Add Volume & Pan to Track Controls Setting

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 can be posted here.
Post Reply
fbeauvaisc
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 10:08 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Add Volume & Pan to Track Controls Setting

Post by fbeauvaisc »

Add Volume and Pan to Track Controls Setting would minimize the need for leave the inspector open giving us more room for the Project Window. 90% of the time, I open the inspector or mixer just to change a few decibels or do a little pan adjustment. It would be awesome to have that in the Track Controls Settings.

It is surprising that it's not there already.
François Beauvais
www.francoisbeauvais.com
Master - Windows 10 / z390 / i9-9900k / 64gb 2400mhz / RME Fireface UFX / Cubase 10.5
Slave 1 - Windows 10 / x79 / Xeon E5-1620 / 64gb 1333mhz
Slave 2 - Windows 10 / P9X79 / i7-4820k / 64gb 2133mhz

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Add Volume & Pan to Track Controls Setting

Post by alexis »

+1
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1644
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Add Volume & Pan to Track Controls Setting

Post by djw »

Interesting thought. It could just be two little rectangles with the values written, and you can drag on them to change it.

fbeauvaisc
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 10:08 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Re: Add Volume & Pan to Track Controls Setting

Post by fbeauvaisc »

djw wrote:
Wed Aug 23, 2017 3:38 pm
It could just be two little rectangles with the values written, and you can drag on them to change it.
Exactly. I'd rather have a little wider track controls than both track controls + the inspector witch is full of distracting, cluttered and often doubled information anyway. It's just a cleaner layout without the inspector in my opinion.

I like the fact that looking at the highlighted track (selected track), I can see if it is rec enabled, soloed, muted, frozen etc... For me, all of that info makes sens to have on the track controls. All that we are missing is volume and pan. Having to select a track and then look at the inspector to see that info is just 2 additional steps we could avoid a 1000 times a day.

I bet a lot of people would appreciate. I love Cubase a lot but coming from Ableton Live (and yes I scored to picture and worked with the arrangement view), I still miss the way everything was neat and clear. No eye candy but very intuitive and easy to work with.
François Beauvais
www.francoisbeauvais.com
Master - Windows 10 / z390 / i9-9900k / 64gb 2400mhz / RME Fireface UFX / Cubase 10.5
Slave 1 - Windows 10 / x79 / Xeon E5-1620 / 64gb 1333mhz
Slave 2 - Windows 10 / P9X79 / i7-4820k / 64gb 2133mhz

djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1644
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Add Volume & Pan to Track Controls Setting

Post by djw »

You can just keep the mixer open for level adjustments, no need for the Inspector then either.

fbeauvaisc
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 10:08 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Re: Add Volume & Pan to Track Controls Setting

Post by fbeauvaisc »

djw wrote:
Wed Aug 23, 2017 11:30 pm
You can just keep the mixer open for level adjustments, no need for the Inspector then either.
The idea is to have less things open and that includes the mixer especially for people working on laptops. I work with 4 monitors so I do always have the mixer open on a different screen but when I work on more than 32 tracks so that means pretty much all my projects, I have first, switch my focus on another screen, then scroll though the mixer if the selected track is not in the shot already to find it.

The project window on the other hand will always be positioned at where I'm currently working so to have a volume and pan reference on each track would be very helpful at not changing my focus on another window, zone or mixer.

To be clear, I'm not talking about mixing on the project window. I'm talking about on the spot quick adjustments when something obvious like an Omnisphere patch is 10db too loud for exemple or I just doubled a track and want to hard pan them. Saving seconds but mostly focus is what it's all about.

So for now, leaving the inspector open is the fastest way to do that. Having the volume and pan controls on the track controls, I could leave it close 90% of the time and save some valuable project window space.
François Beauvais
www.francoisbeauvais.com
Master - Windows 10 / z390 / i9-9900k / 64gb 2400mhz / RME Fireface UFX / Cubase 10.5
Slave 1 - Windows 10 / x79 / Xeon E5-1620 / 64gb 1333mhz
Slave 2 - Windows 10 / P9X79 / i7-4820k / 64gb 2133mhz

augusteighty
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 8:43 am
Contact:

Re: Add Volume & Pan to Track Controls Setting

Post by augusteighty »

+ 1

This is a no-brainer. Having the actual volume data on the audio track settings should be there 100%. When you're making 20 - 30 adjustments on a project a minute, having to switch your attention to the mixer window (or open it on a laptop), or using the inspector when you just want a quick view (or quick grab and move) of the volume level is a waste of time.

Here's how I have my track settings at the moment:

http://i.imgur.com/KAawC8u.jpg

Ideally, it would look kind of like this:

http://i.imgur.com/hq3WoKI.jpg

Photoshopped volume data onto Audio Channel and Instrument Channel, and labeled / colored each track type so you can see a potential setup. With that new setup there would be a split second glimpse of the volume levels of all the tracks (with the option to the adjust it right there), while not having to go the mixer, go deal with the mess that is the inspector. The great thing about this - even if you use the inspector - is that you can adjust the volume from the timeline, without having to first select the track you want to adjust. Just like groups / fx, just grab the volume data and move it. :D

Pan would be very cool too - but that seems like it would have to be added to all channels, as it's not an option on groups / fx either.

Larioso
Member
Posts: 596
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 9:18 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Add Volume & Pan to Track Controls Setting

Post by Larioso »

+1

For a sec I thought I found a way over Track Quick Controls - but this only shown i a rack in mixer or Inspector - and does not make sense for volume duplicate fader in mixer.
Would be useful to also allow quickcontrols in track controls settings. this way you could assign many other things to be on track panel.
Reaper do it this way - showing own controls like that.
Windows 7 Pro - Intel i7-860 2.8GHz 16 GB - Cubase Pro 9.5 latest - RME HDSP 9632 + AI4S + Audient ASP 800 - Nvidia GT730

fbeauvaisc
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 10:08 pm
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Re: Add Volume & Pan to Track Controls Setting

Post by fbeauvaisc »

augusteighty wrote:
Wed Sep 06, 2017 2:09 am

Ideally, it would look kind of like this:

http://i.imgur.com/hq3WoKI.jpg
Yes! That is exactly what we need! Good job on illustrating with photoshop how seemingless this addition would be!
François Beauvais
www.francoisbeauvais.com
Master - Windows 10 / z390 / i9-9900k / 64gb 2400mhz / RME Fireface UFX / Cubase 10.5
Slave 1 - Windows 10 / x79 / Xeon E5-1620 / 64gb 1333mhz
Slave 2 - Windows 10 / P9X79 / i7-4820k / 64gb 2133mhz

djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1644
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Add Volume & Pan to Track Controls Setting

Post by djw »

fbeauvaisc wrote:
Mon Sep 11, 2017 7:12 pm
augusteighty wrote:
Wed Sep 06, 2017 2:09 am

Ideally, it would look kind of like this:

http://i.imgur.com/hq3WoKI.jpg
Yes! That is exactly what we need! Good job on illustrating with photoshop how seemingless this addition would be!
It looks exactly right.

Tommy80
Junior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 2:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Add Volume & Pan to Track Controls Setting

Post by Tommy80 »

+1
MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Late 2013) - OSX 10.12.5
NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB
Apogee Duet 2 - Steinberg UR824
Cubase Pro last version - Wavelab last version

leroo
Junior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 1:40 am
Contact:

Re: Add Volume & Pan to Track Controls Setting

Post by leroo »

+1
Late 2013 iMac i7 ssd
OSX 10.14.6
Presonus Quantum
Cubase 10.5.20

VictorInOut
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2017 6:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Add Volume & Pan to Track Controls Setting

Post by VictorInOut »

+1

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bharathj63 and 1 guest