Page 1 of 1

Primary beams

Posted: Mon Jul 13, 2020 1:21 am
by dclose88
Hi -

Is there a way to set the number of primary beams? I've attached a jpg of what I want to accomplish. I've set Notation Options to "Allow rests within beams, maintain secondary beams, but it doesn't change anything, or affect notes entered after I made the change.

Thank you.

Re: Primary beams

Posted: Mon Jul 13, 2020 1:41 am
by Rob Tuley
You want "Preserve secondary beams over rests where possible" in Notation Options.

Re: Primary beams

Posted: Tue Jul 14, 2020 8:03 pm
by dclose88
Thanks for your response. I can't find that option anywhere. I'm using v3.1. Is there a later version of Dorico that might have this option?

Re: Primary beams

Posted: Tue Jul 14, 2020 8:06 pm
by dankreider
Yes, it was added in 3.5.

Re: Primary beams

Posted: Wed Jul 15, 2020 3:19 am
by dclose88
Thanks for the quick response. Is there any way to do it in v3.1, maybe with a time signature?

Re: Primary beams

Posted: Wed Jul 15, 2020 3:34 am
by dankreider
dclose88 wrote:
Wed Jul 15, 2020 3:19 am
Thanks for the quick response. Is there any way to do it in v3.1, maybe with a time signature?
Not as I recall. It was a niche, but a real problem for those who needed it.

Re: Primary beams

Posted: Wed Jul 15, 2020 3:46 am
by Rob Tuley
IIRC there was a messy work round. Add stemlets, and then change their length in engrave mode so they are invisible.