Bug or feature request - not sure? overwrite file not always allowed?

All topics on WaveLab 9 and WaveLab Elements 9
Post Reply
User avatar
toader
Member
Posts: 944
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:37 am
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA
Contact:

Bug or feature request - not sure? overwrite file not always allowed?

Post by toader »

When working in the montage, sometimes I'll delete a clip (let's say VERSION4.WAV)... and when I go to record a new clip into the montage, it tells me VERSION4.WAV is already open in Wavelab - even though I've deleted the clip from the montage, and it's not open. I want to use that file name, and overwrite the clip I deleted, but it won't allow me to overwrite VERSION4.WAV.

In order to overwrite, I have to:

1) Delete the clip
2) Save the montage
3) Close the montage
4) Open the montage again
5) Now I can record into the montage using the file name VERSION4.WAV (it gives me the option to overwrite, and it works now).

I'd really prefer to:
1) Delete the clip
2) Record into montage (with prompt if I want to overwrite VERSION4.WAV)

Thanks,
Todd
Computer 1: Cubase 10.5.12, RME HDSPe AES (x2), RME HDSPe AIO (x1), Nvidia NVS 510 video card, Dell T7500 workstation with Intel Xeon X5690 (6 cores with hyperthreading) 3.47gHz, 24GB RAM, UAD-2 Quad, Windows 10 64-bit
Computer 2: Wavelab 10.0.30, RME HDSPe AIO, AMD Radeon RX 480 video, Dell XPS 8720 with Intel I7-7700 CPU (4 cores with hyperthreading) 3.6gHz, 24GB RAM, Windows 10 64-bit

Todd Loomis @ https://noiseradiationstudios.com

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7805
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug or feature request - not sure? overwrite file not always allowed?

Post by PG »

This is because the file is still opened in the "undo history". Only way is to use a new name.
Philippe

User avatar
toader
Member
Posts: 944
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:37 am
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: Bug or feature request - not sure? overwrite file not always allowed?

Post by toader »

Any chance the popup could say “The file is still open in the undo history. Would you like to clear the undo history, and overwrite the file?

I’ll never end up choosing a different name, because I have a file naming system that helps me keep organized. I’ll just keep opening and closing the entire montage...
Computer 1: Cubase 10.5.12, RME HDSPe AES (x2), RME HDSPe AIO (x1), Nvidia NVS 510 video card, Dell T7500 workstation with Intel Xeon X5690 (6 cores with hyperthreading) 3.47gHz, 24GB RAM, UAD-2 Quad, Windows 10 64-bit
Computer 2: Wavelab 10.0.30, RME HDSPe AIO, AMD Radeon RX 480 video, Dell XPS 8720 with Intel I7-7700 CPU (4 cores with hyperthreading) 3.6gHz, 24GB RAM, Windows 10 64-bit

Todd Loomis @ https://noiseradiationstudios.com

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7805
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Bug or feature request - not sure? overwrite file not always allowed?

Post by PG »

This is not as easy as it seems, unfortunately. However, some better solution might happen in the future, as I am aware of this case.
Philippe

User avatar
toader
Member
Posts: 944
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:37 am
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: Bug or feature request - not sure? overwrite file not always allowed?

Post by toader »

PG wrote:
Tue Dec 04, 2018 8:24 am
This is not as easy as it seems, unfortunately. However, some better solution might happen in the future, as I am aware of this case.
Ok sounds good. Thanks PG.
Computer 1: Cubase 10.5.12, RME HDSPe AES (x2), RME HDSPe AIO (x1), Nvidia NVS 510 video card, Dell T7500 workstation with Intel Xeon X5690 (6 cores with hyperthreading) 3.47gHz, 24GB RAM, UAD-2 Quad, Windows 10 64-bit
Computer 2: Wavelab 10.0.30, RME HDSPe AIO, AMD Radeon RX 480 video, Dell XPS 8720 with Intel I7-7700 CPU (4 cores with hyperthreading) 3.6gHz, 24GB RAM, Windows 10 64-bit

Todd Loomis @ https://noiseradiationstudios.com

User avatar
toader
Member
Posts: 944
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:37 am
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: Bug or feature request - not sure? overwrite file not always allowed?

Post by toader »

Hey PG,

I noticed that even after I close a montage, sometimes the undo history is still not flushed. There are no files open at all. Then I load a montage, and try to record into it... Wavelab tells me the file is already open... but there should be no undo history, and the file is not open.

Thanks,
Todd
Computer 1: Cubase 10.5.12, RME HDSPe AES (x2), RME HDSPe AIO (x1), Nvidia NVS 510 video card, Dell T7500 workstation with Intel Xeon X5690 (6 cores with hyperthreading) 3.47gHz, 24GB RAM, UAD-2 Quad, Windows 10 64-bit
Computer 2: Wavelab 10.0.30, RME HDSPe AIO, AMD Radeon RX 480 video, Dell XPS 8720 with Intel I7-7700 CPU (4 cores with hyperthreading) 3.6gHz, 24GB RAM, Windows 10 64-bit

Todd Loomis @ https://noiseradiationstudios.com

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab Pro 9 | WaveLab Elements 9”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest