Recording from the alpha keyboard

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
ptram
Member
Posts: 637
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 6:37 pm
Contact:

Recording from the alpha keyboard

Post by ptram »

Hi,

Please let me suggest something abysmal. But maybe useful.

1. Turn on the musical layout for the alphanumeric keyboard. Four rows of keys set as if they were two octaves in a musical keyboard. W as a C3, S as a C#3, comma (,) and A as a C4 (repeated).

2. Optionally, you can transpose them (for example, to start from F or G).

3. Start recording.

4. Play on the alphanumeric keyboard, and record. Dynamics will be fixed, but note starts and lengths will be exactly as performed.

Cheap, compact, immediate. No need of an external keyboard. (But my company sells excellent inexpensive and compact MIDI keyboards! Buy them in any case!)

Paolo

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 17732
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Recording from the alpha keyboard

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

You can do this already f you use a third-party on-screen keyboard, such as MIDIKeys.

ptram
Member
Posts: 637
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 6:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Recording from the alpha keyboard

Post by ptram »

Daniel, nice! It looks like what I was looking for!

A more direct link for us computer illiterates:

https://flit.github.io/projects/midikeys/

Paolo

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dwlarson, jesele, Lillie Harris, lupus2, njfreestone, petermouse, Robby Poole, TootSweet, Ulf and 10 guests