Recording a second audio track or vocals

All about our Cubase LE and Cubase AI OEM bundle software.
Post Reply
Leob
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2020 3:44 pm
Contact:

Recording a second audio track or vocals

Post by Leob »

Hi there,
I am new to the forum and it is the first time for me using DAW for recording, My Problem is that when recording a second track or using a microphone for vocals that all existing tracks are again recorded. This happens as an example when recording drums first and then piano on track 2. When I use the solo button on track two and or mute track 1... I can still hear the drums in the background. The same happens when using a microphone.

What is it that I am doing wrong.
My setup:
iPad air2
Yamaha MG 10 du
Yamaha psr 970s connected to MG10xu
Yamaha powered monitors connected to MG10xu
sennheiser mic connected to MG10xu

Thank you for helping!

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 23062
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Recording a second audio track or vocals

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi and welcome,

Make sure the Record Enable button is not switched on on the 1st track.

Also make sure Loopback is not enabled on your Audio Device.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Leob
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2020 3:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Recording a second audio track or vocals

Post by Leob »

Thank you Martin for your quick reply. We try this tonight.

Leob
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2020 3:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Recording a second audio track or vocals

Post by Leob »

I have tried several settings now on the MG10xu now; followed instructions in the manual etc..nothing seems to be solving my problem. It may very well be that I can not identify a setting that would eliminate loopback or I do not know where and how to eliminate it.
I have disconnected microphone and speakers when recording the second track....to only find out, it is not making a difference. Please help!

Post Reply

Return to “Cubase LE and Cubase AI”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests