Remote Desktop breaks MIDI input device connections

Use this forum for an overview of issues and to report new ones.
Post Reply
GeoMax
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:47 pm
Contact:

Remote Desktop breaks MIDI input device connections

Post by GeoMax »

Any RDP session, from a mac or a windows PC, causes the ports to go missing. I remote control my DAW from my studio for tracking from in the room. Guessing I am not the only one using that as part of their workflow.

Running Windows 10 latest build, and Cubase Pro 9.0.1
Cubase Pro 10.0.5, Wavelab Pro 9.5
MASTER DAW PC - Windows 10 Pro, i7-6950x (10core), ASUS X99, 128GB Ram, GTX 970, DELL P4317q 43" 4K Monitor
Interfaces: Waves Soundgrid, (2) Digigrid IOXs, X-WSG with Midas M32C and X32 Rack

Mark Nomad
Junior Member
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 9:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Remote Desktop breaks MIDI input device connections

Post by Mark Nomad »

Hmm not having thia problem i do remote in but can hear audio due to my external audio device

GeoMax
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Remote Desktop breaks MIDI input device connections

Post by GeoMax »

I found a work around.

By default Remote Desktop connection has a setting of "remote audio Playback" set to Play On This Computer.
If I change that to "Play On Remote Computer" the midi ports appear as normal. If not, they show as "missing"

>Click on Local Resources
>Click Settings on the Remote Audio section
>Choose the radio button for "play on remote computer"
Cubase Pro 10.0.5, Wavelab Pro 9.5
MASTER DAW PC - Windows 10 Pro, i7-6950x (10core), ASUS X99, 128GB Ram, GTX 970, DELL P4317q 43" 4K Monitor
Interfaces: Waves Soundgrid, (2) Digigrid IOXs, X-WSG with Midas M32C and X32 Rack

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest