Export displaces my audio timing, why?

All topics on WaveLab 9 and WaveLab Elements 9
Post Reply
User avatar
TweakGeek
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat May 19, 2018 1:49 am
Contact:

Export displaces my audio timing, why?

Post by TweakGeek »

I'm on Wavelab Elements 9.5. Whenever I export my final audio (from .wav to .mp3), it comes out displaced in time, as if Wavelab added a pause at the beginning of it. I can't have this happen because I'm working with backing tracks and click tracks, and therefore need everything I export to stay in sync.

I've been reading through the manual and looking into the menus but for the love of me, can't find any relevant options to disable/configure.

How do I stop this from happening? How do I get Wavelabs Elements to export my audio but to leave my timing alone? Thank you all.

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2545
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Export displaces my audio timing, why?

Post by bob99 »

TweakGeek wrote:
Thu Sep 12, 2019 12:57 am
I'm on Wavelab Elements 9.5. Whenever I export my final audio (from .wav to .mp3), it comes out displaced in time, as if Wavelab added a pause at the beginning of it. I can't have this happen because I'm working with backing tracks and click tracks, and therefore need everything I export to stay in sync.

I've been reading through the manual and looking into the menus but for the love of me, can't find any relevant options to disable/configure.

How do I stop this from happening? How do I get Wavelabs Elements to export my audio but to leave my timing alone? Thank you all.
It's because of normal Delay and Padding in the MP3. The way around it in Wavelab is to select the Fraunhofer MP3 encoder in the Render Output Format dialog and set, on the Advanced tab, "Embed Ancillary Data for Time and Delay Compensation". If you're making VBR mp3, also select "Add File Length and Playback Position Information to VBR Header".

https://steinberg.help/wavelab_elements ... tml?hl=mp3

Then the MP3 will be exact length and in sync when decoded in Wavelab, and in some (but not all) other programs.

You won't have the problem if you render to wav or flac, or in my experience, ogg if you really need lossy files.
Last edited by bob99 on Fri Sep 13, 2019 7:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Justin P
Senior Member
Posts: 2729
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:49 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Contact:

Re: Export displaces my audio timing, why?

Post by Justin P »

bob99 wrote:
Thu Sep 12, 2019 4:42 am
TweakGeek wrote:
Thu Sep 12, 2019 12:57 am
I'm on Wavelab Elements 9.5. Whenever I export my final audio (from .wav to .mp3), it comes out displaced in time, as if Wavelab added a pause at the beginning of it. I can't have this happen because I'm working with backing tracks and click tracks, and therefore need everything I export to stay in sync.

I've been reading through the manual and looking into the menus but for the love of me, can't find any relevant options to disable/configure.

How do I stop this from happening? How do I get Wavelabs Elements to export my audio but to leave my timing alone? Thank you all.
It's because of normal Delay and Padding in the MP3. The only way around it in Wavelab is to select the Fraunhofer MP3 encoder in the Render Output Format dialog and set, on the Advanced tab, "Embed Ancillary Data for Time and Delay Compensation". If you're making VBR mp3, also select "Add File Length and Playback Position Information to VBR Header".

https://steinberg.help/wavelab_elements ... tml?hl=mp3

Then the MP3 will be exact length when decoded in Wavelab, and some (not all) other programs.

You won't have the problem if you render to wav or flac, or in my experience, ogg if you really need lossy.
The mp3 padding was my first thought too but I have a feeling that TweakGeek is experiencing a more significant delay or issue.

Not enough info is provided to really help but if I had to guess, perhaps a certain plugin is causing the issue.

It would help to know how much of a pause is being added. Are we talking milliseconds or more like a second or two?
https://www.mysteryroommastering.com/https://www.justincarlperkins.com/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/WaveLab/

iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6
Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core i7 (6-Core) • 32GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6

RME AES HDSPe, MUTEC MC-3+ Smart Clock USB, Grace m905, Grace m900

User avatar
TweakGeek
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat May 19, 2018 1:49 am
Contact:

Re: Export displaces my audio timing, why?

Post by TweakGeek »

Bob99 I had no idea about those options. I’ve never experienced that when exporting mp3 from other software, including Cubase, so thanks a lot for your suggestion.

Justin P I think I’m getting a displacement of less than a second, you know, the kind that makes your sync just enough to throw you off, but when you listen to it, it’s kind of almost there too. It’s also happening after I export, and I never include processes with my export (always render plugins prior to export).

I’ll try everything out tonight and let you guys know. Thanks a bunch for your help.

User avatar
TweakGeek
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat May 19, 2018 1:49 am
Contact:

Re: Export displaces my audio timing, why?

Post by TweakGeek »

Hey guys, just wanted to report that after trying out your suggestions, "Embed Ancillary Data for Time and Delay Compensation" in Wavelab Elements solved the issue effectively. Thanks so much for your help ;)

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab Pro 9 | WaveLab Elements 9”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest