global key commands

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
User avatar
RWW
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2020 9:46 pm
Contact:

global key commands

Post by RWW »

Hi all, I tried looking up past threads about this, but they all pertain to some update of that specific version, not to my version.
I have the Dorico 3.0, and for some reason, my customized key commands do not carry over to different projects. I have to re-customize each key command I have (which is a lot!)

Wondering, how does one propagate the keycommands? Thanks!
Dorico user since 03/03/2020
Logic, FMOD, Illustrator, Studio One, Sibelius

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 7753
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: global key commands

Post by pianoleo »

Are you talking about keycommands that you’ve set via Preferences > Key Commands? These aren’t typically project specific.

Have you been using scripting or the application log to map very specific commands for e.g. microtonal accidentals, or specific custom notehead sets, or to apply settings within one of the options dialogs? These sorts of commands can end up being project specific because they relate to internal IDs that sometimes vary between projects...
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

User avatar
RWW
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2020 9:46 pm
Contact:

Re: global key commands

Post by RWW »

No, I end up having to redo my custom key commands for the simplest things, such as note values, voice numbers... these should be global right? For some reason it is not. I have to redo them every time I start a new project.

Thanks in advance!
Dorico user since 03/03/2020
Logic, FMOD, Illustrator, Studio One, Sibelius

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 7753
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: global key commands

Post by pianoleo »

These should definitely be global. Do you switch between keyboards or keyboard layouts/languages? It might be that you have your Dorico Key Commands dialog set to “Default” language. If you’re using multiple keyboard languages you should pick a language (in the aforementioned Dorico dialog) that most closely follows the layout of your physical keyboard.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Chris Davey, koenderidder and 7 guests