[FR] Leave offline plugins open

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Nuendo 7 can be posted here.
Locked
User avatar
Domilik
Member
Posts: 411
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:58 am
Contact:

[FR] Leave offline plugins open

Post by Domilik »

it's still on my list.
This one is which makes Pro Tools so much faster in location sound editing.
Nuendo 7 | Win7 x64, Intel i7 6700k, Asus Z170-A | RME Fireface 802 | RME Babyface | Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 | Yamaha 01v96i | JBL LSR4328 | Tannoy Revial 6 | Avid S3 | Mackie Control Universal | X-Keys Joystick | BCR 2000 | Novation Nocturn | Pro Tools 12 HD

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4263
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: [FR] Leave offline plugins open

Post by MattiasNYC »

+1.

An oldie.

IN ADDITION: Please leave control of transport available when the plugin window is open. This way we can play back content to get iZotope denoise for example to read the noise profile, and then process offline.

I'd think it should be easy to disable the command to close the plugin. I think the way this is handled is also screwing up how iZotope RX functions (fails) with Nuendo when using the "connect" feature. Too bad. Makes it a killer feature in Pro Tools, completely worthless in Nuendo.
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

Timeline
Junior Member
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 8:22 pm
Contact:

Re: [FR] Leave offline plugins open

Post by Timeline »

+1 Yes agreed, and having an option to control a listen fader when auditioning offline plugins would be awesome since source recordings can fluctuate a great deal in volume. Yes this is a nice feature in pro tools, however nuendo does make it easy to customize hotkeys to quickly load plugins etc. (you can only do this on Pro tools running macs using Mac's build in extra application key commands.
Windows 10 64 bit/ Windows 7 64 bit- i7-770k CPU 4.2GHZ, 32 GB

basicX
Member
Posts: 207
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 9:35 am
Contact:

Re: [FR] Leave offline plugins open

Post by basicX »

+1 I would like to see that too!

Another thing, since i record a lot of voiceovers and things like that, i'm very used to use the STRIP SLICENS tool in PT while recording. It's so handy to have a almost clean timelime in the moment you are done with the recording!
In Nuendo you can't leave the "search for silence" thing open, while you record/edit and so on... that is a bit slower than the workflow in PT - maybe steinberg might look into this?

In postproduktion it is all about speed in your workflow!!

cheers
Studios: Nuendo 10.3, Cubase 10 Pro, PT 11.3.1
I/O: Full blown Focusrite RedNet Setup. 3xRed4pre, 2xRed x2p
Plugins from Sonnox, Waves, iZotope, UAD, Plugin Alliance Mega Pack, and so on...)

Windows 10 Pro x64
Main System from Digital Audio Networx
Intel i9 14core, Gigabyte, 64GB Ram, GF 1050ti, UAD Quad, 3 * Avid Artis Mix

Pro Audio Broadcast Post for german and international clients
www.media-atelier.tv

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4263
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: [FR] Leave offline plugins open

Post by MattiasNYC »

Here is yet another use for this:

Today I needed to punch into a mix I had done earlier, and then verify loudness targets. Since the loudness track doesn't measure whatever we want, and since faster-than-realtime is currently broken, the obvious alternative was the "old" loudness plugin by Steinberg.

So, selecting an event (my new mix), plugin, and then the loudness plugin, IF the plugin window had stayed open I would have been able to press "process" and it would have measured the file, leaving the plugin window open with all the resulting values. At least this is my guess.

So, another instance where leaving it open would help very much.
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

hendrix97
Junior Member
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2016 3:27 pm
Contact:

Re: [FR] Leave offline plugins open

Post by hendrix97 »

+1
huge timesaver for dialog editing!!
This is number one on my list of features I would really like to see.
I actually do know a number of guys using Pro Tools for dialog editing who have not switched to Nuendo because of exactly that feature. So... this also is one of the reasons why PT is still considered THE Audio Post DAW for Featurefilm. We are all fighting to change that... so please join the fight or give us at least bigger weapons!!

User avatar
Domilik
Member
Posts: 411
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:58 am
Contact:

Re: [FR] Leave offline plugins open

Post by Domilik »

came back to Nuendo for a little project last week, puuuh, this is so slow when having multiple different restauration tasks during dialog editing... Always have to find and reopen the dedicated plugin instead of having them open all together on the second screen.
Nuendo 7 | Win7 x64, Intel i7 6700k, Asus Z170-A | RME Fireface 802 | RME Babyface | Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 | Yamaha 01v96i | JBL LSR4328 | Tannoy Revial 6 | Avid S3 | Mackie Control Universal | X-Keys Joystick | BCR 2000 | Novation Nocturn | Pro Tools 12 HD

Timeline
Junior Member
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 8:22 pm
Contact:

Re: [FR] Leave offline plugins open

Post by Timeline »

Hotkeys for plugins is still way easier and better for me then having to manually open them up even if they stay open. Its a great idea as an additional option but should not at all be a game changer to stick to PT. Offline process history is also so convenient.
Windows 10 64 bit/ Windows 7 64 bit- i7-770k CPU 4.2GHZ, 32 GB

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4263
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: [FR] Leave offline plugins open

Post by MattiasNYC »

Timeline wrote:Hotkeys for plugins is still way easier and better for me then having to manually open them up even if they stay open. Its a great idea as an additional option but should not at all be a game changer to stick to PT. Offline process history is also so convenient.
It actually also depends on the computer in question. Opening the plugin takes some time, and for me it's physically faster to move my cursor to a plugin window and press "process" than pressing a key to open, wait for it to load, pressing enter to process, wait for it to close.

Further more, as I explained either here or elsewhere, I am suspecting that there is other behavior specifically related to iZotope's RX software that would benefit from the ability to leave a window open.
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

basicX
Member
Posts: 207
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2015 9:35 am
Contact:

Re: [FR] Leave offline plugins open

Post by basicX »

will we see any improvement on this topic in nuendo 7.5 ?
Studios: Nuendo 10.3, Cubase 10 Pro, PT 11.3.1
I/O: Full blown Focusrite RedNet Setup. 3xRed4pre, 2xRed x2p
Plugins from Sonnox, Waves, iZotope, UAD, Plugin Alliance Mega Pack, and so on...)

Windows 10 Pro x64
Main System from Digital Audio Networx
Intel i9 14core, Gigabyte, 64GB Ram, GF 1050ti, UAD Quad, 3 * Avid Artis Mix

Pro Audio Broadcast Post for german and international clients
www.media-atelier.tv

glidator
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 3:54 pm
Contact:

Re: [FR] Leave offline plugins open

Post by glidator »

++++++1
We have pro tools and Nuendo in our editing rooms. dialog editors prefer work with PT because they use izotope connect 80% of the time. Connect is used for noise learning, deessing, cleaning, declicking dehuming. And connect is to heavy to use in Nuendo all the day.
Plugins need to stay open and to be able to process or preview across multiple clips. and to have a fader volume to listen the preview.
The perfect feature will be a "spectral repair mode" directly included on the timeline (or in the clip editor window). no more plugins for that... :D
Latest Nuendo on various Macs
Nuage 32 faders
AMS-NEVE DFC GEMINI (with Nuendo and Pro Tools)

ErikG
Member
Posts: 662
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 8:43 am
Contact:

Re: [FR] Leave offline plugins open

Post by ErikG »

Yay, N8!
Filmlance, a Swedish production company producing drama and feature films.
11xNuendo, 5xPT
Dubstage with 4k Christie projection
8xMedia Composer, VFX, online, grading and more

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4263
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: [FR] Leave offline plugins open

Post by MattiasNYC »

I'll believe it when I see it, #VCA
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

Locked

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest