"Some" VST Insruments are out of tune.

Use this forum for an overview of collected bugs and to report new ones.
Cubender
Junior Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 3:51 pm
Contact:

Re: "Some" VST Insruments are out of tune.

Post by Cubender »

Hi dwlarson,

you should check if the latest HALion Sonic SE is installed.
Here the download link:
https://www.steinberg.net/index.php?id= ... c_se_3&L=0

User avatar
MMarni
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2017 6:11 pm

Re: "Some" VST Insruments are out of tune.

Post by MMarni »

I don’t know nothing about Dorico, unfortunately.
But with Cubase, I use the tuner.
And I use it “always” with new instruments.
And after every update I check every instrument I use, again.

I think it is the best way to be sure to create in tune music...

Gerrit Junge
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 193
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 1:30 pm
Contact:

Re: "Some" VST Insruments are out of tune.

Post by Gerrit Junge »

Hi dwlarson,
could you please provide me your "Trumpet Combi" preset that worked in HSSE2 but not in HSSE3, so that I can try to find out what's going on?

best regards
Gerrit
Senior Quality Engineer
VST Instruments
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH

User avatar
dwlarson
Junior Member
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 3:05 am
Location: Greeley, CO, USA
Contact:

Re: "Some" VST Insruments are out of tune.

Post by dwlarson »

I did update to SE3.1.0 (I previously had v3.0.1) but it didn't seem to make any difference. I also ran the content updater but nothing changed. The "Trumpet Combi" is from the Halion Symphonic Orchestra, and the "Small Pipe Organ" is from the SE2 Pro Set (see attached). I have to sharp the trumpet combi about +25 cents to be in tune with the organ.

I don't think it's a problem with just this score, but I haven't tried creating a new one with the same instruments to see if it's the same problem. Any ideas?
Trumpet Combi - SE3 flat.PNG
(398.37 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Trumpet Combi - SE3 flat2.PNG
(346.13 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Win10, i7, 16GB, Dorico 3.5.10, Noteperformer 3.5
Sibelius 2019.5 (and holding), Photoscore 7.02
Hauptwerk 4
Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 (1st gen)
Church musician/arranger

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2878
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: "Some" VST Insruments are out of tune.

Post by Romantique Tp »

It's the Small Pipe Organ that's too sharp.

Overall, almost everything in Halion Sonic SE that was taken from HalionOne could use some reprogramming.
Several sounds are out of tune, use too much cutoff (or the wrong filter velocity response), or use the wrong settings compared to the Motif Classic presets that they were supposed to imitate.

The Halion team could use the MOTIF-RACK Voice Editor for reference. This gives you access to all parameters used in the original presets even if you don't have the original Motif around. Most of the presets have been renamed in HalionOne and Halion Sonic SE, but you can figure out which is which by looking at the samples used.


I think this is a big deal. A lot of people don't know that Halion Sonic SE sounds very different from Halion Sonic, so ideally these old sounds should be made as usable as possible to avoid turning off potential buyers.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

User avatar
dwlarson
Junior Member
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 3:05 am
Location: Greeley, CO, USA
Contact:

Re: "Some" VST Insruments are out of tune.

Post by dwlarson »

Romantique TP, thanks for the clarification. It's good to know that it's not just my ears going buggy. I'll avoid using that Small Pipe Organ Organ in the future. I'm sure it's not high on the team's priority list to fix/tune some of these instruments, but you're absolute right: it would be in their best interest for demonstrations/sales if everything was in tune. I'll work around the idiosyncrasies for now.
Win10, i7, 16GB, Dorico 3.5.10, Noteperformer 3.5
Sibelius 2019.5 (and holding), Photoscore 7.02
Hauptwerk 4
Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 (1st gen)
Church musician/arranger

musicmanmtl
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 5:58 am
Contact:

Re: "Some" VST Insruments are out of tune.

Post by musicmanmtl »

I had problems with vst instruments out of tune not related to Halion and by doing a factory reset of my midi controller, I fixed this issue :)

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests