Is there a user guide for VST Transit Join?

Post all topics related to the VST Transit Join plug-in for third party sequencers here.
Post Reply
User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2662
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Is there a user guide for VST Transit Join?

Post by MrSoundman »

Got connected and able to sync projects, but can't get a recording from the other side; can't find any user guide or manual for the plugin.

In this specific case, Windows 10 at this end using VST Transit in Cubase 10.5.12, and Mac using Logic Pro X with VST Transit Join beta plugin at the other end. Can't figure out how to get a recorded track from Logic back into the project. Must the track in Logic be re-recorded "into" the plugin from and then synced?
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.20 • WaveLab 10.0.40 • SpectraLayers 7.0.20 • HALion 6.4.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

User avatar
musicullum
Senior Member
Posts: 1146
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Is there a user guide for VST Transit Join?

Post by musicullum »

use drag and drop
musi

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2662
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Is there a user guide for VST Transit Join?

Post by MrSoundman »

musicullum wrote:
Sun Apr 12, 2020 10:50 am
use drag and drop
The performer tried that but it didn't work, but of course that could be user error. The problem is I can't tell the performer what to do as I've never used the VSTJ plugin and don't have Logic to play around with at this end. What the performer is asking is, why are there no instructions for using it (specifically with Logic)?
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.20 • WaveLab 10.0.40 • SpectraLayers 7.0.20 • HALion 6.4.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

Crotchety
Senior Member
Posts: 1180
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 10:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Is there a user guide for VST Transit Join?

Post by Crotchety »

Hi, try this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ii91BgRrHIE

I'm surprised to learn that it works with Logic. I thought it didn't accept VST3.
Instruments: Piano/keys, Guitar, Mandolin, Vocal
Current Sounds: Cactus Juice (@Soundcloud) - Former Sounds: Ask Murt (@MySpace)

Every day's a skool day...

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2662
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Is there a user guide for VST Transit Join?

Post by MrSoundman »

Crotchety wrote:
Tue Apr 21, 2020 11:31 am
Hi, try this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ii91BgRrHIE
Yes, I've seen that but it doesn't help, because it doesn't show how to use the "VST Transit Join" plugin at the "far" end ... i.e., in the the video, PT is used to "record into" VST Transit Join (AAX) and at the far end the iPAD app is used. In my case, I'm using VST Transit built into Cubase 10.5, and at the far end is Logic on OS X, using the "VST Transit Join" plugin.
Crotchety wrote:
Tue Apr 21, 2020 11:31 am
I'm surprised to learn that it works with Logic. I thought it didn't accept VST3.
"VST Transit Join" is also an AU. The installation, loading of the "VST Transit Join" (I think the AU plugin shows up as an "instrument" in Logic terminology), login and connection to my Cubase project all appear to have worked from Logic, and playback was possible. What I've been told by my collaborator is that it was not possible to "record into" the VSTi (as done from PT in the tutorial video above) and that drag-and-drop of a recorded track from Logic into the "VST Transit Join" VSTi also didn't work. One other curiosity was that when a "region" was created in Logic, I saw it appear in Cubase as a folder track ... so the funtionality appears to be there and working, but just not how we expected.

At that point with any other product I would "RTFM" to check what the expected behaviour should be, and to verify that we were attempting to use it properly. Hence the question ... is there no user guide for the VST Transit Join, specifically, how to use the VST3/AU/AAX plugin in other hosts? (...and yes, I do see the word "beta" there :-))
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.20 • WaveLab 10.0.40 • SpectraLayers 7.0.20 • HALion 6.4.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

User avatar
Spork
Moderator
Posts: 332
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2013 12:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Is there a user guide for VST Transit Join?

Post by Spork »

MrSoundman wrote:
Sun Apr 12, 2020 12:25 am
and Mac using Logic Pro X with VST Transit Join beta plugin at the other end. Can't figure out how to get a recorded track from Logic back into the project. Must the track in Logic be re-recorded "into" the plugin from and then synced?
I am sorry. Logic does not support drag and drop media-clips to 3rd party Plug-Ins. Logic users need to export media.clips to the Finder. From there you can drag and drop it back to Join.

See you,
Michael.
Michael Spork, Developer
Hamburg, Germany

Crotchety
Senior Member
Posts: 1180
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 10:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Is there a user guide for VST Transit Join?

Post by Crotchety »

I understood it to mean that you just record as normal into whatever daw on whatever end. Perhaps it's not helpful to think of a 'far end'...? On the other hand, maybe I've not understood your issue properly. Maybe I need to get out more (ha ha)...
Instruments: Piano/keys, Guitar, Mandolin, Vocal
Current Sounds: Cactus Juice (@Soundcloud) - Former Sounds: Ask Murt (@MySpace)

Every day's a skool day...

User avatar
musicullum
Senior Member
Posts: 1146
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Is there a user guide for VST Transit Join?

Post by musicullum »

I think you should be able to record into VST Transit Join when you seect Logic as track source, no?
musi

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2662
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Is there a user guide for VST Transit Join?

Post by MrSoundman »

Spork wrote:
Wed Apr 22, 2020 12:15 pm
Logic does not support drag and drop media-clips to 3rd party Plug-Ins. Logic users need to export media.clips to the Finder. From there you can drag and drop it back to Join.
Ah! That's good to know!
musicullum wrote:
Wed Apr 22, 2020 2:38 pm
I think you should be able to record into VST Transit Join when you seect Logic as track source, no?
The default track height inside the Join GUI does not show the necessary controls to enable input selection until you increase the vertical slider at the bottom right. I did not realise this until too late, so we will try this at the next opportunity.

In the meantime I have been experimenting with Reaper but drag-and-drop from Reaper into Join does not seem to work either, however I was able to play back from Reaper and record into Join in real time, so we should hopefully be able to get this to work in Logic as well, although rendering from Logic/Reaper with subseqent drag-and-drop from Finder/Explorer is probably quicker and easier.

Thank you all for your help -- I think Join has great potential, because it solves a problem I had using VST Connect working in real time with a musician in a different time zone. With Join, we can each work during our normal waking hours 8-)
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.20 • WaveLab 10.0.40 • SpectraLayers 7.0.20 • HALion 6.4.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2662
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Is there a user guide for VST Transit Join?

Post by MrSoundman »

Crotchety wrote:
Wed Apr 22, 2020 12:45 pm
I understood it to mean that you just record as normal into whatever daw
Yes, but the problem was how to get the recorded track back, if drag-and-drop doesn't work and the input selector is not visible .... :lol:
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.20 • WaveLab 10.0.40 • SpectraLayers 7.0.20 • HALion 6.4.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

Crotchety
Senior Member
Posts: 1180
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 10:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Is there a user guide for VST Transit Join?

Post by Crotchety »

I'm having trouble getting audio in from Cakewalk now. I'll tell you what, Steinberg, if you're listening, that gui could use tool tips! What, for instance, is that brown thing between record and metronome? You can't record enable when it's on...
Instruments: Piano/keys, Guitar, Mandolin, Vocal
Current Sounds: Cactus Juice (@Soundcloud) - Former Sounds: Ask Murt (@MySpace)

Every day's a skool day...

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2662
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Is there a user guide for VST Transit Join?

Post by MrSoundman »

Crotchety wrote:
Wed Apr 22, 2020 9:30 pm
that gui could use tool tips!
+1
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.20 • WaveLab 10.0.40 • SpectraLayers 7.0.20 • HALion 6.4.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

Crotchety
Senior Member
Posts: 1180
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 10:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Is there a user guide for VST Transit Join?

Post by Crotchety »

Crotchety wrote:
Wed Apr 22, 2020 9:30 pm
What, for instance, is that brown thing between record and metronome? You can't record enable when it's on...
Just found the answer for this in another post from Spork about Bitwig (I got once my wrists slapped for linking across threads so I won't...) and I copy it here because it's related to here:
In VST Transit Join there is a button (record sync) in the transport toolbar, a brown one, next to the the metronome button. This one should be enabled if you want to record. Transit Join is then in sync with the host. That means : if you hit the record button in Bitwig, the record state in Transit will be activated, too.
Instruments: Piano/keys, Guitar, Mandolin, Vocal
Current Sounds: Cactus Juice (@Soundcloud) - Former Sounds: Ask Murt (@MySpace)

Every day's a skool day...

rusanderson
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2020 3:08 am
Contact:

Re: Is there a user guide for VST Transit Join?

Post by rusanderson »

I'm having a similar (I think) issue. Am able to load the project and get it to play in Logic X but cannot figure out how to get my track back into Transit Join.

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2662
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Is there a user guide for VST Transit Join?

Post by MrSoundman »

rusanderson wrote:
Wed Apr 29, 2020 3:26 am
I'm having a similar (I think) issue. Am able to load the project and get it to play in Logic X but cannot figure out how to get my track back into Transit Join.
Just use Join in the same way as you would an instrument in Logic, play along with it to rehearse, then record into Logic on a new Logic track in the normal manner. When you're finished, render your recorded track to a new file, and in Finder, locate that file and drag-and-drop over the Join GUI. The drag-and-drop must happen from Finder, not from Logic.
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.20 • WaveLab 10.0.40 • SpectraLayers 7.0.20 • HALion 6.4.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

Post Reply

Return to “VST Transit Join Beta”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest