88, M-Audio Axiom 25 Mk2, JoeMeek VC3, | Cubase 10.5.x | Synthogy Ivory 2, NI Komplete Ultimate 12CE, Superior3, Spitfire Libraries, ProjectSAM Orch Essentials, Metropolis Arc 1&2, U-He Zebra2, U-He ZebraHZ, Various Waves Plugins| Tannoy Reveal Passive| Alesis RA150, M-Audio Studiophile AV 40

fese
Junior Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2013 7:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Key Commands Overview as HTML Page

Post by fese »

FINgers101 wrote:
Wed Jan 23, 2019 4:47 pm
These are great utilities. thanks

What would be really great as well is if you could go the other way.

Generic remotes are a pain to set up if you have a lot of repetitive commands, and you need to enter each one. If you could work in say excel and then transform into an xml file to import that would be a real timesaver.

You probably already can but my skills are not that great with respect to xml.
It is certainly doable, but you'd probably have to do a lot of error checking or the import won't work.
Personally I have no need for that, but what you could probably do is start in Cubase, then export the config to XML and load it into some editor with syntax highlighing (e.g. Notepadd++). with a little bit of copy+paste and search+replace you might be actually faster than clicking. The XML of that file format is relatively self-explanatory if you have a look at the UI once in a while. Maybe send the resulting file to an online XML validator to be sure you didn't insert any syntax errors...

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ian s, sasha-che and 8 guests