Page 1 of 1

Halion GUI refresh

Posted: Sat Jun 06, 2020 11:09 am
by Musicmould
Halion has a lot of great features but I find the GUI extremely cluttered and unintuitive.
Even though I have bought the full version I rarely use it because of that.

Please, Steinberg, bring the GUI into 2020!

Re: Halion GUI refresh

Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2020 7:40 pm
by fenderchris
Musicmould wrote:
Sat Jun 06, 2020 11:09 am
Halion has a lot of great features but I find the GUI extremely cluttered and unintuitive.
Even though I have bought the full version I rarely use it because of that.

Please, Steinberg, bring the GUI into 2020!
Me too.

Re: Halion GUI refresh

Posted: Sat Jun 13, 2020 9:25 am
by bnz
I like the GUI flexibility (minus the few odd things you can do). I wouldn't mind if it looked a bit more fresh like Backbone though.

Re: Halion GUI refresh

Posted: Sun Jul 19, 2020 10:27 am
by Musicmould
If anything, please make the GUI resizable.
(Ok, the WINDOW is resizable but all the buttons stay tiny).
All the buttons/graphics/text is super small on my retina display.

A lot of things in Cubase still seems to be made for low resolution displays, it kind of looks like a leftover from Windows 98.

I hope the overall GUI refresh continues.

Re: Halion GUI refresh

Posted: Sat Aug 22, 2020 2:06 am
by jovemprogramador
+1

Re: Halion GUI refresh

Posted: Sat Aug 22, 2020 11:23 pm
by take3
+1

Re: Halion GUI refresh

Posted: Thu Aug 27, 2020 4:37 am
by Saint909
Let me keep this thread going...I agree, the GUI for Halion 6 is dated as hell. Looks like VST’s of the early 2000’s. The various instruments like Skylab are simply ugly (although SkyLab sounds great). This is supposed to be a premium synth/sampler and it’s looking like this in 2020? I don’t get it. The instruments in Cubase 10 look way better (ie Retrologue and Padshop 2).
But for the record, Falcon looks WAY better and sounds better too.
Halion has a lot of potential, it just needs a GUI update and some modeled filters...say from a CS series synth. Glad I did not pay full price for it.

Re: Halion GUI refresh

Posted: Thu Sep 17, 2020 8:58 am
by tonyjaguar
+1

I also dislike Halion's gui, can't stand all the tabbing around, and the program tree with it's tiny icons.

Been using Pigments recently and it struck me that Halion has all that power and more (ok, maybe not the modulation, but the engines and effects for sure). Pigments feels way more like an instrument that you want to play and that's down to the gui.

Would be nice if Halion had an optional "synth view", with all the main stuff in one window, laid out clearly simply.

Re: Halion GUI refresh

Posted: Mon Sep 28, 2020 6:04 am
by zoidkirb
Honestly I don't mind the look of it, there's a lot of information that it has to display efficiently and it does good at that once you learn your way around.
An option to re-size the elements and not just the windows would be nice.
Animated knobs when modulated would be very helpful also.

Re: Halion GUI refresh

Posted: Sun Oct 04, 2020 6:50 am
by Elias1957
It could be nice when the icons can resized in steps (2x,3x,4x,...), not fully resizable when resizing the window. Also I think it's a good idea to resize the icons in the menu and the tree independently.