Set Variaudio to quantize to a specific scale/key

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 can be posted here.
Post Reply
cinematree
Junior Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 5:31 pm
Contact:

Set Variaudio to quantize to a specific scale/key

Post by cinematree »

Just like you can set the scale/key in tuning software like Autotune, it would be very useful to be able to set a scale/key for Variaudio so when you quantize all pitches at once, they will gravitate toward the pitches of the scale. I know you can colorize the variaudio event to tell you if they are in the scale or not, but it's a pain to have to go in and find all the red (out of the scale) objects, and move them.
Using Cubase 10.0.15 with Windows 10 Pro, RME Madiface, Orion 32, Uaudio Thunderbolt Apollo 8, Apollo Twin, and a UAD Satellite

Razzia
Junior Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 3:31 am
Contact:

Re: Set Variaudio to quantize to a specific scale/key

Post by Razzia »

Melodyne does this too. Would be nice.
Cubase Pro 9 / Ableton Live 9 Suite / Ableton Push 2 / Novation LaunchKey 25 / Steinberg CMC-CH
Audient iD4 / ART Voice Channel
Win 10 Pro x64 / i7 6700k / 200 GB SSD / 2TB HDD / 16 GB RAM

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1751
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Set Variaudio to quantize to a specific scale/key

Post by mozizo »

+1
although its kind of possible to "quantize" Vari audio to scales in chord track
cubase 10.5 pro ,halion 6 GA5 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

cinematree
Junior Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 5:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Set Variaudio to quantize to a specific scale/key

Post by cinematree »

mozizo wrote:+1
although its kind of possible to "quantize" Vari audio to scales in chord track
I'm not sure what you mean? Can you clarify? Maybe I'm missing something (I hope).
Using Cubase 10.0.15 with Windows 10 Pro, RME Madiface, Orion 32, Uaudio Thunderbolt Apollo 8, Apollo Twin, and a UAD Satellite

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3256
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Set Variaudio to quantize to a specific scale/key

Post by peakae »

Use chord track, variaudio can use the chords and displays notes in green when they are in the chord, blue if they are in the scale and red if they do not fit.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

cinematree
Junior Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 5:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Set Variaudio to quantize to a specific scale/key

Post by cinematree »

Ah, yes, I know about that. Thank you. Hoping to have a feature where you can just automatically quantize everything to scale
Using Cubase 10.0.15 with Windows 10 Pro, RME Madiface, Orion 32, Uaudio Thunderbolt Apollo 8, Apollo Twin, and a UAD Satellite

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1751
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Set Variaudio to quantize to a specific scale/key

Post by mozizo »

in chord track its possible to create scales on different places on the timeline,and on the audio track in the chords section on the inspector use "scales" on the "follow chord track" box.analyze the audio in vari-audio and the notes should be follow according to the scales.
(set to scales again in the inspector if the notes didt move to the scales or if vari audio was reseted )

but i do agree that integrated scale option in vari audio would be more simple and straightforward approach
cubase 10.5 pro ,halion 6 GA5 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

User avatar
beatpete
Senior Member
Posts: 1156
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Contact:

Re: Set Variaudio to quantize to a specific scale/key

Post by beatpete »

A big bump to quantize variaudio to scales
Comp1: Windows 10 64 bit, Asus X99-A USB 3.1, I7 5930K (running at 4500 MHz), 32 gb Corsair Vengeance DDR4 ram, Radeon HD5450 graphics, RME Digiface, Steinberg UR824 and MR816x (X2)
(connected to Digiface), Cubase 10.5 64bit
Comp 2: Windows 10 64bit, I5 3450,32 gb ram, VEPro 7.

User avatar
T-bag
Junior Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Set Variaudio to quantize to a specific scale/key

Post by T-bag »

+1
Windows 10 64 bit; 64GB Ram; Intel i7 8700; VEP Slave i9 64gb ram; Graphics-twin monitor;
Hardware: Motif XF7; Emu Esynth; MPK249; XV5080; MOTU 828mk3 & 2408; Komplete Kontrol S49
Plug Ins - Mach Five-3; Kontakt V; Best Service Engine; Omnisphere; Lemur & Metagrid controllers; Cubase User since 1993.

User avatar
Sonik
Senior Member
Posts: 1022
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Set Variaudio to quantize to a specific scale/key

Post by Sonik »

++1
Macbook Pro i9 32gb|Studio One 5|Protools 2020.5|Cubase Pro 10.5.20|Wavelab 10.0.40|Logic X|Apollo Quad|4xUAD-2 (24 core)
Manley Massive Passive|Thermionic Phoenix Mastering Plus|Maselec MLA-2|API 2500|Avalon 737sp|Summit TLA-100A|Distressor EL8-X|Apogee Symphony||Euphonix McMix x2|Dangerous Music 2 Bus LT|ATC SCM20 ASL Pro|Amphion One18|
Halion Sonic 3|Komplete12 Ultimate|Stylus RMX|Trilian|Omnisphere 2.6|VSL Strings|EW Pianos|ReFx Nexus 3|AirMusicTech|Sylenth|Predator|Kick 2|Serum|ANA2|Korg Collection 2
UAD|Waves|Soundtoys|Melodyne|Softube|Brainworx|PluginAlliance|Fabfilter|Sonnox|Eventide|Oeksound

fedupfaction
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 9:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Set Variaudio to quantize to a specific scale/key

Post by fedupfaction »

+1

User avatar
dirkvanniekerk
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Set Variaudio to quantize to a specific scale/key

Post by dirkvanniekerk »

+1

peterandu
Junior Member
Posts: 106
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2018 7:22 am
Contact:

Re: Set Variaudio to quantize to a specific scale/key

Post by peterandu »

cinematree wrote:
Sun Apr 16, 2017 10:36 am
Just like you can set the scale/key in tuning software like Autotune, it would be very useful to be able to set a scale/key for Variaudio so when you quantize all pitches at once, they will gravitate toward the pitches of the scale. I know you can colorize the variaudio event to tell you if they are in the scale or not, but it's a pain to have to go in and find all the red (out of the scale) objects, and move them.
+1

User avatar
DTS Recording Studio
Junior Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:40 am
Location: Bordentown, New Jersey USA
Contact:

Re: Set Variaudio to quantize to a specific scale/key

Post by DTS Recording Studio »

Does Cubase Pro do this yet???
"An Optimist says that glass is half full, a Pessimist says that glass is half empty...an Engineer says that glass is twice as large as it needs to be!"
www.DTSrecordingstudio.com www.facebook.com/DTSrecordingstudio

cinematree
Junior Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 5:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Set Variaudio to quantize to a specific scale/key

Post by cinematree »

I don't think it does. I checked with new update and didn't see a way to do it.
Using Cubase 10.0.15 with Windows 10 Pro, RME Madiface, Orion 32, Uaudio Thunderbolt Apollo 8, Apollo Twin, and a UAD Satellite

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests