FLAC Metadata

All topics on WaveLab 9 and WaveLab Elements 9
Post Reply
User avatar
Justin P
Senior Member
Posts: 2732
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:49 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Contact:

FLAC Metadata

Post by Justin P »

Where is WaveLab at with FLAC metadata? It seems to me that it can't embed metadata into FLAC but I honestly have very little FLAC experience. I grabbed some FLAC masters from Bandcamp and when I load them into WaveLab, I can see some metadata.

I have a great preset for tagging mp3/AAC and WAV files with ID3 v1/v2 metadata which automatically comes from CD-Text and other montage info and this makes life easy.

Does anybody know if we can also tag FLAC files to be the same and fully flush with metadata, or must I use another app for that?
https://www.mysteryroommastering.com/https://www.justincarlperkins.com/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/WaveLab/

iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6
Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core i7 (6-Core) • 32GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6

RME AES HDSPe, MUTEC MC-3+ Smart Clock USB, Grace m905, Grace m900

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7792
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: FLAC Metadata

Post by PG »

You can set meta-data in FLAC with WaveLab. But not ID3v2.
Philippe

User avatar
Justin P
Senior Member
Posts: 2732
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:49 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Contact:

Re: FLAC Metadata

Post by Justin P »

PG wrote:
Fri Aug 04, 2017 6:01 pm
You can set meta-data in FLAC with WaveLab. But not ID3v2.
Thanks for the info. I grabbed some FLAC files from Bandcamp who I would trust to do good metadata embedding. When I load the FLAC files into WaveLab, I can see some metadata but it just comes up as "File Attributes" when I look at it in WaveLab.

Is it possible to push the CD-Text to FLAC files rendered from the montage as I do with mp3/AAC/WAV already? I know it won't be ID3v2 but I just can't figure out what metadata field to use for tagging FLAC files in the best way.
https://www.mysteryroommastering.com/https://www.justincarlperkins.com/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/WaveLab/

iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6
Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core i7 (6-Core) • 32GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6

RME AES HDSPe, MUTEC MC-3+ Smart Clock USB, Grace m905, Grace m900

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7792
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: FLAC Metadata

Post by PG »

This is possible. You have to use so-called auto variables inside the meta-data dialog, when choosing the file format, and use the variable for CD-Text.
Philippe

User avatar
Justin P
Senior Member
Posts: 2732
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:49 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Contact:

Re: FLAC Metadata

Post by Justin P »

PG wrote:
Fri Aug 04, 2017 9:45 pm
This is possible. You have to use so-called auto variables inside the meta-data dialog, when choosing the file format, and use the variable for CD-Text.
Right, this is what I already do, but I just don't see what metadata field to send the CD-Text variables to. (see attachment)

For mp3/AAC/WAV I send to the ID3v2 fields, and for ISRC I send to the AXML fields.

What about FLAC? Or am I not understanding this correctly?
Attachments
Screen Shot 2017-08-04 at 3.51.45 PM.png
(117.4 KiB) Not downloaded yet
https://www.mysteryroommastering.com/https://www.justincarlperkins.com/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/WaveLab/

iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6
Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core i7 (6-Core) • 32GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6

RME AES HDSPe, MUTEC MC-3+ Smart Clock USB, Grace m905, Grace m900

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2545
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: FLAC Metadata

Post by bob99 »

Justin, I think you'll need to make a separate metadata preset for FLAC since it's not In the metadata window you show. The FLAC metadata window should be available when you select to make a FLAC file. I guess FLAC and Ogg Vorbis use Vorbis Comments, so such a preset should be good for both. (another one outside the "normal" metadata window would be Windows Media Audio files using WMA).

I believe this shows standard mappings for the different metadata types:
http://wiki.hydrogenaud.io/index.php?title=Tag_Mapping

In addition to ID3 and the others, the tables cover RIFF INFO too.
Last edited by bob99 on Sun Aug 06, 2017 9:11 pm, edited 4 times in total.

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7792
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: FLAC Metadata

Post by PG »

If you do this:
2017-08-05_07-35-14.png
(40.56 KiB) Not downloaded yet
you access a different dialog.
Philippe

User avatar
Justin P
Senior Member
Posts: 2732
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:49 pm
Location: Milwaukee, WI USA
Contact:

Re: FLAC Metadata

Post by Justin P »

Thanks Bob and PG. I'm away for the weekend but I'll try this more on Monday.

I don't get a lot of FLAC requests but I'd like to know more about the metadata side and what WaveLab is capable of so when FLAC is needed, I can deliver.
https://www.mysteryroommastering.com/https://www.justincarlperkins.com/
https://www.facebook.com/groups/WaveLab/

iMac Pro 3.0GHz 10-Core • 64GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6
Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core i7 (6-Core) • 32GB RAM • SSD for OS and audio • MacOS 10.14.6

RME AES HDSPe, MUTEC MC-3+ Smart Clock USB, Grace m905, Grace m900

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2545
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: FLAC Metadata

Post by bob99 »

One thing to remember or check is that FLAC can't be a 32 bit float file like WAV can (at least last time I looked it up and tested it). So if you make a FLAC file direct from 32 bit float in Wavelab without dithering to 24 bit, technically you'd be truncating to 24 bits I believe. Not a huge deal, but worth testing and confirming against a truncated 24 bit WAV and a 32 bit float WAV.

brconflict
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 11:41 pm
Contact:

Re: FLAC Metadata

Post by brconflict »

For anyone running into this in later Wavelab versions, you still cannot "save" the file after editing Metadata, unles you do a Save As... and save as a Copy. However, you can edit the Metadata File Attributes in the Metadata tab.

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab Pro 9 | WaveLab Elements 9”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests