Why Doesn't Violins 2 Show Up?

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
sunny16
Junior Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 11:27 pm
Contact:

Why Doesn't Violins 2 Show Up?

Post by sunny16 »

Hi all,
Screen Shot 2020-07-15 at 18.56.05.png
(14.93 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Screen Shot 2020-07-15 at 18.55.55.png
(8.38 KiB) Not downloaded yet
I've added both violins in the Setup, so why does the score only show one?

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5278
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Why Doesn't Violins 2 Show Up?

Post by dankreider »

You added two violins to one player, rather than adding two players. That will display in the score as an instrument change, such as a flute player who also holds a piccolo.

Use Shift-P to add a new player, then choose what instrument that player should hold.
Dan Kreider
hymnworks.com
Dorico 3, Windows 10

Rob Tuley
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3781
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 12:41 am

Re: Why Doesn't Violins 2 Show Up?

Post by Rob Tuley »

In the first screenshot you have one player holding two instruments.

Dorico assumes you mean the player will be switching from one instrument to the other, not playing both at once. In galley view you will see both staves and you write the music on the staff corresponding to each instrument. In page view, Dorico will show one staff and automatically generate the text to show when the instrument changes, plus any clef and transposition (key signature) changes required.

Probably what you wanted to do was create two players, each with one violin. Dorico will automatically number the players "1 and 2" for soloists or "I and II" for section players (the first and second violin sections in an orchestra).

sunny16
Junior Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2017 11:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Why Doesn't Violins 2 Show Up?

Post by sunny16 »

Got it, thanks guys!

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Rob Tuley, TootSweet and 9 guests